Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

LaCrosse Lands in Luxemburg Victory Lane!

Posted under Race Reports on August 29th, 2003

By Joe Verdegan

August 29, 2003; Luxemburg, WI. – Hometown driver Benji LaCrosse fended off Jared Siefert on a restart with seven laps remaining and went on to score his second 30 lap IMCA modified feature of the season at Luxemburg Speedway Friday night.

Shawn Kilgore of Kewaunee won his second 25 lap IMCA stock car feature of the season. By virtue of his fourth place finish in the IMCA stock car feature Pulaski’s Brandon Czarapata collected the division’s crown. Kewaunee’s Keith Kickbush captured the IMCA hobby stock track championship while Seymour’s Marty Van De Hei captured the sport four track title. Last week Brian Mullen had already clinched the IMCA modified title.

92 cars signed in to compete on championship night, including 30 IMCA modifieds, 35 IMCA stock cars, 11 IMCA hobby stocks and 16 sport fours.

Polesitter Billy LeMieux paced the opening seven laps of the mod feature with Mike Klenz and Jared Siefert in tow. LaCrosse had worked his way up to third by lap seven, passing Klenz for the spot. On lap eight LeMieux, Siefert and LaCrosse broke away from the pack to wage a three car duel for the lead. LaCrosse went high and Siefert went low, with LaCrosse emerging the leader of the three wide deal as the trio roared down the frontstretch on lap nine.

LaCrosse rode the high line while Siefert kept his racer clinging to the low side of the third-mile, clay oval. A Mike Mashl spin on lap 13 bunched up the field. LaCrosse would survive two more restarts during the course of the event, only to fight off Siefert and eventually hang on for the victory. Siefert took second driving his backup car following a wreck with his other car last week. Klenz hung on for third. Scott Mullen took fourth while Jeremy Jacobs battled his way into the feature through the semi feature and wound up fifth.

Jeff Vlies outraced Mark Reinhardt into the lead at the drop of the green of the stock car main. Brett Wenzel raced into the second spot on lap three and Vlies and Wenzel pulled away from the pack quickly. Kilgore caught the duo on lap five. Wenzel muscled his way into the lead on lap 14 with Brian Bruechert throwing his hat into the ring, taking 2nd on lap 17. Kilgore wrestled the lead away from Vlies on lap 20.

A Mark Reinhardt spin on lap 21 set up a four lap shootout to the finish. On the restart Brett Wenzel and Tim Van De Hei tangled, sending points title contender Tim Van De Hei into a spin and dashing his hopes for a track championship. On the restart Kilgore held off a late charging Jeremy Christians to take his second win of the year. Bruechert, Brandon Czarapata and Rod Snellenberger rounded out the top five finishers.

Algoma’s Evan Madden captured his third 15 lap IMCA hobby stock feature. The event went caution free. Trailing at the line were Mike Mueller, Ed Anschutz, Joe Hegnet and Tony Schlei. Black Creek’s Greg Banker swept action in the sport four division, winning both his heat and the 12 lap feature.

There will be no racing at the track next Friday night, September 5. One more big race remains on the track’s 2003 schedule. It’s the $2,000-to-win McCoy’s Harley Davidson Modified Classic on Friday night, September 12. The race was rained out July 30. Stock cars will battle for a $1,500-to-win top prize For more information call 920 863 8446. The track phone number is 920 845 2300. The track’s website is


IMCA modified
30 lap feature – Benji LaCrosse, Luxemburg; Jared Siefert, Green Bay; Mike Klenz, Sobieski; Scott Mullen, Seymour; Jeremy Jacobs, Kewaunee; Brian Mullen, Seymour
12 lap semi feature – Jacobs; Robert Waechter, Ellisville, RM Van Pay, Green Bay; Art Siefert, Green Bay
10 lap heats 1) Dan Ratajczak, Frog Station; Mike Mashl, De Pere 2) Klenz; Jared Siefert 3) Scott Derenne, Luxemburg; LaCrosse

IMCA stock car
25 lap feature – Shawn Kilgore, Kewaunee; Jeremy Christians, Horicon; Brian Bruechert, Kewaunee; Brandon Czarapata, Pulaski; Rod Snellenberger, Pulaski; Jamie Colwell, Greenleaf
12 lap semi features – 1) Jason Czarapata, Pulaski; Shawn Olson, Algoma; Kyle Frederick, Gillett; Travis Van Straten, Hortonville 2) Charlie Kroll, Algoma; Derrick Bruechert, Kewaunee; Tony Bouche, Algoma; Greg Gretz, Kewaunee
10 lap heats 1) Joe Lebotte, Kewaunee; Mark Reinhardt, Sturgeon Bay 2) Craig Paque, Algoma; Colwell 3) Christians; Brett Wenzel, Two Rivers 4) Brian Bruechert; Jeff Vlies, Brussels

IMCA Hobby Stock
15 lap feature – Evan Madden, Algoma; Mike Mueller, Green Bay; Ed Anschutz, Algoma; Joe Hegnet, Sturgeon Bay; Tony Schlei, Zion, IL; Ryan LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay
10 lap heats 1) Madden; Maynard Hegnet, Sturgeon Bay 2) Anschutz; LeMieux

Sport Four
12 lap feature – Greg Banker, Black Creek; Todd Welsing, Denmark; Marty Van De Hei, Seymour; Bob Abbet, Maribel; Jasper Drengler, Shawano; Tim Peer, Green Bay
8 lap heats 1) Jeff Kropp, Seymour; Bruce Sand, Mishicot 2) Banker; Welsing

Previous Post: Dart Captures Luxemburg IMCA Mod Feature!

Next Post: Dart Dails In Luxemburg IMCA Modified Feature!