Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

Hometown Ace LaCrosse Sweeps Luxemburg IMCA Mods!

Posted under Race Reports on August 6th, 2004

By Joe Verdegan

August 6, 2004; Luxemburg, WI. – Luxemburg’s Benji LaCrosse executed a five wide pass for the lead on lap two and collected his first 25 lap IMCA modified feature win at Luxemburg Speedway Friday night. LaCrosse also won his heat sweeping the division for the evening.

A total of 33 IMCA modifieds were on hand, along with 30 IMCA stock cars, 16 IMCA hobby stocks and 16 sport fours.

LaCrosse took the high line in a five wide pass on leader Dave Zeitler in turn four to take the lead on lap two, quickly building up a five car length lead. Sean Jerovetz scampered past Zeitler for second on lap seven and tried reeling in LaCrosse. LaCrosse was too tough as he kept Jerovetz at bay to win his first feature flag of the season at Luxemburg. Jerovetz took second, followed by Tim Van De Hei points leader Scott Mullen and Eric Van Iten.

Kewaunee’s Brian Bruechert swept action in the IMCA stock car division, winning his heat and holding off a late charge from Kyle Frederick to win his first 22 lap feature of the season.

Bruechert sprinted into the lead at the drop of the green with Frederick trailing. Frederick nudged inside of Bruechert to take the lead on lap nine. A yellow flew on that same lap when Greg Gretz and points leader Shawn Kilgore tangled in turn four.

When racing resumed Bruechert retained the lead with Frederick and Van Straten on his tail. The trio ran nose-to-tail for the next several laps, hugging the low groove. With three laps remaining Frederick tried the high line, the two racer actually tying on lap 24. Bruechert edged out Frederick by mere feet. Frederick took a close second, followed by Van Straten, Jason Czarapata and Jamie Colwell.

Denmark’s Tom Brumlic fended off a stiff challenge from rival Tony Schlei to capture his fourth 18 lap IMCA hobby stock feature. Schlei took second, followed by Keith Kickbush, Derek Moede and Ed Anschutz rounded out the top five finishers.

DJ Jorgenson of Freedom won the 15 lap sport four feature.

Victory Vinyl of Little Suamico will sponsor next Friday’s action which begins at 7 p.m. For more information call 920 863 8446. The track phone number is 920 845 2300. The track’s website is


25 lap IMCA modified feature – Benji LaCrosse, Luxemburg; Sean Jerovetz, Little Suamico; Tim Van De Hei, Green Bay; Scott Mullen, Seymour; Eric Van Iten, Green Bay; Jared Siefert, Green Bay

12 lap semi features – 1st) Chad Wilcox, Pulaski; Randy LeMieux Jr., Sturgeon Bay; Danny Deau, Little Suamico; Bill LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay 2nd) Doug Maurer, De Pere; Chris Derenne, Luxemburg; Chad Bartel, Shiocton; Kevin Sternard, Sturgeon Bay

10 lap heats 1) Mike Klenz, Sobieski; Van Iten 2) James Tebon, Algoma; Bob Waechter, Ellisville 3)LaCrosse; Jared Siefert, Green Bay 4) Van De Hei; RM Van Pay, Green Bay

22 lap IMCA stock car feature – Brian Bruechert, Kewaunee; Kyle Frederick, Gillett; Travis Van Straten, Hortonville; Jason Czarapata, Pulaski; Jamie Colwell, Greenleaf; Rod Snellenberger, Pulaski

12 lap semi features – 1) Dave Davister, Luxemburg; Mark Derenne, Luxemburg; Corey Suchoski, Bolt; Kraig Gretz, Kewaunee 2) Dave Bouche, Algoma; Pat Davister, Luxemburg; Eric Malfroid, Luxemburg; Brandon Mindak, Casco

10 lap heats 1) Frederick; Jeff Vlies, Kewaunee 2) Snellenberger; Shawn Kilgore, Kewaunee 3) Greg Gretz, Kewaunee; Charlie Kroll, Forestville 4) Bruechert; Czarapata

20 lap IMCA hobby stock feature – Tom Brumlic, Denmark; Tony Schlei, Zion, IL; Keith Kickbush, Kewaunee; Ed Anschutz, Algoma; Marcus Moede, Casco

10 lap heats 1) Derek Moede, Casco; Dave DeGrave, Luxemburg 2) Ed Anschutz; Mike Mueller, Green Bay

15 lap sport four feature – DJ Jorgenson, Freedom; Greg Banker, Bonduel; Todd Welsing, Denmark; Tyler Smith, Luxemburg; Tim Jorgenson, Luxemburg; Ben Daoust, Seymour

8 lap heats 1) Banker; Welsing 2) Bruce Sand, Two Rivers; Jorgenson

Legends race winners 1) Al Snellenberger, Pulaski (in Chad Wilcox’s IMCA mod) 2) Randy Theys, Algoma (in Jay Matthias’ IMCA mod) 3) Ron DePrey, Luxemburg (in Joe Hegnet’s IMCA hobby stock) 4) Al Snellenberger (in Rod Snellenberger’s IMCA stock car)

Previous Post: Billy LeMieux Sweeps Luxemburg IMCA Mod Action!

Next Post: Rookie Van De Hei Sweeps Luxemburg IMCA Mod Action!