Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

Mullen Slips Past Dart for First Luxemburg IMCA Mod Feature Win!

Posted under Race Reports on July 5th, 2002

By Joe Verdegan

July 5, 2002; Luxemburg, WI. – Seymour’s Brian Mullen squeezed past Todd Dart for the lead on lap 18 and went on to win his first 25 IMCA modified feature at Luxemburg Speedway Friday night. Mullen, a former track champion, scooped up $650 for his win in the event that went green-to-checkered without a yellow.

Scooter Boyea jumped into the early lead at the drop of the green of the 25 lap contest. Algoma’s Dart rode the outside line around Boyea to take the lead on lap four. Beaver Dam’s Jay Schraufnagel moved from tenth into second on lap seven with Mullen, who started twelfth, hot on Schraufnagel’s heels. The duo went to work tracking down Dart, and the veteran pair caught up with Dart on lap 12.

The trio ran nose-to-tail for the next six laps until Mullen muscled his way inside of Dart coming down the frontstretch to take the lead. Mullen was never headed again in the contest as he became the ninth different winner of the division in as many weeks of racing. Dart claimed second, followed by Schraufnagel, Scott Mullen who mounted a late race charge from deep in the pack, Jerry Muenster rounding out the top five finishers.

Pulaski’s Jason Czarapata blew past the field from his row seven starting spot and passed Junior Karcz for the lead with four laps to go and won his first 22 lap IMCA stock car feature of the season.

Snoot DeGrave outraced Jeff LaCrosse into the lead with a yellow flying on lap two when defending track champion Benji LaCrosse lost a tire in turn one. After an aborted restart racing resumed with Joe Lebotte wrestling second away from LaCrosse. A lap six yellow flew when Greg Gretz spun in turn one.

On the restart Junior Karcz rode the outside line into the lead on lap eight. Rod Snellenberger’s mount stalled one circuit later. When racing resumed Karcz maintained the top spot with four cars all scrapping for the second spot. Jason Czarapata emerged on top of the four car duel for second on lap 14 and began whittling away at Karcz’ lead.

Czarapata stormed past Karcz for the lead on lap 18. Czarapata pulled away to a comfortable win. Karcz settled for second, followed by Eric Van Iten, points leader John Heinz and Craig Paque. Tim Van De Hei marched through the pack from 17th to place sixth.

Luxemburg’s Fred Davister took the lead on lap eight and cruised to his second straight 20 lap street stock feature. The contest went green-to-checkered. Davister took home $500 after race night sponsor Concrete Finishers and Powerhouse Pub kicked in bonus money.

Davister wrestled the lead away from early leader Troy Wilson on lap eight after starting in row three. Mike Coel, who started ninth on the field, broke through traffic to take second with five laps to go and whittled away at Davister’s lead and was able to chop the margin down to a few car lengths at the checkers. Coel maintained his points lead with the runnerup finish. Placing third through fifth were Wilson, David Baenen and Laurel Ettien.

Dave Davister won the 14 lap sport truck feature.

Next Friday night will mark the first ever appearance of the Midwest SprintCar Association (MSA) 360 sprint cars. A field of close to 40 sprint cars will be on hand. The MSA 360’s will employ a progressive racing format without qualifying. IMCA modifieds and IMCA stock cars will join the sprinters in the Budweiser-sponsored program.

Special admission prices will be in effect for this show. Adult admission is $10.00 while students 12-15 will be $7.00. Kids 5-12 will be $3.00 while 5 and under will be free with a paid adult. The pit area opens at 5 p.m. while the grandstand tickets go on sale at 5:45 p.m.

Racing gets underway at 7 p.m. For more information consult the series website at or the track website at The track phone number is 920 845 2300.


IMCA modified
25 Lap Feature: Brian Mullen, Seymour; Todd Dart, Algoma; Jay Schraufnagel, Beaver Dam; Scott Mullen, Seymour; Jerry Muenster, Green Bay; Eddie Muenster, Green Bay
12 lap semi-feature -Jared Siefert, Green Bay; Dave Zeitler, Luxemburg; Dale Boerschinger, Suamico; Luke Roffers, Oneida
First 10 lap heat: Jeremy Jacobs, Algoma; Schraufnagel
Second: Scott Mullen, Seymour; Art Siefert, Green Bay
Third: MJ Hintz, Green Bay; Jerry Muenster
Fourth: Dart; Scooter Boyea, Green Bay

IMCA Stock Car
22 Lap Feature: Jason Czarapata, Pulaski; Junior Karcz, Pulaski; Eric Van Iten, Green Bay; John Heinz, Green Bay; Craig Paque, Algoma; Tim Van De Hei, Green Bay
12 lap semi-feature – Van De Hei; Kyle Frederick, Gillett; Pat Davister, Green Bay; Matt Junio, Casco
First 10 lap Heats: Joe LeBotte, Kewaunee; Brian Bruechert, Kewaunee
Second: Benji LaCrosse, Luxemburg; Jeremy Christians, Horicon
Third: Karcz; Snoot DeGrave, Green Bay
Fourth: Jeff Vlies, Brussels; Van Iten

Street Stock
20 Lap Feature: Fred Davister, Luxemburg; Mike Coel, Luxemburg; Troy Wilson, Sobieski; David Baenen, New Franken; Laurel Ettien, Luxemburg; Ed Anschutz, Algoma;
First 10 lap heat: Fred Davister; Darren Otto, Pulaski
Second: Anschutz; Ettien

Sport Truck
12 Lap Feature: Dave Davister, Luxemburg; Ed Danoff, Green Bay; Jeff Scray, Abrams; Mike Mueller, Green Bay; Kevin Strebel, Green Bay; Dean Wiltzius, New Franken
12 lap heat – Jerry Scray Jr., Green Bay; Jeff Scray, Abrams

Coca Cola Big Wheel race winners – Chase Junio; JJ Mahlberg; Anna Vandenlanberg; Justin Rezek; Adam Leroy; Nathan Lauscher; Cody Domke; Carolyn Lauscher

Previous Post: Deau Wins Luxemburg IMCA Mod Feature With Last Lap Pass!

Next Post: Veteran Mullen, Rookie Colwell Share The Spotlight With Feature Wins at Luxemburg!