Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints


Posted under News on February 2nd, 2010

(Denmark, WI) January 30 — More than 300 drivers, crew members and track officials officially put the wraps on the 2009 racing season at Luxemburg Speedway at Potts Beverly Gardens in Denmark Saturday, as track champions were crowned in the track’s five weekly divisions during the annual awards banquet.

Capturing his unprecedented 7th IMCA modified track title, Seymour veteran Brian Mullen took to the podium. Mullen beat out former IMCA national champion Jared Siefert by nine points to capture the crown. “Week in week out Luxemburg still draws the toughest field of drivers amongst the other area tracks,” said Mullen. “There was a lot of luck involved, too. There are probably four or five guys who could be standing up here right now.” Mullen plans to return to compete at Luxemburg in 2010, but whether or not he will defend his title remains to be seen.

Wrightstown’s Jesse Colwell outdueled New Franken’s Troy Muench by 20 points to collect the IMCA stock car championship. Colwell was the champion in ’08 as well. As of now, Colwell’s plans to defend the title are up in the year air for 2010.

Oconto Falls Eric “Chummy” Arneson captured one of the closest IMCA northern sportmod title chases in track history, beating out Hortonville’s Travis Van Straten by a mere two marks as the championship was decided upon on the final night. “We raced a lot this year, and just when we’d seem to run low on funds, we’d win and things would go our way,” said Arneson. “With 141 Speedway racing sportmods weekly on Wednesday nights, we plan on making a run for the national title this year. And we will defend our title here at Luxemburg.”

Hometown driver Chad Kaminski beat out Luxemburg’s Marcus Moede by 31 points to collect the IMCA hobby stock track championship, the first of his career. “We’ll be back to defend out track title this year,” said Kaminski. “We’re going to go with the hobby stocks one more season.”

Oneida’s Jason Cornelius wrapped the season up with a 13 point edge over Clintonville’s Jeff Behm to win his second straight sport four track title. “I’d like to move up to either the IMCA northern sportmod or hobby stock division,” said Cornelius. “I’m still trying to sell my cars though.”

Capturing rookie-of-the-year honors were Alex Lepak of Pulaski (sport fours), Adam Pallex of Algoma (IMCA hobby stock), Brandon Long of Green Bay (IMCA northern sportmods) and Luxemburg’s Dave De Grave (IMCA stock cars). There was no rookie-of-the-year named in the IMCA modified class.

Moede was honored by track manager Rick Goral with the Walter Christensen Memorial Sportsmanship award. A slideshow was presented by Chris Budzban of Budzo Designs.

Luxemburg Speedway will open it’s doors for the 2010 season on Friday night, April 23 at 7 p.m. An open practice session will take place Friday night, April 16 for cars in any division. The Luxemburg Speedway car show will take place at East Town Mall in Green Bay Sunday, April 11 from 11 a.m. to 3 p.m. For more information contact Goral at (920) 660 8095. Luxemburg Speedway is located 15 minutes east of Green Bay off highway 54 at the Kewaunee County Fairgrounds. The track’s website is

Previous Post: 2009 Awards Banquet & 2010 Drivers Meeting Information