Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

Mullen Scores $2,200 Payday in Luxemburg IMCA Mod Go!

Posted under Race Reports on July 4th, 2003

By Joe Verdegan

July 4, 2003; Luxemburg, WI. – Seymour’s Brian Mullen took the lead on lap 19 and cashed in on a $2,200, 40 lap IMCA modified feature win at Luxemburg Speedway Friday night. It was Mullen’s seventh feature win of the season. In IMCA stock car action Kyle Frederick of Gillett scored a wire-to-wire 30 lap feature win worth $1,500.

A field of 49 IMCA modifieds and 43 IMCA stock cars were in attendance. 16 IMCA hobby stocks were also on hand.

Beaver Dam visitor Jay Schraufnagel outraced Sean Jerovetz into the lead at the drop of the green, quickly building up a five car length lead over Jerovetz. Mike Sandholm squeezed past Jerovetz for second on lap five and began chasing down the Beaver Dam driver. A Mike Watson spin on lap 10 tightened the field. On the restart Todd Dart and Mullen muscled their way past Sandholm to take second and third, respectively. The pair dogged Schraufnagel with Mullen locked down low and Dart running the risky, high groove. Mullen overtook second from Dart on lap 16 and the Seymour driver began working the high line himself on Schraufnagel, who was protecting his lead on the bottom. On lap nineteen Mullen motored around Schraufnagel for the lead. The second yellow flew on lap 20 for a Jay Matthias spin, tightening the field once more.

When racing resumed Mullen shook Dart and Schraufnagel and kicked it into high gear building up a five car length cushion when Jerry Muenster looped his mount in turn one, drawing another amber on lap 23. Mullen maintained his advantage under the green and through two more caution periods and cruised to his biggest career payday at the track. Mashl mounted a late race charge, closing the gap on Mullen but settling for the bridesmaid spot in second. Dart took third, followed across the line by Sandholm and Dan Ratajczak. Sandholm later refused an engine claim, disqualifying him and bumping Benji LaCrosse into fifth. LaCrosse marched through the field from the back of the pack after qualifying into the main by winning one of the consis.

Frederick jumped into the lead at the drop of the green and immediately went to work building a full straightaway lead over the 25 car field. Rod Snellenberger held down the second spot with Brian Bruechert leading a seven car freight train glued to Snellenberger’s rear bumper. Bruechert drove around Snellenberger for second on lap 13 and began chiseling away at Frederick’s advantage. By lap 15 Frederick was cautiously sifting his way through lapped cars. With 10 laps remaining Frederick broke loose of a pack of lapped cars and had nothing but smooth sailing ahead of him, keeping Bruechert and company at bay to score the biggest payday of his racing career. Bruechert settled for second at the pay window, followed by Shawn Kilgore, Brandon Czarapata and Rod Snellenberger.

Zion, Illinois Tony Schlei passed rookie Dave Lane on the last lap to score his sixth 16 lap IMCA hobby stock feature of the season in a yellow free contest. Trailing Schlei at the line were Lane, Gregg Aregoni, Dan Davister and Mike Mueller.

Action was halted during the second IMCA stock car heat when Jerry Wilinski rolled his car, crashing hard in turn two. Wilinski escaped uninjured and his crews repaired the battered racer in time to qualify for the feature.

It will be a busy weekend coming up at Luxemburg Speedway. A regular racing program will take place on Friday night, July 11. On Sunday night, July 13 the final appearance of the season by the WISSOTA late models will take place, during the Razor 94.7 FM/Springborn Racing night at the track. Several giveaways are slated. In addition to WISSOTA late models, IMCA modifieds, IMCA stock cars and IMCA hobby stocks will compete. An earlier start time of 6:30 p.m. is scheduled. For more information call 920 863 8446. The track phone is 920 845 2300. The track website is



IMCA modified
40 lap feature – Brian Mullen, Seymour; Mike Mashl, De Pere; Todd Dart, Algoma; Ratajzcak, Frog Station; Benji LaCrosse, Luxemburg; Jeremy Jacobs, Kewaunee; Scott Mullen, Seymour; Dean Maurer, De Pere; Eugene Gregorich, Kewaunee; Robert Waechter, Kewaunee
10 lap semi-features – 1) LaCrosse; Randy Back, Green Bay; Jerry Muenster, Green Bay; Billy LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay 2) Jay Matthias, Luxemburg; Julie McDermid, Oconto Falls; Johnny Johnson, New Berlin; Dave Zeitler, Luxemburg 3) Gregorich; Scott Mullen; Mike Wedelstadt, Fremont; Chad Wilcox, Pulaski
10 lap heats 1)Mike Sandholm, East Troy; Randy LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay 2) Schraufnagel; Jared Siefert, Green Bay 3) Jacobs; Brian Mullen 4) Sean Jerovetz, Suamico; Mike Watson, Franklin 5) Ratajczak; Maurer

IMCA stock car
30 lap feature – Kyle Frederick, Gillett; Brian Bruechert, Kewaunee; Shawn Kilgore, Kewaunee; Brandon Czarapata, Pulaski; Rod Snellenberger, Pulaski; Jeremy Christians, Horicon; Shawn Wagner, Pulaski; Tim Van De Hei, Green Bay; Travis Van Straten, Hortonville; Jason Czarapata, Pulaski
10 lap semi-features – 1) Benji LaCrosse, Luxemburg; Brett Wenzel, Two Rivers; Dave Bouche, Algoma; Chris, Green Bay 2) Pat Davister, Luxemburg; Joe Lebotte, Kewaunee; Jamie Colwell, Greenleaf; Troy DeGrave, Green Bay 3) Tim Van De Hei, Green Bay; Charlie Kroll, Algoma; Jerry Wilinski, Seymour; Chris Christensen, Sturgeon Bay
10 lap heats 1) Brian Bruechert; Shawn Olson, Algoma 2) Snellenberger; Wagner 3) Frederick; Brandon Czarapata 4) Christians; Kilgore 5) Brian Techmeier, Green Bay; Van Straten

IMCA hobby stock
16 lap feature – Tony Schlei, Zion, IL; Dave Lane, Green Bay; Gregg Aregoni, Sturgeon Bay; Dan Davister, Luxemburg; Mike Mueller, Green Bay; Joe Hegnet, Sturgeon Bay
8 lap heats 1) Lane; Mueller 2) Brandon Peterson, Sturgeon Bay; Keith Kickbush, Kewaunee

Previous Post: Jerovetz Shades Mullen In Luxemburg IMCA Modified Feature!

Next Post: Springborn Scores In Luxemburg WISSOTA Late Model Go!