Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

Daubner Dominates Luxemburg Street Stock Shootout!

Posted under Race Reports on September 6th, 2002

By Joe Verdegan

September 6, 2002; Luxemburg, WI. – Sturgeon Bay’s Tom Daubner took the lead at the drop of the green and never looked back, capturing the 25 lap $500 street stock shootout at Luxemburg Speedway Friday night. The victory was Daubner’s second straight at the speedway in just four appearances at the track this season. Daubner also scored a clean sweep of the night’s activities by winning his heat race.

In other action hometown driver Dave Zeitler ducked underneath Eric Van Iten for the lead on a lap five restart and cruised to his first 22 lap modified feature win of the season. Kewaunee’s Brian Bruechert fought off hard charging Rod Snellenberger and 2002 track champion John Heinz en route to his second 20 lap IMCA stock car feature win of the season. Both Zeitler and Bruechert also scored clean sweeps by also winning their heat races.

Sturgeon Bay’s Wayne Moore captured the 15 lap bomber feature. Dan Davister won the 15 lap sport truck feature while Green Bay’s Matt Budzis won his first 10 lap sport four feature of the season.

A total of 113 cars jammed the pit area. The field included 31 street stocks, 29 IMCA-style stock cars, 23 IMCA-style modifieds, 13 bombers, nine trucks and eight sport fours.

Daubner took advantage of his outside front row starting spot to take the lead, which he held through a lap one yellow

when the cars driven by David Hoerning and Jeremy Wittala locked horns on the frontstretch, sending the cars spinning. On the restart Daubner took off but Troy Muench was hot on his heels, as the pair quickly put several car lengths distance between themselves and the pack. On lap five the second caution flew when Hoerning’s racer stalled in turn four, wiping out the lead duo’s margin.

On the restart Tom White sliced through the field to grab second away from Muench. Over the next six laps Daubner proceeded to build up a full straightaway lead, carefully threading his way through lapped cars by lap 13. With the leader out front by himself with five laps to go the race was for second, as Charlie Kroll and Phil Hiles muscled their way past White to take second and third, respectively. When the white flag was thrown Hiles and Kroll collided heading into the first corner, wiping out their chances for a top three finish. Daubner maintained his full straightaway margin at the checkers. Lance Arnenson was handed second at the line, followed by Gregg Siebold, Muench and White.

Eric Van Iten led the first two rounds of the 22 lap IMCA modified feature. A lap two caution slowed the action when Rick Johnson and Johnny Johnson tangled in turn two. Van Iten assumed the lead when racing resumed, with Zeitler waging a fierce battle for second with Craig Bartz. Zeitler hugged the low groove while Bartz preferred the riskier high line. A caution flew on lap five when Dave Andrews and Fred Davister got together in turn one.

Van Iten kept his lead upon the restart with Zeitler keeping Van Iten in his sights. Trailing behind the top two to make up a five car freight train were Bartz, Darrell Massart and Dale Boerschinger, all five running the high line. Zeitler tried on two occasions to find the bite he needed down low but couldn’t pull off the pass. Zeitler would later get his chance following a lap 13 restart for a Fred Davister spin. Zeitler shuffled past Van Iten using the low groove.

The hometown driver took off and cruised to a full straightaway win, his first of the season. The second through fifth place cars were so tight at the line you could thrown a blanket across them, as Massart, in his first appearance of the year snagged second. Danny Deau took third in the tight finish, followed by Dale Boerschinger and Van Iten.

Starting from the fourth spot, Heinz battled his way past front row starters Brian Baenen and Gary Reinhardt to take the early lead of the 20 lap IMCA style stock car feature. Snellenberger followed Heinz past the front row starters to take second by lap three and hounded Heinz in the early going. Bruechert, who started 10th, moved into third by lap nine, trailing the leaders.

A midrace yellow flew when Brett Piontek and Troy DeGrave spun in turn four. On the restart the sparks were flying as Bruechert and Heinz mixed it up for the next several laps. In the midst of the paint trading Bruechert emerged on top with the lead, an advantage he would never relinquish. Bruechert held on for the win, his second of the season. Snellenberger snuck past Heinz in the final laps to take second. Heinz, Chas Van Ooyen and Craig Paque rounded out the top five finishers.

This concludes the 2002 season for Luxemburg Speedway. The staff and management, Lakeshore Motorpsorts Promotions, would like to extend a special thank you for all drivers, fans, car owners workers, and members of the media who helped make their inaugural season as track operators a successful one.

Check throughout the season for updates and off season meetings. Details for the championship banquet, which will be held at the Rendezvous of Luxemburg in January, will be announced shortly.


Street Stock
25 Lap Feature – Tom Daubner, Sturgeon Bay; Lance Arnenson, Krakow; Gregg Siebold, Denmark; Troy Muench, Green Bay; Tom White, Oconto; Bob White Jr., Green Bay
12 lap Last Chance Race – Ryan LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay; Fred Davister, Luxemburg; Kevin Jandrin, Forestville; Keith Kickbush, Kewaunee
First 10 lap Heat: Siebold; Phil Hiles, Appleton
Second 10 Lap Heat: Charlie Kroll, Algoma; White Jr.
Third 10 Lap Heat: Tom Coel, Green Bay; Muench
Fourth 10 Lap Heat: Kevin Brungraber, Sturgeon Bay; Tom White

22 Lap Feature: Dave Zeitler, Luxemburg; Darrell Massart, Brussels; Danny Deau, Little Suamico; Dale Boerschinger, Suamico; Eric Van Iten, Green Bay; Randy LeMieux Jr., Sturgeon Bay
12 Lap Last Chance: Jay Matthias, Luxemburg; Joel Schmidt, Green Bay; Davister; Bruechert
First 10 Lap Heat: Zeitler; Shawn Olson, Algoma
Second 10 Lap Heat: LeMieux; Mike Cole, Baileys Harbor
Third 10 Lap Heat: Mike Klenz, Sobieski; Massart

Stock Car
20 Lap Feature: Brian Bruechert, Kewaunee; Rod Snellenberger, Pulaski; John Heinz, Green Bay; Chas Van Ooyen, Appleton; Craig Paque, Algoma; Junior Karcz, Pulaski
15 Lap Last Chance: Travis Van Straten, Hortonville; Paque; Adam Clark, Shawano; Bucky Coopman, Green Bay
First 10 Lap Heat: Bruechert; Troy DeGrave, Green Bay
Second 10 Lap Heat: Heinz; Brett Piontek, Green Bay
Third 10 Lap Heat: Karcz; Tony Bouche, Algoma

15 Lap Feature: Wayne Moore, Sturgeon Bay; Ford Malvetz, Sturgeon Bay; Brandon Peterson, Sturgeon Bay; Kevin Laughlin, Sturgeon Bay; Joe Hegnet, Sturgeon Bay; Scott Reinhardt, Baileys Harbor
10 lap heat – Hegnet; Reinhardt

Sport Truck
15 Lap Feature: Dan Davister, Luxemburg; Ed Danoff, Green Bay; Mike Lardo, Green Bay; Dean Wiltzius, New Franken; Mike Mueller, Green Bay; Jarrod Van Lannen, Green Bay
10 lap heat – Davister; Kevin Nuthals, Green Bay

Previous Post: Dart Collects Second Luxemburg IMCA Mod Main

Next Post: Muenster From Last to First in Luxemburg IMCA Modified Win!