Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

Billy LeMieux Sweeps Luxemburg IMCA Mod Action!

Posted under Race Reports on July 30th, 2004

By Joe Verdegan

July 30, 2004; Luxemburg, WI. – Sturgeon Bay’s Billy “The Kid” LeMieux led all 25 laps en route to his first IMCA modified feature win at Luxemburg Speedway Friday night. LeMieux’s heat win also netted him a sweep for the evening.

A total of 31 IMCA modifieds were on hand, along with 32 IMCA stock cars, 24 street stocks, 17 IMCA hobby stocks and 20 sport fours.

LeMieux shot from the pole position into the lead and kept a five car length length lead up until lap 10, when a yellow tightened up the field after RM Van Pay had a fire ignite under the hood. The blaze was extinguished and the five time track champion escaped injury.

When racing resumed second place Todd Dart stepped up to challenge LeMieux on the low side, while LeMieux threw his car up on the tacky, high groove. A lap 23 Dan Ratajczak spin set up a two lap dash to the finish. LeMieux was never headed as he picked up his first feature win of the season. Trailing at the checkers were Scott Mullen, who caught Dart on the final lap for second. Dart, Doug Maurer and Jay Matthias.

Kewaunee’s Shawn Kilgore held off arch rival Rod Snellenberger in the closing laps to capture his sixth 22 lap IMCA stock car feature of the season.

Brian Bruechert wrestled the lead away from Larry Ingebretsen to take the lead on lap five and slowly broke away from the field. Bruechert’s big lead was wiped out on lap 12 when Chris Van Iten spun in turn four, drawing a caution. When racing resumed Laurel Ettien and Pat Davister tangled in turn four three laps later. Following another yellow one circuit later Kilgore took the lead with six laps to go.

Snellenberger tried every trick in the book to get past Kilgore but it wasn’t meant to be as Kilgore won his 11th feature of the season of area ovals. Snellenberger took second, followed by Bruechert, Greg Gretz and Travis Van Straten.

Harley Simon of Seymour took the lead away from Doug Morgan on the opening lap and cruised to a full straightaway victory in the 20 lap street stock feature, his first of the year in the caution free event. Simon successfully dodged his way through lapped cars en route to victory. Scott Reinhardt crossed the line second, followed by Darren Otto, Von Echenson and Thom Therrien.

Algoma’s Ed Anschutz won his fourth IMCA hobby stock feature of the season, which went green to checkered. Trailing Anschutz at the checkers were Tony Schlei, Keith Kickbush, Dave Lane and Tom Brumlic.

Jasper Drengler won the 15 lap sport four feature.

.Next Friday night, August 6 the third annual Luxemburg Legends night will take place sponsored by Oldies 103.1 FM WOGB. More than one dozen restored coupes, winged modifieds and sportsman cars will be on display. Retired drivers spanning four decades will be honored at intermission and many will take part in a pair of legends races at the conclusion of the regular program.

For more information call 920 863 8446. The track phone number is 920 845 2300. The track’s website is


25 lap IMCA modified feature – Billy LeMieux, Sturgoeon Bay; Scott Mullen, Seymour; Todd Dart, Algoma; Doug Maurer, De Pere; Jay Matthias, Luxemburg; Jeremy Jacobs, Algoma

12 lap semi feature – 1st) Tim Van De Hei, Green Bay; Eric Van Iten, Green Bay; Benji LaCrosse, Luxemburg; James Tebon, Algoma 2) Danny Deau, Little Suamico; Scooter Boyea, Abrams; Lucas Engels, Casco; Rick Mott, Larabee

10 lap heats 1) Dart; Jacobs 2) Bill LeMieux; Bob Waechter, Ellisville 3) Jared Siefert, Green Bay; Dan Ratajczak, Frog Station 4) Maurer; Matthias

22 lap IMCA stock car feature – Shawn Kilgore, Kewaunee; Rod Snellenberger, Pulaski; Brian Bruechert, Kewaunee; Greg Gretz, Kewaunee; Travis Van Straten, Hortonville; Jeff Vlies, Algoma

12 lap semi features – 1) Kyle Frederick, Gillett; Pat Davister, Luxemburg; George Gerbers, Little Suamico; Derrick Bruechert, Kewaunee 2) Craig Paque, Algoma; Brandon Mindak, Casco; Tony Bouche, Algoma; Dave Davister, Luxemburg

10 lap heats 1) Rick Mahlberg, Denmark; Larry Ingebretsen, Luxemburg 2) Chris Van Iten, Green Bay; Troy DeGrave, Green Bay 3) Snellenberger; Shawn Havel, Brussels 4) Brian Bruechert; Kilgore

20 lap street stock feature – Harley Simon, Seymour; Scott Reinhardt, Baileys Harbor; Darren Otto, Pulaski; Von Echenson, Forestville; Thom Therrien, Green Bay; Jerry Winkler, Oshkosh

12 lap semi-feature 1) Dave Baenen, New Franken; Brian Koch, Freedom; Rick Naparella, Pulaski; Brian Ambrosius, Pulaski

10 lap heats 1) Doug Morgan, Kewaunee; Simon 2)Dave Davister, Luxemburg; Mike Pierrard, Green Bay 3) Reinhardt; Echenson

20 lap IMCA hobby stock feature – Ed Anschutz, Algoma; Tony Schlei, Zion, IL; Keith Kickbush, Kewaunee; Dave Lane,
Green Bay; Tom Brumlic, Denmark, Mike Mueller, Green Bay

10 lap heats 1) Mueller; Kickbush 2) Lane; Anschutz

15 lap sport four feature – Jasper Drengler, Shawano; Greg Banker, Bonduel; Rick Cleven, Seymour; Kenny Malcore, Algoma; Greg Gawrylnski, Green Bay; DJ Jorgenson, Freedom

8 lap heats 1) Bruce Sand, Two Rivers; Drengler 2) Banker; Jorgensen

Previous Post: Shryock Masters Luxemburg USMTS Mod Main!

Next Post: Hometown Ace LaCrosse Sweeps Luxemburg IMCA Mods!