Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

Mullen and LaCrosse Repeat Feature Winners at Luxemburg!

Posted under Race Reports on July 26th, 2002

By Joe Verdegan

July 26, 2002; Luxemburg, WI. – Seymour’s Brian Mullen grabbed the lead from arch rival RM Van Pay on a lap nine restart and sweated out a pair of late caution periods to snag his fourth straight 25 lap IMCA modified feature win Friday
night at Luxemburg Speedway.

Hometown driver Benji LaCrosse parlayed a last lap pass on rookie Brett Piontek to score his fourth 22 lap IMCA stock car feature of the season in a caution-free event. Pulaski’s Darren Otto led from green-to-checkered in a caution free 20 lap street stock feature, his first feature win of the season.

Front row starters Dave Fischer and Mike Cole traded the lead for the first five circuits of the 25 lap IMCA modified feature until Van Pay stormed from his seventh starting spot into the lead on lap five. Van Pay hooked up his racer on the top line and began pulling away to a lead while Mullen had battled his way from 14th spot into 3rd by lap seven. A yellow flew on lap nine when Jerry and Eddie Muenster spun along with Jeremy Hodkiewicz in turn three, drawing a yellow.

On the restart Mullen ducked underneath the defending track champion to grab the lead. Van Pay sought redemption, charging hard on the high line and staying nearly dead even with Mullen, who kept the slightest of an advantage on the low line.

At the race’s halfway point Dan Ratajczak had scrapped his way from ninth to third, and began closing in on the lead duo, catching them by lap 16. The trio ran began to pull away from the field to settle the score when Mike Klenz stalled his racer on the frontstretch on lap 22.

The caution set up a three lap sprint to the finish, with Mullen successfully hanging on for the win. Ratacjzak was able to nip Van Pay at the line to take second. Van Pay settled for third, followed by Scott Mullen and Robert Waechter. For the second straight week points leader Eddie Muenster, who recovered from the spin and was forced to qualify into the feature through the consi, threaded his way through the pack to take sixth.

17-year-old rookie Brett Piontek outgunned Mike Weitor into the lead at the drop of the green of the 22 lap IMCA stock car feature and kept a safe distance between himself and fellow freshman driver Jamie Colwell. While Colwell kept Piontek within striking distance LaCrosse began his methodical surge through the field, moving from 12th to 5th by lap six and charging up into third by lap 13. Using the high line, LaCrosse disposed of the second place car of Colwell and began chopping away at Piontek’s lead with three laps to go.

LaCrosse rim-rode the outside line to pass Piontek entering turn three on the final lap to score the victory in the green-to-checkered event. Piontek hung on to post second in his best performance of the season. Kyle Frederick, Shawn Kilgore and Brian Bruechert placed third through fifth, respectively.

Otto took advantage of his pole position to grab a big lead early and the Pulaski driver never looked back in posting his first street stock feature of the season. Otto skillfully guided his way through a bevy of lapped cars en route to victory. Leon Schott posted his top performance of the year with a second, followed by Fred Davister, points leader Mike Coel and Jeff Treml.

Kevin “The Hammer” Strebel grabbed the lead on the last lap and scored the victory in the 14 lap sport truck feature. Jeff Scray, Dean Wiltzius, Ed Danoff and Jarrod Van Lannen rounded out the top five finishers.

Iola’s Mike Kempa won the 15 lap sport four feature.

There will be no racing next Friday night, August 2 because of the Kewaunee County Fair. Racing will return the following Friday night, August 9 as FOX 11 and WOGB 103.1 FM present the first ever Luxemburg Legends night. Nearly 40 former drivers from the ’60’s, ’70’s and ’80’s will be on hand to compete in a special old timers race at the end of the regular program. Between 12 to 15 old restored race cars will also be on display.

IMCA modifieds, IMCA stock cars, street stocks and bombers will be in action beginning at 7 p.m. For more information call 920 863 8446. The track website is

25 LAP FEATURE – Brian Mullen, Seymour; Dan Ratajczak, Frog Station; RM Van Pay, Green Bay; Scott Mullen, Seymour; Robert Waechter, Ellisville; Eddie Muenster, Green Bay
12 LAP CONSI – Randy LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay; Todd Dart, Algoma; Eddie Muenster; Sean Jerovetz, Suamico
FIRST 10 LAP HEAT: Mike Klenz, Sobieski; Scott Mullen
SECOND: Dave Fischer, Green Bay; Waechter
THIRD: Van Pay; Greg Soukup, Egg Harbor
FOURTH: Mike Cole, Baileys Harbor; Scooter Boyea, Green Bay

22 LAP FEATURE – Benji LaCrosse, Luxemburg; Brett Piontek, Green Bay; Kyle Frederick, Gillett; Shawn Kilgore, Kewaunee; Brian Bruechert, Kewaunee; Tim Van De Hei, Green Bay
12 LAP CONSI – Snoot DeGrave, Green Bay; Jeremy Christians, Horicon; Greg Gretz, Kewaunee; Jason Czarapta, Pulaski
FIRST 10 LAP HEAT: Mike Weitor, Green Bay; Rod Snellenberger, Pulaski
SECOND: Piontek; Jamie Colwell, Greenleaf
THIRD: Benji LaCrosse; Jeff LaCrosse, Luxemburg

20 LAP FEATURE -Darren Otto, Pulaski; Leon Schott, Green Bay; Fred Davister, Luxemburg; Mike Coel, Green Bay; Jeff Treml, De Pere; Frank Paul, Kewaunee
FIRST 10 LAP HEAT: Otto; Laurel Ettien, Luxemburg
SECOND: Ed Anschutz, Algoma; David Baenen, New Franken

14 LAP FEATURE – Kevin Strebel, Green Bay; Jeff Scray Jr., Abrams; Dean Wiltzius, New Franken; Ed Danoff, Green Bay; Jarrod Van Lannen, Green Bay
10 LAP HEAT – Danoff; Van Lannen

15 LAP FEATURE: Mike Kempka, Iola

Previous Post: Brian Mullen Scores “Three-Peat” in Luxemburg IMCA Mods!

Next Post: Siefert Wins Luxemburg Mod Main in Dad’s Car!