Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

Ostrowski Rules Luxemburg in EWSC Supermodified Scrum!

Posted under Race Reports on August 15th, 2003

By Joe Verdegan

August 15, 2003; Luxemburg, WI. – Milwaukee’s Pete Ostrowski took the lead on a lap 18 restart and fought off the tenacious duo of Barry Maas and Paul Pokorski in the final laps to collect the 30 lap EWSC supermodified feature at Luxemburg Speedway Friday night.

In IMCA modified action Seymour’s Scott Mullen fended off a late race challenge from his brother Brian to capture his first 25 lap feature of the season. Kewaunee’s Derrick Bruechert scored the biggest win of his young career, capturing the wire-to-wire 22 lap IMCA stock car feature for his first career victory.

A record 137 cars jammed the pit area. The large field included 40 IMCA modifieds, 41 IMCA stock cars, 22 EWSC supermodifieds, 14 IMCA hobby stocks and 19 sport fours.

Polesitter Chuck Tuschl skidded off the berm in turn three while leading the opening round of the 30 lap supermodified main event. The Reedsville veteran stood on the gas and rejoined the field, keeping the race green and handing the lead over to Robert Enders. The first amber flew on lap three when Gary Laack’s machine stalled in turn two. On the restart KenJay Fiedler ducked underneath Enders to take the lead, immediately building up a near full straightaway advantage in just a few short laps.

Fiedler’s big lead was wiped out on lap seven when Billy Hafeman spun in turn three, drawing another yellow. When racing resumed Ostrowski shuffled to the high side into the second spot and began working on Fiedler for the lead. Paul Pokorski, who started the contest 13th, sliced his way through the field into third by lap 10, creating a three car tussle for the lead. Fiedler looped his mount on lap 18, drawing the last yellow of the race.

With twelve laps remaining Barry Maas, who pitted under caution early in the race, stormed through the field into third, working past Pokorski with a few laps remaining. Ostrowski fended off both Maas and Pokorski to capture the win. Maas took second, followed by Pokorski, Terry Martens and Robert Enders.

Jared Siefert wrestled the lead away from Mike Klenz for the lead on the second lap of the IMCA modified feature, while Scott Mullen scooted into second position on lap four and passing Siefert on the outside for the lead on lap eight. Brian Mullen had battled his way from 11th into 4th by lap nine, and worked his way into third by lap 11.

By lap 12 Mullen had disposed of Siefert for second. A Benji Lacrosse spin on lap 14 tightened the field, and the Mullen’s pulled away on the restart and began waging their battle. Brian tried both the high and low lines in search of his 100th career modified win, but it would not happen as Scott Mullen collected the lion’s share of the purse, netting $1,000 for the victory. Brian Mullen, Dave Zeitler, Siefert and Todd Dart rounded out the top five finishers.

Bruechert passed Chris Christensen for the lead on lap two and kept all challengers at bay en route to his first career 22 lap IMCA stock car feature, which went green-to-checkered without a yellow.

Bruechert, who started outside of row two, maintained a comfortable advantage throughout the contest. Christensen settled for second in his best run of the year, followed by Mike Coel, Shawn Wagner and Tim Van De Hei.

Ed Anschutz captured his third 15 lap IMCA hobby stock feature, passing leaders Tony Schlei and Mike Mueller, who tangled while scrapping for the lead on the final lap. Denmark’s Todd Welsing won the 12 lap sport four feature, his third of the year.

Next Friday night’s racing program will be sponsored by the Rendezvous, with the street stock division running their final night of racing. IMCA modifieds, IMCA stock cars, IMCA hobby stocks and sport fours will also compete beginning at 7 p.m. For more information call 920 863 8446. The track phone number is 920 845 2300. The track’s website is


EWSC Super Modified
25 lap feature – Pete Ostrowski, Milwaukee; Barry Maas, Cascade; Paul Pokorski, West Bend; Terry Martens, Sheboygan Falls; Robert Enders, Kiel; Tony Wondra, West Bend; Craig Perko, Glenbeulah; Matt Van Wyk, Sheboygan Falls; Chuck Tuschl, Reedsville
12 lap semi-feature – Kris Hansen, Manitowoc; Pokorski; Martens; Wondra
10 lap heats 1) Gary Laack, Glenbeulah; Jay Schneider, Manitowoc 2) Maas; Tim McMullen, Plymouth 3) Perko; Brian Porschy, Oostburg

IMCA Modified
25 lap feature – Scott Mullen, Seymour; Brian Mullen, Seymour; Dave Zeitler, Luxemburg; Jared Siefert, Green Bay; Todd Dart, Algoma; Brad Rohloff, Pulaski
12 lap semi features – 1) Brad Rohloff, Pulaski; Sean Jerovetz, Suamico; Danny Deau, Little Suamico; Mike Mashl, De Pere 2) Jay Matthias, Luxemburg; Randy LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay; Scooter Boyea, Green Bay; Jeremy Hodkiewicz, Shawano
10 lap heats 1) Mike Klenz, Sobieski; Eddie Muenster, Green Bay 2) Jared Siefert; Art Siefert, Green Bay 3) Zeitler; Dave Charles, De Pere 4) Robert Waechter, Ellisville; RM Van Pay, Green Bay

IMCA Stock Car
22 lap feature – Derrick Bruechert, Kewaunee; Chris Christensen, Carlsville; Mike Coel, Pulaski; Shawn Wagner, Pulaski; Brett Wenzel, Two Rivers; Jeremy Christians, Horicon
12 lap semi features – 1) Travis Van Straten, Hortonville; Brian Bruechert, Kewaunee; Pat Davister, Luxemburg; Rod Snellenberger, Pulaski 2) Jason Czarapata, Pulaski; Tim Van De Hei, Green Bay; Shawn Olson, Algoma; Laurel Ettien, Luxemburg
10 lap heats 1) Larry Ingebretsen, Luxemburg; Joe Lebotte, Kewaunee 2) Christensen; Derrick Bruechert 3) Dave Davister, Luxemburg; Coel 4) Wagner; Jamie Colwell, Greenleaf

IMCA Hobby Stock
15 lap feature – Ed Anschutz, Algoma; Joe Hegnet, Sturgeon Bay; Derek Moede, Casco; Marcus Moede, Casco; Keith Kickbush, Kewaunee; Evan Madden, Algoma
10 lap heats 1) Ryan LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay; Maynard Hegnet, Sturgeon Bay 2) Derek Moede; Mike Mueller, Green Bay

Sport Four
12 lap feature – Todd Welsing, Denmark; Jasper Drengler, Shawano; Jeff Kropp, Seymour; Marty Van De Hei, Seymour; Tim Peer, Green Bay
8 lap heats 1) Welsing; Drengler 2) Kenny Malcore, Algoma; Greg Banker, Black Creek

Previous Post: Mullen Captures 99th Career IMCA Mod Feature Win at Luxemburg!

Next Post: Dart Captures Luxemburg IMCA Mod Feature!