Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

Fiedler Shades Pokorski in Luxemburg EWSC Super Mod Special!

Posted under Race Reports on August 16th, 2002

By Joe Verdegan

August 16, 2002; Luxemburg, WI. – Sheboygan Falls KenJay Fiedler grabbed the lead on the opening round and survived several caution periods and a late charge from Paul Pokorski to claim the 30 lap EWSC supermodified special event at Luxemburg Speedway Friday night.

A total of 108 cars took part in the program. The field included 30 EWSC supermodifieds, 30 IMCA modifieds, 30 IMCA stock cars and 18 street stocks.

After an aborted start that collected half the starting field the race began with polesitter Craig Perko skating off the track and handing the lead to Fiedler on lap one. With just one lap in Ben Schmidt’s stalled racer drew another amber. When the race was restarted Fiedler began building a sizeable margin over Perko. Fiedler’s big lead was wiped out by lap five when a Tony Wondra spin drew another caution and tightened the field.

Fiedler resumed building his lead when the green flag was displayed again and caught up with lapped traffic by lap 10. On lap 13 Robert Enders squeezed past Perko to take second as Enders began chasing Fiedler through lapped traffic. By the halfway point Pokorski, who had to qualify into the feature through a last chance race, had bolted through the field from 15th starting spot to grab fourth.

Pokorski worked the lapped cars to his advantage, muscling his way inside Perko for third on lap twenty and forging past Enders for second with five laps to go. Fiedler skillfullly weaved his way through the lapped cars to score the win. Pokorski took second at the pay window, followed by Enders, Perko and Manitowoc’s Kris Hansen.

Seymour’s Scott Mullen stormed past Eric Van Iten on a restart with three laps remaining to collect the 25 lap IMCA modified feature.

Van Iten muscled inside of early leader Dave Fischer to grab the lead on lap three. Chris Derenne kept Van Iten in his sights and set his car up on the high line, running door-to-door for the next several laps. As the pair swapped the lead through the halfway point Brian Mullen had methodically crept his way through the pack, moving into third by lap 14.

By lap 18 Brian Mullen caught the lead duo and joined the fray for the lead. The yellow flew when Brian Mullen’s racer burst into flames on lap 22. The blaze was extinguished and Brian Mullen escaped uninjured.

With a three lap shootout to the finish Scott Mullen blew past Van Iten on the restart and cruised to his first feature flag of the season. Trailing Mullen at the line were Van Iten, Jared Siefert, Sean Jerovetz and Randy LeMieux.

Kewaunee’s “Smokin’ Joe” LeBotte fought off a tenacious Brian Bruechert in the waning laps to claim his first 22 lap IMCA stock car feature of the season. Trailing LeBotte at the checkers were Bruechert, Shawn Kilgore, Rod Snellenberger and Junior Karcz.

Points leader Mike Coel battled through a pair of late yellows and a fast-closing Jerry Kroll to win his fourth 20 lap street stock feature of the season. Anschutz jumped into the early lead from his outside front row starting spot with Kickbush tailing Anschutz from his fourth starting spot. The pair began pulling away from the field when a caution flew on lap eight when Tom Daubner spun in turn four.

On the restart Coel vaulted into the second spot and set his sights on Anschutz for the lead. Coel motored around Anschutz to take the lead at the halfway point and rode the high line to victory, dodging two more caution periods to claim his fourth win of the season. Trailing Coel at the checkers were Kroll, who charged from tenth to take second, followed by Anschutz, Kickbush and Fred Davister.

The Rendezvous of Luxemburg will sponsor Fan Appreciation night at the races next Friday night . August 23 will mark the return of the four cylinder sport fours and sport trucks, in addition to the IMCA modifieds, IMCA stock cars and street stocks. Action gets underway at 7 p.m

EWSC Super Modifieds
30 Lap Feature – KenJay Fiedler, Sheboygan Falls; Paul Pokorski, West Bend; Robert Enders, Campbellsport; Craig Perko, Glenbeulah; Kris Hansen, Manitowoc; Brian Portschy, Oostburg
15 lap semi-feature – Tim Melis, Plymouth; Tony Wondra, Campbellsport; Pokorski; Paul Urner, Plymouth
10 lap heats First: Dave Deicher, Plymouth; Billy Hafeman, Cedar Grove
Second: Bob Brion, Plymouth; Fiedler
Third: Chad Kistner, New Holstein; Billy Kruetz, Kiel
Fourth: Frank Geiger, Whitelaw; Portschy

IMCA Modified
25 Lap Feature – Scott Mullen, Seymour; Eric Van Iten, Green Bay; Jared Siefert, Green Bay; Sean Jerovetz, Suamico; Randy LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay; RM Van Pay, Green Bay
10 lap last chance races First: Jay Matthias, Luxemburg; Dave Zeitler, Luxemburg; Scooter Boyea, Green Bay; Chad Nelson, Suamico
Second: Art Siefert, Green Bay; Todd Dart, Algoma; Dale Boerschinger, Little Suamico; Randy Back, Green Bay
10 lap heats First: Chris Derenne, Luxemburg; Randy LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay
Second: Jerovetz; Van Pay
Third: Van Iten; Dave Fischer, Green Bay
Fourth: Mike Cole, Baileys Harbor; Brian Mullen, Seymour

IMCA Stock Car
22 Lap Feature:- Joe LeBotte, Kewaunee; Brian Bruechert, Kewauneee; Shawn Kilgore, Kewaunee; Rod Snellenberger, Puaski; Junior Karcz, Pulaski; Craig Paque, Algoma;
12 lap last chance race – Jason Czarapata, Pulaski; John Heinz, Green Bay; Jeremy Christians, Horicon; Kyle Frederick, Gillett
10 lap heats First: Kilgore; LeBotte
Second: Bruechert; Tim Van De Hei, Green Bay
Third: Snellenberger; Greg Gretz, Kewaunee

Street Stock
20 Lap Feature: Mike Coel, Green Bay; Jerry Kroll, Algoma; Ed Anschutz, Algoma; Keith Kickbush, Kewaunee; Fred Davister, Luxemburg; David Baenen, New Franken
10 lap heats First: Kroll; Phil Hiles, Appleton
Second: Laurel Ettien, Luxemburg; Anschutz

Previous Post: Siefert Wins Luxemburg Mod Main in Dad’s Car!

Next Post: Klenz Wins First IMCA Mod Main, Christians Wins 21st Stock Main!