Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

Klenz Wins First IMCA Mod Main, Christians Wins 21st Stock Main!

Posted under Race Reports on August 23rd, 2002

By Joe Verdegan

August 23, 2002; Luxemburg, WI. – Sobieski’s Mike Klenz grabbed the lead on lap 10 and went on to win his first 25 lap IMCA modified feature of the season at Luxemburg Speedway Friday night. Meanwhile Horicon’s Jeremy Christians continued his domination of the IMCA stock car division in Wisconsin, as the former state champ picked up his 21st IMCA stock car feature win of the season at state dirt tracks.

Mike Coel of Green Bay all but assured himself his first Luxemburg Speedway track title with his fifth 20 lap street stock feature of the season. Jerry Scray Jr. of Abrams swept action in the sport truck class, winning his heat and the 15 lap main while Mishicot’s Bruce Sands claimed his first 14 lap sport four feature of the season.

Green Bay’s Dave Fischer jumped into the lead at the drop of the green of the IMCA modified feature with Klenz hot on his heels. Klenz dogged Fischer, using both the low and high lines for several laps before ducking underneath Fischer to grab the lead out of turn two on lap 10. Just two laps later a caution flew when Eric Van Iten looped his mount in turn four, collecting the cars of Brian Mullen, Eddie Muenster and Jay Schraufnagel. Of the three Mullen went off on the hook.

When racing resumed after a pair of aborted restarts, Klenz kept his lead while Jerry Muenster shuffled from fourth to third on lap 15. Muenster squeezed inside of second place runner Dale Boerschinger two laps later and set his sights on Klenz, who had built up a five car length lead. Muenster caught the Sobieski driver with five laps remaining but came up short at the checkers, as Klenz went on to collect his first checkered flag of the season. Muenster settled for second, while Todd Dart mounted a late race charge from 14th to take third. RM Van Pay placed fourth with Scott Mullen rounding out the top five finishers.

Larry Ingebretsen and Brett Piontek scrapped for the lead in the early going of the 22 lap IMCA stock car main, with Ingebretsen fending off the rookie driver for the top spot in the first four circuits. Piontek muscled his way past Ingebretsen for the lead on lap five. A yellow flew two laps later when Dave Bouche met a tractor tire head on in turn two, pushing the tire into the racing groove.

On the restart Craig Paque stormed from deep in the pack to take second away from Ingebretsen while Christians, who started ninth, slid into third. Christians kept his Chevelle stuck on the low line of the wet, heavy clay surface and slid past Paque for second on lap 10 and wrestled the lead away from Piontek three rounds later.

From there it was all smooth sailing for the Horicon driver, who built up a near full straightaway lead en route to victory. Shawn Kilgore posted a late race surge from 10th to take second in the closing laps, followed by Kyle Frederick, Tim Van De Hei, who was forced to qualify into the main event through a last chance race, and Brian Bruechert rounding out the top five. Piontek ended up sixth.

Coel started the 20 lap street stock main ninth and bided his time in the early going, behind a five car freight train led by Laurel Ettien. Coel cautiously sliced his way through the pack, pushing his way into second by lap nine and blowing past Ettien for the lead one lap later. A lap 15 caution flew when Tom Daubner swerved out of control on the frontstretch, triggering a chain reaction of cars colliding. The melee sent Brian Dobberpahl head on into the frontstretch retaining wall. Dobberpahl was ok but his car sustained significant damage.

With a five lap dash to the checkers Coel kept all challengers at bay to collect his fifth feature flag of the season. Ettien hung on for runnerup honors, followed by David Baenen, Leon Schott and Dan Davister.

Next Friday night Tri-County Heating of New Franken will sponsor the season championship night at the races. Five divisions will be in action, including IMCA modifieds and stock cars, street stocks, sport fours and sport trucks. Racing gets underway at 7 p.m.


IMCA Modified
25 Lap Feature – Mike Klenz, Sobieski; Jerry Muenster, Green Bay; Todd Dart, Algoma; RM Van Pay, Green Bay; Scott Mullen, Seymour; Art Siefert, Green Bay
12 lap semi feature – Dave Zietler, Luxemburg; Jay Schraufnagel, Beaver Dam; Siefert; Chris Derenne, Luxemburg
First 10 Lap Heat: Klenz; Mike Cole, Baileys Harbor
Second: Van Pay; Jeremy Jacobs, Kewaunee
Third: Dave Fischer, Green Bay; Eric Van Iten, Green Bay

IMCA Stock Car
22 Lap Feature – Jeremy Christians, Horicon; Shawn Kilgore, Kewaunee; Kyle Frederick, Gillett; Tim Van De Hei, Green Bay; Brian Bruechert, Kewaunee; Brett Piontek, Green Bay
12 lap semi-feature – Dave Bouche, Algoma; Van De Hei; Travis Van Straten, Hortonville; Benji LaCrosse, Luxemburg
First 10 lap heat: 1) Piontek; Joe LeBotte, Kewaunee
Second: Jason Czarapata, Pulaski; Kilgore
Third: Christians; Jeff LaCrosse, Luxemburg

Street Stock
20 Lap Feature – Mike Coel, Green Bay; Laurel Ettien, Luxemburg; David Baenen, New Franken; Leon Schott, Green Bay; Dan Davister, Luxemburg
First 10 lap heat: Schott; Coel
Second: Tom Daubner, Sturgeon Bay; Ed Anschutz, Algoma

Sport Truck
15 Lap Feature: Jerry Scray Jr., Abrams; Dave Davister, Luxemburg; Todd Nelson, New London; Ed Danoff, Green Bay; Kevin Strebel, Green Bay; Mike Mueller, Green Bay
10 lap heat 1) Scray Jr.; Strebel

Sport Four
14 Lap Main – Bruce Sands, Mishicot

Previous Post: Fiedler Shades Pokorski in Luxemburg EWSC Super Mod Special!

Next Post: Dart Collects Second Luxemburg IMCA Mod Main