Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

Dart Scores Luxemburg Modified Lid-Lifter!

Posted under Race Reports on April 27th, 2002

By Joe Verdegan

April 27, 2002; Luxemburg, WI. – Algoma’s Todd “Felix” Dart grabbed the lead on a lap eight restart and endured a mid-race see-saw battle with WISSOTA late model driver Dean Maurer to capture the season-opening 25 lap IMCA modified feature at Luxemburg Speedway Friday night.

105 race cars and trucks were in attendance for the season opening event. The field included 41 IMCA modifieds, 34 IMCA stock cars, 20 street stocks and 10 sport trucks.

Dart started the contest from the third row and scrapped with Scooter Boyea in the early going while Maurer, driving his brother Doug’s modified, jumped into the lead.

Maurer’s racer hooked up on the third-mile, clay oval’s high side while Dart kept his racer glued to the bottom of the surface. While Maurer held court in the early going Boyea and Dart traded paint for second. Dart scooted around Boyea on lap five and began reeling in Maurer, who had built up a five car length lead over the field.

Dart got his wish when Robert Waechter looped his mount, drawing a caution on lap seven. On the restart Dart drove around Maurer on the outside while Scott Mullen dove underneath the early race leader. Dart took the lead on lap eight but Maurer regained the advantage on the following round.

The pair proceeded to swap the lead no less than four times in the next 10 laps without once touching. Dart took the lead over for good on lap nineteen. Mullen whittled Dart’s lead to two car lengths in the final laps but Dart held on for the win.

Mullen claimed runnerup honors, with Mike Klenz taking third. Beaver Dam visitor Jay Schraufnagel charged from his eighteenth starting spot to take home fourth place money. Maurer was able to hang on to fifth.

Tim Van De Hei took the lead from the drop of the green and sweated out a pair of caution periods to collect the 22 lap IMCA stock car feature.

Van De Hei took advantage of polesitter Brian Bruechert’s misfortune when the motor in Bruechert’s racer expired as the field took the green flag. Van De Hei ducked underneath Bruechert and assumed the lead with Pulaski driver’s “Hot Rod” Snellenberger and Junior Karcz.

A caution flew on lap three when Rick Mahlberg, Greg Gretz and Pat Davister tangled in turn one. On the restart Van De Hei easily whisked back into the lead. Meanwhile Karcz and Snellenberger resumed their door-to-door duel for the runnerup spot. Van De Hei’s lead was erased when a Pat Davister spin brought out an amber on lap nine.

When racing resumed VanDe Hei held onto to the top spot and cruised to victory. Trailing Van De Hei at the checkers were Snellenberger, Eric Van Iten, defending track champion Benji LaCrosse and Jason Czarapata.

Hometown driver Freddy “Andretti” Davister fought off a late race charge by Sturgeon Bay’s Kevin Sternard to claim victory in the 20 lap street stock main.

Davister drew the pole and rocketed into the lead, pulling away to a five car length lead in just a few laps. A pair of mid-race yellows slowed the contest. But with seven laps to go Sternard began applying the pressure to Davister. Sternard tried both the high and low lines to get by Davister. But the former street stock champ was too tough to tame on his home turf. Sternard hung on for second place money. Placing third through fifth were JR Van Rixel, David Baenen and Charlie Kroll, respectively.

Hometown driver Dave Davister drove to victory in the nine lap sport truck feature.

Next Friday night’s program will be sponsored by Woody’s Signs of Sturgeon Bay. Several area race cars that were lettered by Woody’s Signs will be on display behind the grandstand prior to racing. It will also be the first appearance of the season of the bomber division from Door County Speedway. Racing gets underway at 7 p.m.


25 lap Feature: – Todd Dart, Algoma; Scott Mullen, Seymour; Mike Klenz, Sobieski; Jay Schraufnagel, Beaver Dam; Dean Maurer, De Pere; Dave Zeitler, Luxemburg
First 12 lap semi-feature: – Brian Mullen, Seymour; Dan Ratajczak, Jerry Wren, Howard Lake, MN; Jared Siefert, Green Bay Second 12 lap semi-feature: – Schraufnagel,; Randy Back, Green Bay; MJ Hintz, Green Bay; Art Siefert, Green Bay
First 10 lap heat: Eddie Muenster, Green Bay; Klenz
Second 10 lap heat: Scott Mullen; Scooter Boyea, Green Bay
Third 10 lap heat: George Henkel, Sturgeon Bay; Dave Fisher, Green Bay
Fourth 10 lap heat: Eric Van Iten, Green Bay; Zeitler

22 lap Feature – Tim Van De Hei, Green Bay; Rod Snellenberger, Pulaski; Van Iten; Benji LaCrosse, Luxemburg; Jason Czarapata, Pulaski; Brandon Czarapata, Pulaski
12 lap semi-feature – Dave Bouche, Algoma; John Heinz; Shawn Kilgore, Kewaunee; Travis Van Straten, Hortonville
First 10 lap heat: Van Iten; Greg Gretz, Kewaunee
Second 10 lap heat: Junior Karcz, Pulaski; Jason Czarapata
Third 10 lap heat: Brian Bruechert, Kewaunee; Matt Junio, Casco
Fourth 10 lap heat: Pat Davister, Luxemburg; Snellenberger

20 Lap Feature – Fred Davister, Luxemburg; Kevin Sternard, Sturgeon Bay; JR Van Rixel, Abrams; David Baenen, New Franken; Charlie Kroll, Algoma; Phil Hiles, Appleton
First 10 lap heat: Charlie Kroll; Jerry Kroll, Algoma
Second 10 lap heat: Sternard; Mike Coel, Green Bay

9 lap Feature – Dave Davister, Luxemburg; Jerry Scray Jr., Green Bay; Kevin Strebel, Green Bay; Ed Danoff, Green Bay; Jeff Scray, Abrams
10 lap Heat – Jeff Scray; Dave Davister, Luxemburg

Previous Post:

Next Post: LeMieux Dodges Mullen, Back to Win Mod Main!