Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

Ageless Jerry Muenster Bests Son Eddie to Win Luxemburg IMCA Mod Feature!

Posted under Race Reports on May 24th, 2002

By Joe Verdegan

May 24, 2002; Luxemburg, WI. – 61-year-old Jerry Muenster of Green Bay showed his younger foes that he’s still got it. The veteran racer showed his son Eddie Muenster the fast way around the track, scoring his first 25 lap IMCA modified feature win of the season at Luxemburg Speedway Friday night. The 1968 track champion also won his heat, scoring a clean sweep for the evening.

A total of 96 cars were on hand. The field included 36 IMCA modifieds, 33 IMCA stock cars, 17 street stocks and ten bombers.

Muenster slipped past polesitter Craig Bartz to grab the lead on the second circuit of the 25 lap contest. Eric Van Iten followed Muenster underneath one lap later to take second away from Bartz. Muenster and Van Iten began to pull away from the field but a lap five yellow for a Jared Siefert spin halted the action. When racing resumed Muenster kept his lead and began building upon his margin over the field on the black, dry-slick third-mile, clay oval. Van Iten held second, with Bartz and Eddie Muenster running third and fourth. Eddie Muenster had charged through the field from his eleventh starting spot on the grid.

Eddie Muenster had chased down Bartz by lap 14, with Muenster passing Bartz one lap later. Eddie Muenster then proceeded to track down second place Van Iten, catching last week’s feature winner and passing him with five laps to go. By this time Jerry Muenster had built up a full straightaway lead over the pack, and cruised to victory. Eddie Muenster settled for second at the pay window. Van Iten hung on for third. Brian Mullen mounted a late race surge to take fourth, having started 12th. Jay Schraufnagel rounded out the top five finishers.

With his second place finish Eddie Muenster built himself a considerable cushion in the IMCA modified point standings.

Van Iten, performing double duty as he does every week, scored his second IMCA stock car victory of the season, leading the 22 lap feature wire-to-wire in the contest that went green to checkered without a yellow. Davister won his heat earlier in the night, scoring a clean sweep for the evening.

Van Iten bolted from his row two starting spot and darted underneath both front row starters Kyle Frederick and Pat Davister to take the lead on the first lap. Davister stuck to Van Iten’s rear bumper in the early going with Greg Gretz joining the duo and making it a three car race for the lead.

The trio ran nose-to-tail, with Davister sticking his nose underneath Van Iten’s racer on two occasions but Van Iten was able to hold Davister off. With five laps to go Van Iten took off, and wound up beating the second place Davister by four car lengths at the checkers. Gretz hung on for third place money. Jason Czarapata outlasted a race long battle with Joe LeBotte to take fourth, while LeBotte settled for fifth.

Fred Davister scored a clean sweep of the street stock division, winning his heat and leading every lap en route to a 20 lap feature victory. The feature win was Davister’s second of the season in the division.

Davister took the lead at the drop of the green and held the top spot through a pair of two caution periods within the first seven laps. During the second caution points leader David Baenen’s racer stalled, forcing him out of contention. When racing resumed J.R. Van Rixel stepped to the plate to challenge Davister for the lead. Van Rixel’s solid run went up in smoke when his engine expired on lap 11, sending cars spinning and forcing the third caution period.

With nine laps remaining Davister checked out, pulling away to a near full straightaway lead at the checkers. Charlie Kroll parlayed a late race rally to claim second. Jerry Kroll, Mike Coel and Phil Hiles rounded out the top five finishers.

Sturgeon Bay’s Corey Haen fought off veterans Wayne Moore and Ford Malvitz to win his second 12 lap bomber feature of the season. Moore, Malvitz, Evan Madden and Derrick Moede placed second through fifth, respectively.

Next Friday night will be Crime Prevention night at the races. McGruff the Crime Dog will make an appearance. Kids fingerprinting will take place underneath the grandstand from 5:30 p.m. through 7 p.m. The D.A.R.E. car will be on display as will Scooter Boyea’s D.A.R.E.-sponsored IMCA modified. The night will mark the second appearance of the season by the new entry level four cylindered sport fours. Racing gets underway at 7 p.m.


IMCA modified
25 Lap feature – Jerry Muenster, Green Bay; Eddie Muenster, Green Bay; Eric Van Iten, Green Bay; Brian Mullen, Seymour; Jay Schraufnagel, Beaver Dam; Dave Zeitler, Luxemburg
First 12 Lap Semi-Feature: Jeremy Jacobs, Kewaunee; Chad Nelson, Suamico; Dean Maurer, De Pere; Chris Derenne, Luxemburg
Second: Randy LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay; RM Van Pay, Green Bay; Robert Waechter, Ellisville; Jay Matthias, Green Bay
First 10 Lap Heat: Scott Mullen, Seymour; Tom Baumgart, Maribel
Second: Craig Bartz, Shawano; Randy Back, Green Bay
Third: Jerry Muenster; Dan Ratajczak, Frog Station
Fourth: Jared Siefert, Green Bay; Brian Mullen

IMCA stock car
22 Lap feature: Eric Van Iten, Green Bay; :Pat Daviister, Green Bay; Greg Gretz, Kewaunee; Jason Czarapata, Pulaski; Joe LeBotte, Kewaunee; Kyle Frederick, Gillett
12 lap semi-feature – Tim Van De Hei, Green Bay; Shawn Kilgore, Kewaunee; Matt Junio, Casco; Craig Paque, Algoma
First 10 Lap Heat: Van Iten; Frederick
Second: Jeremy Christians, Horicon; Jon Wolf, Green Bay
Third: Brandon Czarapata, Pulaski; Davister
Fourth: Gretz; Jamie Colwell, Greenleaf

Street Stock
20 Lap Feature: Fred Davister, Luxemburg; Charlie Kroll, Algoma; Jerry Kroll, Algoma; Mike Coel, Green Bay; Phil Hiles, Appleton; Laurel Ettien, Luxemburg
First 10 Lap Heat: Hiles; Jerry Kroll
Second: Davister; Charlie Kroll

12 lap feature – Corey Haen, Sturgeon Bay; Wayne Moore, Sturgeon Bay; Ford Malvitz, Sturgeon Bay; Evan Madden, Algoma; Derrick Moede, Casco; Dave Serrahn, Algoma
8 lap heats: Moore; Greg Aregoni, Sturgeon Bay

Previous Post: Rookie Van Iten Claims First IMCA Modified Feature Flag!

Next Post: Schraufnagel Storms Through Field to Win Second Luxemburg Mod Main!