Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

Siefert Wins Luxemburg Mod Main in Dad’s Car!

Posted under Race Reports on August 9th, 2002

By Joe Verdegan

August 9, 2002; Luxemburg, WI. – Green Bay’s Jared Siefert, driving his father Art’s car, took advantage of a miscue by leader Chad Nelson on lap 16 and grabbed the lead and went on to win his first 25 lap IMCA modified feature at Luxemburg Speedway Friday night. The contest went caution free.

Horicon’s Jeremy Christians captured his second win of the season at Luxemburg and his 16th of the season on Wisconsin dirt tracks by winning the 22 lap IMCA stock car feature. Algoma’s “Chargin’ Charlie” Kroll took the lead on lap three and survived several caution periods to win his second twenty lap street stock feature of the season. The win was worth $1,200, pushed up by $1,000 by Kroll’s sponsor B & H Pest Control.

Nelson snagged the early lead from his pole position and wasted no time pulling out to a near full straightaway lead by lap ten. Siefert and Chris Derenne traded paint for the second spot for several laps until Siefert took the second spot for good on lap 12. The car of Mike Klenz spun off the track in turn two on lap sixteen, but Klenz’ car cleared the track and race stayed green, as Siefert snuck underneath to take the lead with Derenne blowing by Nelson on the outside for second.

Siefert kept his ride steady for the balance of the contest, holding off a fast-closing Derenne in the final laps to take the feature win. Derenne hung on for second place money, followed by Nelson, Jay Schraufnagel and points leader Eddie Muenster.

Jeff LaCrosse jumped into the early lead in the 22 lap IMCA stock car feature followed by Tracy Koontz and rookie Brett Piontek trailing. Piontek dove three wide underneath LaCrosse and Kootz to grab the lead on the second round with LaCrosse fighting back to regain the lead on lap three.

A yellow flew on lap five when Junior Karcz and Pat Davister tangled in turn two. When racing resumed “Mad Matt” Junio wrestled the lead away from LaCrosse, who shuffled back to second. By lap seven Jeremy Christians, who started 10th, threaded his way through the pack into second.

Christians began chiseling away at Junio’s four car length advantage, chopping his margin to less than a car length in three short laps. The lead pair pulled away by the midway point to settle the score. A Pat Davister spin on lap 11 tightened up the field. On the restart Junio was able to hold onto the lead for one short lap as Christians passed Junio on the inside
for the lead on lap 13.

Christians pulled away to a comfortable advantage only to have the lead erased when Tim Van De Hei’s racer stalled near the pit entrance on lap 17. With a five lap dash to the finish Christians kept his lead and went on to win his second feature here of the season and his sixteenth on Wisconsin dirt tracks this season. Trailing Christians at the checkers were Greg Gretz, Junio, Dave Bouche and Jason Czarapata.

After an aborted start the 20 lap street stock main got underway with Frank Paul leading the opening circuit, only to have Kroll blast past for the lead on lap three. Kroll immediately went to work building a sizeable five car length. Leon Schott busted through traffic to take second. A caution flew on lap nine when Larry Ingebretsen spun in turn two.

When racing resumed after three aborted restarts Kroll picked up where he left off and claimed his second feature win of the season. Trailing Kroll at the checkers were Fred Davister, Schott, points leader Mike Coel, and Ed Anschutz.

16-year-old rookie Evan Madden of Algoma fought off veteran Corey Haen to collect his first ever 15 lap bomber feature.

Next Friday night, August 16 will mark the return of the Eastern Wisconsin Stock Car (EWSC) winged supermodifieds to the track. A full program is in store, including IMCA modifieds, IMCA stock cars and street stocks. Racing gets underway at 7 p.m.

IMCA modified
25 Lap Feature: Jared Siefert, Green Bay; Chris Derenne, Luxemburg; Chad Nelson, Suamico; Jay Schraufnagel, Beaver Dam; Eddie Muenster, Green Bay; Dale Boerschinger, Little Suamico
8 lap last chance race – Brian Mullen, Seymour; Jay Matthias, Luxemburg; Jeremy Hodkiewicz, Shawano; Don Padgett, Little Chute
10 lap heats First: Dan Ratajczak, Frog Station; Mike Klenz, Sobieski
Second: Nelson; Eric Van Iten, Green Bay
Third: Boerschinger; Derenne

IMCA Stock Car
22 Lap Feature: Jeremy Christians, Horicon; Greg Gretz, Kewaunee; Matt Junio, Casco; Dave Bouche, Algoma; Jason Czarapata, Pulaski; Benji LaCrosse, Luxemburg
14 lap last chance race – John Heinz, Green Bay; Benji LaCrosse; Craig Paque, Algoma; Jon Wolf, Green Bay
10 lap heats First: Junior Karcz, Pulaski; Jeff LaCrosse, Luxemburg
Second: Brett Piontek, Green Bay; Bouche
Third: Christians; Mark Derenne, Luxemburg

Street Stock
20 Lap Feature: Charlie Kroll, Algoma; Fred Davister, Luxemburg; Leon Schott, Green Bay; Mike Coel, Green Bay; Ed Anschutz, Algoma; Keith Kickbush, Kewaunee
10 lap heats First: Anschutz; Frank Paul, Kewaunee
Second: Kroll; Otto

15 Lap Feature: Evan Madden, Algoma; Corey Haen, Carlsville; Joe Hegnet, Sturgeon Bay; Gregg Aregoni, Sturgeon Bay Derrick Moede, Casco
11 lap heat – Hegnet; Dave Serrahn, Algoma

Luxemburg Legends race winners – 1st) Don Mahlberg, Forest Junction 2nd) Larry Jonet, Silver Cliff 3rd) Roy Ihlenfeldt, Luxemburg

Previous Post: Mullen and LaCrosse Repeat Feature Winners at Luxemburg!

Next Post: Fiedler Shades Pokorski in Luxemburg EWSC Super Mod Special!