Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

Mullen Fends Off Dart to Win Fifth Straight In Luxemburg Mods!

Posted under Race Reports on June 13th, 2003

By Joe Verdegan

June 13, 2003; Luxemburg, WI. – Seymour’s Brian Mullen had his hands full in the closing laps with Todd Dart, but Mullen remained king of Luxembur Speedway as the veteran hotshoe won his unprecedented fifth straight 25 lap IMCA modified feature here Friday night.

A total of 112 cars were on hand, including 41 IMCA modifieds, 40 IMCA stock cars, 15 IMCA hobby stocks and 16 sport fours.

Rookie Chad Wilcox outgunned Jared Siefert into the lead at the drop of the green. Siefert quickly took to the extremely tacky high groove and motored past Wilcox for the lead on lap three. Two circuits later a Jerry Muenster spin on lap five tightened the field. On the restart Siefert kept the lead, but on lap seven Siefert spun in turn four, getting T-boned by Wilcox, drawing the second amber of the contest.

When racing resumed Jeremy Hodkiewicz inherited the lead, but his advantage was short lived as Todd Dart, who started 10th, scooted around Hodkiewicz for the lead on lap nine. A Wilcox spin one circuit later stalled the action. Dart kept the lead under the green with Eddie Muenster sliding into the second spot. The defending track champion sized up Dart, tracking him for the next several laps while Mike Mashl worked up a head of steam, passing Muenster for the runnerup spot on lap 12.

Mashl’s efforts were all for naught as the powerplant in his racer exploded into a ball of flames on the backstretch on lap 15. On the restart Mullen vaulted from his third spot into the lead at the drop of the green. Dart was able to keep Mullen within striking distance but Mullen went on to record his fifth straight main event. Dart settled for runnerup money, followed by Eddie Muenster, Jerry Muenster who recovered from an earlier spin, and Jeremy Hodkiewicz, who posted his best finish of the season.

Pulaski’s Brandon Czarapata passed Junior Karcz for the lead on lap 12 and went on to win his first 22 lap IMCA stock car feature of the season.

Polesitter Brandon Mindak sprinted from his pole position to take the early lead in the contest, with Pat Davister glued to his rear bumper. Davister squared up with Mindak in turn three and pulled ahead for the lead on lap five. Davister’s lead was short lived as three laps later his racer made contact with Travis Van Straten, sending both into a spin and drawing a yellow. When racing resumed Karcz inherited the lead, with Brian Bruechert and Czarapata putting on the heat.

Czarapata slipped underneath Karcz for the lead on lap 12. By lap 14 Shawn Kilgore and Jeremy Christians had sliced their way through the pack, and began scrapping for second. The pair worked on Czarapata using both the high and low lines, with the Pulaski driver fending off the duo to snag his first feature flag of the season. Christians nipped Kilgore at the line for second, followed by Brian Bruechert and Kyle Frederick, who bested Rod Snellenberger at the checkers for fifth.

Tony Schlei of Zion, IL bested Algoma’s Evan Madden at the line to capture his third win of the year in the 15 lap IMCA hobby stock feature.

The sport four main event was captured by Todd Welsing of Denmark, his second victory of the season. The contest was halted when rookie Ben Daoust rolled his racer, landing on it’s roof in turn four. He escaped uninjured.

Tomorrow night, Saturday June 14 will mark the first appearance in eight years of the Bumper To Bumper IRA Outlaw Sprint cars to Luxemburg Speedway. The WISSOTA late models will join the winged warriors. Qualifying for IRA sprint cars begins at 6:15 p.m. with racing to follow. Spectator gates open at 5 p.m. For more information consult websites or The track phone number is 920 845 2300.


IMCA modified
25 lap feature – Brian Mullen, Seymour; Todd Dart, Algoma; Eddie Muenster, Green Bay; Jerry Muenster, Green Bay; Jeremy Hodkiewicz, Shawano; Dean Maurer, De Pere
12 lap semi-features – 1st) Jay Matthias, Luxemburg; Eugene Gregorich, Kewaunee; Dave Fischer, Green Bay; Kyle Meyers, Oconto Falls 2nd) Joe White, Oconto Falls; Maurer; Scooter Boyea, Green Bay; Brad Rohloff, Pulaski
10 lap heats 1) Jared Siefert, Green Bay; Mike Klenz, Sobieski 2) Scott Mullen, Seymour; Robert Waechter, Ellisville 3) Chad Wilcox, Pulaski; Randy LeMieux Jr., Sturgeon Bay 4) Dart; Mike Mashl, De Pere

IMCA Stock Car
22 lap feature – Brandon Czarapata, Pulaski; Jeremy Christians, Horicon; Shawn Kilgore, Kewaunee; Brian Bruechert, Kewaunee; Kyle Frederick, Gillett; Rod Snellenberger, Pulaski
12 lap semi-features – 1st) John Heinz, Green Bay; Gary Reinhardt, Fish Creek; Shawn Wagner, Pulaski; Jeff Vlies, Brussels 2nd) Shawn Olson, Algoma; Laurel Ettien, Luxemburg; Dave Bouche, Algoma; Brett Wenzel, Two Rivers
10 lap heats 1) Snellenberger; Czarapata 2) Pat Davister, Luxemburg; Kilgore 3) Christians; Jason Czarapata, Pulaski 4) Brandon Mindak, Luxemburg; Karcz

IMCA Hobby Stock
15 lap feature – Tony Schlei, Zion, IL; Evan Madden, Algoma; Mike Mueller, Green Bay; Joe Hegnet, Sturgeon Bay; Keith Kickbush, Kewaunee; Gregg Aregoni, Sturgeon Bay
10 lap heats 1) Aregoni; Dave Lane, Green Bay 2) Mueller; Hegnet

Sport Four
15 lap feature – Todd Welsing, Denmark; Tim Peer, Green Bay; Marty Van De Hei, Seymour; Bob Abbet, Maribel; Bruce Sands, Mishicot; Greg Banker, Black Creek
6 lap heats – 1) Sands; Van De Hei 2) Welsing; Peer

Previous Post: Mullen Makes it Four-In-A-Row at Luxemburg in IMCA Mod Action!

Next Post: Dodd Snaps Four Year Winless Skid With Luxemburg IRA Outlaw Win!