Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

Dart Dails In Luxemburg IMCA Modified Feature!

Posted under Race Reports on May 7th, 2004

By Joe Verdegan

May 7, 2004; Luxemburg, WI. – Algoma’s Todd “Felix” Dart led wire-to-wire and survived late race challenges from Scott Mullen and Jared Siefert to win the 25 lap IMCA modified feature at Luxemburg Speedway Friday night.

An opening night record 132 cars were on hand. The field included 38 IMCA modifieds, 38 IMCA stock cars, 17 IMCA hobby stocks, 21 street stocks and 18 sport fours.

Dart outraced Siefert into the lead early when an Eric Van Iten spin drew a lap three amber. Dart kept the lead on the restart with Jeremy Hedrick squeezing past Siefert for second. Hedrick followed Dart’s tire tracks on the track’s outside line. The duo pulled away from Siefert when Jay Matthias looped his mount in turn four, drawing a caution on lap 12.

With 13 laps remaining Siefert reclaimed the second spot and began pressuring Dart. With the laps winding down, Seymour’s Mullen broke through traffic and caught the pair, making a three car scrum for the lead in the final five laps. A Paul Thorpe spin on lap 22 set up a three lap dash to the finish. Mullen snuck by Siefert on the restart to take second. Dart hung on for the victory. Mullen, Siefert, Hedrick and Eric Scribner rounded out the top five finishers. Benji LaCrosse mounted a late race surge and
placed sixth after starting at the back of the field, qualifying for the feature through one of two consolation races.

Defending track champion Brandon Czarapata of Horicon took the lead on lap five and built up a sizeable lead en route to victory in the 22 lap IMCA stock car feature.

Second row starters Kyle Frederick and Czarapata wrestled the lead from front row starters Junior Karcz and Travis Van Straten in the early laps of the contest. Czarapata pulled away for the lead on lap five when a lap six caution flew when Van Straten and Karcz tangled in turn four.

On the restart Czarapata maintained his margin, building the cushion to nearly a full straightaway by lap 13. Algoma’s Craig Paque charged through the field from his eighth starting spot and rode into second using the high line. But the Algoma driver ran out of time as Czarapata hung on for the opening night feature. Paque fought off a late race charge from Jason Czarapata, nipping him at the checkers for second. Frederick and Dave Bouche placed fourth and fifth, respectively.

Hometown driver Fred Davister survived several caution periods to win the 18 lap street stock feature. Davister also won his heat, scoring the clean sweep. Darren Otto scored second on a last lap pass of Doug Morgan for second. Morgan held on for third, followed by Aaron Thornton and Von Echenson.

The event was marred when Eric Arnenson and Dave Baenen collided head on on the fronstretch in heavy traffic. Neither driver was hurt but both cars sustained heavy front end damage.

Denmark’s Tom Brumlic celebrated his return to racing at Luxemburg after several years with a win in the 15 lap IMCA hobby stock feature. Defending champion Keith Kickbush, Evan Madden, Dan Davister and Joe Hegnet trailed.

Black Creek’s Greg Banker took the lead on a restart with two laps remaining and captured the 15 lap sport four feature.

Racing resumes next Friday night at 7 p.m with Woody’s Signs night. For more information call 920 863 8446. The track phone number is 920 845 2300. The track’s website is


IMCA modified

25 lap feature – Todd Dart, Algoma; Scott Mullen, Seymour; Jared Siefert, Green Bay; Jeremy Hedrick, Shawano; Eric Scribner, Kiel; Benji LaCrosse, Luxemburg

12 lap semi features – 1st) LaCrosse; Dan Ratajczak, Frog Station; Billy LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay; Mike Cole, Baileys Harbor 2nd) Sean Jerovetz, Suamico; Chris Derenne, Luxemburg; Mike Klenz, Sobieski; Jerry Muenster, Green Bay

10 lap heats 1) Eric Van Iten, Green Bay; Dart 2) Mullen; Jeremy Jacobs, Kewaunee 3) Jay Matthias, Luxemburg; Siefert 4)Dave Fischer, Green Bay; Robert Waechter, Ellisville

IMCA stock car

22 lap feature – Brandon Czarapata, Horicon; Craig Paque, Algoma; Jason Czarapata, Pulaski; Kyle Frederick, Gillett; Dave Bouche, Algoma; Jeremy Christians, Horicon

12 lap semi features – 1) Jeff Vlies, Brussels; Shannon Volkman, Shiocton; Laurel Ettien, Luxemburg; Brian Bruechert, Kewaunee 2) Greg Gretz, Kewaunee; George Gerbers, Little Suamico; Chris Van Iten, Green Bay; Mark Reinhardt, Luxemburg

10 lap heats 1) Bouche; Shawn Wagner, Pulaski 2) Brandon Czarapata; Charlie Kroll, Algoma 3) Jason Czarapata; Brian Karcz, Pulaski 4) Junior Karcz, Pulaski; Travis Van Straten, Hortonville

IMCA hobby stock

18 lap feature – Tom Brumlic, Denmark; Keith Kickbush, Kewaunee; Evan Madden, Algoma; Dave Davister, Luxemburg; Joe Hegnet, Sturgeon Bay; Tony Schlei, Zion, Il

10 lap heats 1) Schlei; Ed Anschutz, Algoma 2) Kickbush; Brumlic

street stock

18 lap feature – Fred Davister, Luxemburg; Darren Otto, Pulaski; Doug Morgan, Kewaunee; Aaron Thornton, Sturgeon Bay; Von Echenson, Forestville; Brian Ambrosius, Pulaski

10 lap heats 1) Davister; Ambrosius, 2) Thornton; Bernie Reinhardt, Baileys Harbor

sport four

15 lap feature -Greg Banker, Black Creek; Kenny Malcore, Algoma; Jason Henrickson, Two Rivers; Tyler Smith, Luxemburg; Todd Welsing, Denmark; DJ Jorgenson, Oneida

8 lap heats 1) Malcore; Don Mahlberg, Green Bay 2) Smith; Henrickson

Previous Post: LaCrosse Lands in Luxemburg Victory Lane!

Next Post: Van Pay, Kilgore Sweep Luxemburg IMCA Action!