Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

Mullen Bests Arch Rival Van Pay in Luxemburg IMCA Mod Main!

Posted under Race Reports on May 23rd, 2003

By Joe Verdegan

May 23, 2003; Luxemburg, WI. – Seymour’s Brian Mullen executed a flawless last lap pass on arch rival RM Van Pay of Green Bay to win the 25 lap IMCA modified feature at Luxemburg Speedway Friday night. The victory was Mullen’s third straight at the third-mile, clay oval.

A total of 110 cars took part in the program, which included 36 IMCA modifieds, 45 IMCA stock cars, 18 IMCA hobby stocks and 11 sport fours.

Robert Waechter outraced polesitter Jeremy Hodkeiwicz into the lead at the drop of the green. Waechter never had a chance to built upon his margin because a Jeremy Jacobs spin on lap two drew a yellow. Dan Ratacjzak grabbed the lead on the restart with RM Van Pay and Benji LaCrosse trailing. Van Pay rode the high line past Ratacjzak into the lead on lap five. LaCrosse slipped inside of Ratacjzak into second and trailed Van Pay. The lead pair began pulling away from the field but their advantage was wiped out with a Waechter spin on lap nine.

Another yellow flew three laps later when Scott Mullen and Jeremy Jacobs tangled in turn three. Van Pay and LaCrosse continued to wage their battle under the green. Mullen stormed from his 12th starting spot into the third position by lap 10. The trio ran nose-to-tail for three laps until Mullen, using the high groove, disposed of LaCrosse for second and began working on Van Pay.

As the white flag was displayed Mullen found the bite he needed coming out of turn four, taking the lead away from Van Pay. Mullen scored a convincing win. Van Pay was forced to settle for second, followed by LaCrosse in his best performance of the year

Travis Van Straten of Hortonville led every lap and dodged three caution periods to win the 22 lap IMCA stock car feature. Van Straten, a former street stock champion at the track, became the fourth different feature winner in the division. Van Straten fought off a stiff challenge from Jeremy Christians and Tim Van De Hei in the closing laps. Placing second through fifth at the checkers were Van De Hei, Christians, Kyle Frederick and Rod Snellenberger.

Zion, Illinois’ Tony Schlei scampered past Joe Hegnet with five laps to go to claim his first 15 lap IMCA hobby stock feature. Hegnet settled for second, followed by Kevin Laughlin, Keith Kickbush and Ed Anschutz.

The contest was halted when Derek Moede rolled his racer onto it’s roof in turn four. Moede was shaken but otherwise unhurt.

Seymour’s Marty Van De Hei scored his first 15 lap four cylinder sport four feature win of the year.

Next Friday night’s racing action is sponsored by Budweiser/Flanigan Distributing. Street stocks will have their second race of the season, along with IMCA modifieds, IMCA stock cars, IMCA hobby stocks and sport fours. Racing gets underway at 7 p.m. For more information call 920 863 8446. The track phone is 920 845 2300. The track website is


IMCA modified
25 Lap feature -Brian Mullen, Seymour; RM Van Pay, Green Bay; Benji LaCrosse, Luxemburg; Mike Mashl, De Pere; Jay Matthias, Luxemburg; Sean Jerovetz, Suamico
12 lap semi-features – 1) Art Siefert, Green Bay; Eugene Gregorich, Kewaunee; Mike Klenz, Sobieski; Chris Derenne, Luxemburg 2) Randy Back, Green Bay; Julie McDermid, Oconto Falls; Danny Deau, Little Suamico; Chad Wilcox, Pulaski
10 lap heats 1) Robert Waechter, Ellisville; Matthias 2) Eric Van Iten, Green Bay; Dave Zeitler, Luxemburg 3) LaCrosse; Mashl 4) Van Pay; Scott Mullen, Seymour

IMCA Stock Car
22 Lap feature – Travis Van Straten, Hortonville; Tim Van De Hei, Green Bay; Jeremy Christians, Horicon; Kyle Frederick, Gillett; Rod Snellenberger, Pulaski; Shawn Kilgore, Kewaunee
10 lap semi-features – 1) Brian Bruechert, Kewaunee; John Heinz, Green Bay; Craig Paque, Algoma; Steve Svoboda, Green Bay 2) Larry Ingebretsen, Luxemburg; Dave Bouche, Algoma; Tony Bouche, Algoma; Brandon Mindak, Luxemburg 3) Shawn Wagner, Pulaski; Troy Jerovetz, Suamico; Greg Gretz, Kewaunee; Corey Lemirande, Gillett
10 lap heats 1) Van Straten; Frederick 2) Snellenberger; Jason Czarapata, Pulaski 3) Pat Davister, Luxemburg; Van De Hei 4) Brandon Czarapata, Pulaski; Brett Wenzel, Two Rivers 5) Christians; Shawn Kilgore, Kewaunee

IMCA Hobby Stock
20 lap feature – Tony Schlei, Zion, IL; Joe Hegnet, Sturgeon Bay; Kevin Laughlin, Sturgeon Bay; Keith Kickbush, Kewaunee; Ed Anschutz, Algoma; Brandon Peterson, Sturgeon Bay
10 lap heats 1) Ryan LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay; Dave Lane, Green Bay 2) Hegnet; Kickbush

Sport Four
15 Lap feature – Marty Van De Hei, Seymour; Jasper Drengler, Shawano; Todd Peer, Green Bay; Todd Welsing, Denmark; Bruce Sands, Mishicot; Norm Kersine, Green Bay
10 lap heat -Drengler; Van De Hei

Previous Post: Mullen Scores Second Luxemburg IMCA Modified Feature Win!

Next Post: Mullen Makes it Four-In-A-Row at Luxemburg in IMCA Mod Action!