Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

Mullen Captures 99th Career IMCA Mod Feature Win at Luxemburg!

Posted under Race Reports on August 8th, 2003

By Joe Verdegan

August 8, 2003; Luxemburg, WI. – Seymour’s Brian Mullen passed Sean Jerovetz with four laps remaining and cruised to victory in the 25 lap IMCA modified feature win at Luxemburg Speedway Friday night. The victory was Mullen’s eighth of the season at Luxemburg and his 99th career modified feature win.

A total of 109 cars signed in, including 31 IMCA modifieds, 43 IMCA stock cars, 16 IMCA hobby stocks and 19 four cylinder sport fours.

Green Bay’s Dave Fisher paced the opening two circuits until he and Danny Deau collided while scrapping for the lead, drawing a yellow on lap two. On the restart Jerovetz inherited the lead, while Mullen, who started in row six, began picking off cars at the rate of one per lap, pushing his way into sixth by lap six. Mike Cole and Scott Mullen locked horns on lap seven, wiping out a five car length lead Jerovetz has built up.

When racing resumed Dave Zeitler passed RM Van Pay for second, and the pair waged a torrid battle for second over the next several laps. Van Pay bobbled slightly in turn four on lap seven, giving second to Zeitler. Brian Mullen marched on the high line into the third spot by lap 16 and took second one lap later when Benji LaCrosse’s mount stalled on lap seventeen, drawing an amber.

With eight laps remaining Brian Mullen continued to stalk Jerovetz, pulling outside of him on lap twenty and pulling away into the lead on lap twenty one. Mullen coasted to a five car length victory. Jerovetz settled for second at the pay window, followed by Jeremy Jacobs, Zeitler and Todd Dart.

Hortonville’s Travis Van Straten swept IMCA stock car action, winning both his heat race and the 22 lap feature, his third of the season.

Dave Davister jumped into the lead at the drop of the green, with Derrick Bruechert and Van Straten scrapping for the second spot. The trio went three wide on lap six with Van Straten passing the other two for the lead on the outside on lap seven. However Shawn Kilgore and Rod Snellenberger tangled on that lap, handing the lead back to Davister on the restart.

Van Straten quickly retook the lead on the restart, with Craig Paque stepping up to challenge Davister for second. Paque took the runnerup spot on lap 11 with Jason Czarapata hot on his heels in third. Kyle Frederick joined the pair and a three car duel for second began. A caution flew on lap thirteen when Pat Davister and Brian Bruechert collided. With nine laps remaining Czarapata shot into second and began chasing down Van Straten for the lead. Paque repassed Czarapata for second and caught Van Straten in the waning laps, but Van Straten hung on to collect the victory. Finishing second through fifth were Paque, Jason Czarapata, Jeremy Christians and Brandon Czarapata.

16-year-old Evan Madden of Algoma captured his second 15 lap IMCA hobby stock feature of the season. Trailing at the checkers were Joe Hegnet, Ed Anschutz, Keith Kickbush and Ryan LeMieux.

Denmark’s Todd Welsing halted action during the 12 lap sport four when his racer barrel rolled in turn four. He escaped uninjured. The race was won by Kenny Malcore, who scored the win with a last lap pass of Bruce Sand.

Legends race winners were Bobby Marquis, Ron De Prey and Al Snellenberger.

Next Friday night, August 15 Robinson Metals will sponsor an appearance by the Eastern Wisconsin Stock Car winged supermodifieds. A full program for IMCA modifieds, IMCA stock cars, IMCA hobby stocks and sport fours is scheduled, with extra cash being doled out to the winners in those divisions. For more information call 920 863 8446. The track phone number is 920 845 2300. The track’s website is


IMCA Modified
25 lap feature – Brian Mullen, Seymour; Sean Jerovetz, Suamico; Jeremy Jacobs, Kewaunee; Dave Zeitler, Luxemburg; Todd Dart, Algoma; Jay Matthias, Luxemburg
12 lap semi features – 1st) Randy LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay; Chris Derenne, Luxemburg; Scott Derenne, Luxemburg; Jerry Wenzel, Two Rivers 2nd) Benji LaCrosse, Luxemburg; Dan Ratajczak, Frog Station; Randy Back, Green Bay; Robert Waechter, Ellisville
10 lap heats 1) Jerovetz; Mullen 2) Danny Deau, Little Suamico; Jared Siefert, Green Bay 3) Dave Fischer, Green Bay; Zeitler 4) Art Siefert, Green Bay; RM Van Pay, Green Bay

IMCA Stock Car
22 lap feature – Travis Van Straten, Hortonville; Craig Paque, Algoma; Jason Czarapata, Pulaski; Jeremy Christians, Horicon; Brandon Czarapata, Horicon; Kyle Frederick, Gillett
12 lap semi features – 1) Tim Van De Hei, Green Bay; Shawn Wagner, Pulaski; Laurel Ettien, Luxemburg; Mike Weitor, Green Bay 2) Brandon Czarapata, Pulaski; Troy DeGrave, Green Bay; Brett Wenzel, Two Rivers; Jamie Colwell, Greenleaf 3) Jeff Vlies, Brussels; Chris Van Iten, Green Bay; Larry Ingebretsen, Luxemburg; Brandon Mindak, Luxemburg
10 lap heats 1) Christians; Rod Snellenberger, Pulaski 2) Van Straten; Pat Davister, Luxemburg 3) Derrick Bruechert, Kewaunee; Brian Bruechert, Kewaunee 4) Joe Lebotte, Kewaunee; Jason Czarapata 5) Paque; Dave Davister, Luxemburg

IMCA Hobby Stock
15 lap feature – Evan Madden, Algoma; Joe Hegnet, Sturgeon Bay; Ed Anschutz, Algoma; Keith Kickbush, Kewaunee; Ryan LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay; Dan Davister, Luxemburg
8 lap heats 1) Maynard Hegnet, Sturgeon Bay; Derek Moede, Casco 2) Marcus Moede, Casco; Anschutz

Sport Four
12 lap feature – Kenny Malcore, Algoma; Marty Van De Hei, Seymour; Bruce Sand, Mishicot; Greg Banker, Black Creek; Tim Peer, Green Bay; Tim Smits, Green Bay
8 lap heats 1) Sand; Banker 2) Jasper Drengler, Shawano; Tom Schmidt, Black Creek

Legends races
Modifieds – Bobby Marquis, De Pere
Hobby stocks – Ron De Prey, Luxemburg
Stock Cars – Al Snellenberger, Pulaski

Previous Post: Van De Hei Captures 1st Luxemburg IMCA Stock Car Win!

Next Post: Ostrowski Rules Luxemburg in EWSC Supermodified Scrum!