Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

Dart Dethrones Mullen In Wild Luxemburg Mod Main!

Posted under Race Reports on June 20th, 2003

By Joe Verdegan

June 20, 2003; Luxemburg, WI. – Algoma’s Todd “Felix” Dart only led one lap in the 30 lap IMCA modified feature. But it was the only one that counted as Dart captured the mid-season championships at Luxemburg Speedway Friday night, snapping Brian Mullen’s five straight win streak in the division.

A total of 101cars took part in the program, including 34 IMCA modifieds, 38 IMCA stock cars, 15 IMCA hobby stocks and 14 sport fours.

Dan Ratajczak slipped by Chad Wilcox to take the early lead in the feature followed by Jared Siefert and Jeremy Hodkiewicz. A lap two yellow flew when Mike Mashl’s powerplant grenaded, dumping oil on the racing surface. When racing resumed RM Van Pay whisked past Wilcox for second on lap five and began reeling in Ratacjzak, who had already built up a five car length cushion. Van Pay caught up with the leader by lap nine, and Eddie Muenster had stormed through the field from his ninth starting spot into third, making it a three car duel for the lead.

It appeared Van Pay and Muenster would have something for Ratajczak, but the “Frog Station Flash” kept the former track champions at bay for the next several laps. The duo caught up with Ratajczak again on lap 14 when Muenster looped his mount on lap 15 in turn four, drawing a caution. By this time Mullen had battled his way from 14th to fourth. With half of the contest remaining Van Pay kept Ratajczak within striking distance. With five laps remaining Dart, who started 11th, crept up to the leaders. On the final lap coming out of turn four, Ratacjzak and Mullen collided while battling for the lead, when Dart slipped underneath to take the win. Van Pay took second, followed by Ratajczak, Mullen and Sean Jerovetz.

Hortonville’s Travis Van Straten led 24 of 25 laps en route to his second 25 lap IMCA stock car feature win.

The lone caution of the race flew on lap 14 when Dave Davister spun in turn one. Van Straten received stiff challenges during the contest from Brandon Czarapata and Shawn Kilgore, but fought them off for the victory. Trailing Van Straten at the checkers were Kilgore, Czarapata, Craig Paque and Rod Snellenberger.

Zion, Illinois’ Tony Schlei took the lead from Ryan LeMieux on lap 14 and cruised to his 4th 20 lap IMCA hobby stock feature of the season. LeMieux, Mike Mueller, Dave Lane and Keith Kickbush rounded out the top five finishers.

Marty Van De Hei of Seymour won his third 15 lap sport four feature of the season, padding his points lead in the process.

Next Friday night June 27 Concrete Finishers will sponsor the racing. WLUK Fox 11 will also host it’s live television show Fox Fun In The Cities from the speedway. Street stocks will also be in action, including IMCA modifieds, IMCA stock cars, IMCA hobby stocks and sport fours. For more information call 920 863 8446. The track phone is 920 845 2300. The track website is


IMCA modified
30 lap feature – Todd Dart, Algoma; RM Van Pay, Green Bay; Dan Ratajczak, Frog Station; Brian Mullen, Seymour; Sean Jerovetz, Suamico; Scott Mullen, Seymour
12 lap semi-features – 1st) Jerry Muenster, Green Bay; Eric Van Iten, Green Bay; Scooter Boyea, Green Bay; Paul Thorpe, New London 2nd) Mike Mashl, De Pere; Dean Maurer, De Pere; Jeremy Jacobs, Kewaunee; Scott Derenne, Luxemburg
10 lap heats 1) Jerovetz; Jeremy Hodkiewicz, Shawano 2) Chad Wilcox, Pulaski; Chris Derenne, Luxemburg 3) Van Pay; Eugene Gregorich, Kewaunee 4) Jared Siefert, Green Bay; Ratajczak

IMCA stock car
25 lap feature – Travis Van Straten, Hortonville; Shawn Kilgore, Kewaunee; Brandon Czarapata, Pulaski; Craig Paque, Algoma; Rod Snellenberger, Pulaski; Tim Van De Hei, Green Bay
12 lap semi-features – 1) Brian Bruechert, Kewaunee; Troy DeGrave, Green Bay; Derrick Bruechert, Kewaunee; Brett Wenzel, Two Rivers 2) Jeff Vlies, Brussels; Jason Czarapata, Pulaski; Tony Bouche, Algoma; Brandon Mindak, Luxemburg
10 lap heats 1) Chris Van Iten, Green Bay; Greg Gretz, Kewaunee 2) Kilgore; Jeremy Christians, Horicon 3) Van De Hei; Brandon Czarapata 4) Junior Karcz, Pulaski; Kyle Frederick, Gillett

IMCA hobby stock
20 lap feature – Tony Schlei, Zion, IL; Ryan LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay; Mike Mueller, Green Bay; Dave Lane, Green Bay; Keith Kickbush, Kewaunee; Brandon Peterson, Sturgeon Bay
10 lap heats 1) LeMieux; Kickbush 2) Mueller; Evan Madden, Algoma

Sport Four
15 lap feature – Marty Van De Hei, Seymour; Todd Welsing, Denmark; Tim Peer, Green Bay; Greg Banker, Black Creek; Bruce Sands, Mishicot; Jeff Kropp, Seymour
10 lap heats – 1st) Peer; Welsing 2nd) Banker; Marty Van De Hei

Previous Post: Dodd Snaps Four Year Winless Skid With Luxemburg IRA Outlaw Win!

Next Post: Jerovetz Shades Mullen In Luxemburg IMCA Modified Feature!