Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

“Hollywood” Hintz Hustles to First Career IMCA Mod Win at Luxemburg!

Posted under Race Reports on May 10th, 2002

By Joe Verdegan

May 10, 2002; Luxemburg, WI. – Former off-road racer M. J. “Hollywood” Hintz grabbed the lead from Jeremy Hodkiewicz on lap 13 and fought off Dean Maurer and Eddie Muenster to claim his first ever 25 lap IMCA modified feature at Luxemburg Speedway Friday night.

107 cars took part in the racing program. The field included 40 IMCA modifieds, 35 IMCA stock cars, 22 street stocks and 10 sport trucks.

Hodkiewicz took the lead at the drop of the green, and was forced to wait out a pair of early caution periods. One was for an eight car melee on the second lap. The other yellow flew when Greg Soukup and Jeremy Jacobs locked horns in turn one on lap five.

Second place runner Hintz stayed glued to Hodkiewicz’ tail on the restart, even squaring up with the Shawano driver before an Art Siefert spin halted the race on lap 11. Hintz dove underneath Hodkiewicz on lap 13 to take the lead. By lap 15 Maurer and Muenster had stormed through the field from their starting spots deep in the pack. Both drivers had the qualify into the features through the semi-feature races.

The trio ran nose-to-tail for the final laps with Hintz holding off the veteran racers to score his first career feature flag in a modified. Maurer settled for runnerup money. Muenster took third, while Jared Siefert recovered from an opening lap incident to take fourth. Tim Lemirande placed fifth.

Green Bay’s Eric Van Iten passed Greg Gretz for the lead on lap eight and cruised to victory in the 22 lap IMCA stock car feature.

Gretz jumped into the lead from his front row starting spot at the drop of the green with Van Iten sliding into the runnerup spot by lap three. A lap five spin for a Jason Czarapata spin slowed the action, with Van Iten and Gretz resuming their scrum for the lead by lap six. After one unsuccessful passing attempt on the high side Van Iten found the bite he needed down low, passing Gretz for the lead on lap eight.

While battling for second, Pat Davister and Gretz locked horns, spinning each other into the infield and drawing a yellow. Van Iten fought off a late race surge by Brandon Czarapata and Tim Van De Hei in the waning laps to claim victory. Czarapata and Van De Hei took second and third, respectively. Benji LaCrosse and John Heinz rounded out the top five finishers.

Algoma veteran “Chargin’ Charlie Kroll took the lead on lap eight and survived three caution periods to win the 20 lap street stock feature.

The contest got off to a shaky start. With just two laps in a wild chain reaction melee, occurred, sending several of the mid-pack cars scrambling. Miraculously only one car, that of Darci Czarapata, spun on the frontstretch, drawing the first amber of the contest.

When racing resumed Marty Beilke assumed the lead, with Kroll on his heels. Beilke drifted high in turn four, allowing Kroll to briefly hold the lead lap four. But Beilke rebounded, regaining the top spot one circuit later. Dan “Hollywood” Davister joined the chase, setting up a three car duel for the lead. Their battle was halted for a Jason LaViolette spin on lap seven.

On the restart Kroll slipped inside Beilke to grab the lead out of turn two. Kroll never had a chance to build a head of steam when Dan Davister’s mount stalled on the frontstretch, drawing a third yellow flag on lap ten. Kroll took off like a shot, building up a five car length lead in just two short laps. Kroll went on to build a full straightaway advantage over the field, scoring his first feature flag of the season. Beilke slid off the track with two laps to go and finished further back in the field. Trailing Kroll at the finish line were Laurel Ettien, Mike Coel, Leon Schott and David Baenen.

Luxemburg’s Dave Davister won his second 10 lap sport truck feature of the year.

Next Friday night racing will resume in four divisions, including the sport trucks. Y-100 will sponsor the evening’s activities, which will commence at 7 p.m.


IMCA modified
25 Lap feature – MJ Hintz, Green Bay; Dean Maurer, De Pere; Eddie Muenster, Green Bay; Jared Siefert, Green Bay; Tim Lemirande, Cross Plains; Dave Zeitler, Luxemburg
First 12 lap semi-feature – Lemirande; Maurer; Jay Schraufnagel, Beaver Dam; Randy LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay
Second – Jeremy Jacobs, Kewaunee; Eddie Muenster; Mike Klenz, Sobieski; Todd Dart, Algoma
First 10 lap heat – Jeremy Hodkiewicz, Shawano; Hintz
Second – Greg Soukup, Egg Harbor; Tony Herbst, Sturgeon Bay
Third – Shawn Olson, Algoma; Danny Deau, Little Suamico
Fourth – Jared Siefert; Mike Cole, Baileys Harbor

IMCA stock car
22 Lap feature – Eric Van Iten, Green Bay; Brandon Czarapata, Pulaski; Tim Van De Hei, Green Bay; Benji LaCrosse, Luxemburg; John Heinz, Green Bay; Craig Paque, Algoma
First 12 lap semi-features – Rod Snellenberger, Pulaski; Jason Czarapata, Pulaski; Kyle Frederick, Gillett; Brett Piontek, Green Bay
Second -Jamie Colwell, Greenleaf; Brian Bruechert, Kewaunee; Joe LeBotte, Kewaunee; Snoot DeGrave, Green Bay
First 10 lap heat – Van Iten; Matt Junio, Casco
Second – Mark Derenne, Luxemburg; Greg Gretz, Kewaunee
Third – Brandon Czarapata; Van De Hei
Fourth – Dave Bouche, Algoma; Junior Karcz, Pulaski

Street Stock
20 Lap Feature – Charlie Kroll, Algoma; Laurel Ettien, Luxemburg; Mike Coel, Green Bay; Leon Schott, Green Bay; David Baenen, New Franken; James Tebon, Algoma
First 10 lap heat – Tebon; Ed Anschutz, Algoma
Second – Jerry Kroll, Algoma; Coel
Third – Charlie Kroll; Marty Beilke, Brussels

Sport Truck
10 Lap Feature – Dave Davister, Luxemburg; Kevin Strebel, Green Bay; Dan Davister, Luxemburg
10 lap heat – Strebel; Dan Davister

Previous Post: LeMieux Dodges Mullen, Back to Win Mod Main!

Next Post: Rookie Van Iten Claims First IMCA Modified Feature Flag!