Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

Dodd Snaps Four Year Winless Skid With Luxemburg IRA Outlaw Win!

Posted under Race Reports on June 14th, 2003

By Joe Verdegan

June 14, 2003; Luxemburg, WI. – Darrell Dodd, one of the elder statesman of the Bumper To Bumper IRA Outlaw sprint car series snapped a four year winless skid by losing the lead to Kurt Davis and then repassing him on lap 18 to claim the 30 lap feature at Luxemburg Speedway Saturday night.

“This old man ain’t dead yet,” exclaimed the 51-year-old Dodd in victory lane. “When this car works well I can race with the best of them.”

Starting on the pole position, Dodd rocketed into the lead at the drop of the green, with Davis rim-riding the cushion into the lead on lap three. John Haeni rode the high line from his 15th starting spot into fifth by lap six. A yellow flew on lap eight when Mike Stefka looped his mount in turn one. On the restart Dodd regained the lead only to hand the lead back to Davis one round later. Dodd dove underneath Davis to remain atop of the lead on lap 18. The second amber of the race flew when Travis Whitney spun. On the restart Dodd maintained the top spot, protecting the low groove. Bill Warren and Kim Mock gave chase in the closing laps with Mock taking second away from Warren on the final circuit. Dodd hung on for the win, receiving a standing ovation from the largest crowd of the season. Mock settled for second place money, followed by Warren, Haeni and Jason Johnson rounding out the top five finishers.

Oostburg’s Gordie Seegert Jr. squeezed past Shawano veteran MJ McBride with four laps remaining to capture the $1,500, 40 lap WISSOTA late model feature win. The contest went green-to-checkered without a yellow.

McBride, who drew the number 1 pill, grabbed the early lead with Seegert and Luke Roffers in tow. The lead trio broke away from the field with five laps in while Seegert quickly ducked underneath McBride on more than one occasion, with McBride shutting the door. By lap 13 McBride and Seegert began sifting their way through lapped cars, with Seegert pulling up dead even with McBride on the backstretch on lap 16. McBride and Seegert shedded Luke Roffers two laps later and found some breathing room in lapped traffic.

Roffers caught up with the pair again as lapped cars slowed the leaders on lap 25. Seegert continued to apply pressure to McBride, and on lap 28 passed McBride for the lead, only to have McBride repass Seegert for the top spot one circuit later. From laps 30 to 33 the pair crossed the checkered stripe in a dead heat, with Seegert muscling his way inside of McBride to take the lead for good on lap 36. On the final circuit Roffers and Pete Parker were able to slip past McBride to gain the second and third spots, respectively. “MJ raced me clean and gave me a lot of room tonight,” said Seegert in victory lane. “The track was really smooth out there and it’s good to get back into victory lane.” Roffers, Parker, McBride and Terry Casey rounded out the top five finishers.

Next Friday night the Jorns Chev-Pontiac Mid-season championships will take place. It will also be fan apprecation night at the track. Any person who brings their ticket stub from the June 14 sprint car show will receive discounts on their ticket admission on Friday, June 20. Adults will get in for just $5.00 while students and seniors will get in for just four dollars. Kids 12 and under will be free with an adult. For more information call 920 863 8446. The track phone number is 920 845 2300. The track website is


Bumper To Bumper IRA Outlaw sprint car
30 Lap A main – Darrell Dodd, Beach Park, IL; Kim Mock, Pleasant Prairie; Bill Warren, Beaver Dam; John Haeni, Brownsville; Jason Johnson, Greenfield; Joe Roe, Kenosha; Fred Ebler, Racine; Mike Kerschter, Fredonia; Kurt Davis, Milwaukee; Scotty Neitzel, Beaver Dam; Dave Enders, Kiel; Jim Melis, Glenbeulah; Joe Symoens, Franksville; Wayne Modjeski, Oak Creek; Brian Kristan, Lake County, IL; Ty Bartz, Howards Grove; Todd King, Glenbeulah; Travis Whitney, Champlin, MN; Steve Meyer, Sheboygan Falls; Mike Stefka, Racine; Ryan Irwin, McHenry, IL; Mike Reinke, Kiel
15 lap B main – Roe;Reinke; Mock;Bartz
10 lap heats 1) Johnson; Enders; Enders; Mock 2) Dodd; Stefka; Neitzel 3) Davis; Warren; Irwin
Fast Qualifier: Mock, 14.328

WISSOTA late model
40 lap feature – Gordie Seegert Jr., Oostburg; Luke Roffers, Oneida; Pete Parker, Kaukauna; MJ McBride, Shawano; Terry Casey, New London; AJ Diemel, Bonduel; Nick Anvelink, Navarino; Randy Markwardt, Sheboygan Falls; Doug Blashe, Marion; Troy Springborn, Shawano; Tim Buhler, Glenbeulah; MJ Hintz, Green Bay; Greg Dhein, Waupaca; Tom Naeyaert, Shawano; Dave Jessen, Fredonia; Mark Weisnicht, Shawano; Jeremy Hedrick, Keshena; Cody Grosskruetz, Clintonville; TJ White, Green Bay; Greg Haney, Green Bay; Ralph Aschenbrenner, Green Bay; Ron Berna, Green Bay; Doug Klemp, Black Creek (DNS); Terry Anvelink, Navarino (DNS)
Gold Star Racing Supplies/Performance Bodies Hard Charger Award – Doug Blashe, Marion
10 lap heats 1) Naeyaert; Klemp; Berna 2) Roffers; Blashe; Casey 3) N. Anvelink; Parker; Seegert Jr.

Previous Post: Mullen Fends Off Dart to Win Fifth Straight In Luxemburg Mods!

Next Post: Dart Dethrones Mullen In Wild Luxemburg Mod Main!