Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

Jason Czarapata Captures Luxemburg IMCA Stock Car Special!

Posted under Race Reports on July 2nd, 2004

By Joe Verdegan

July 2, 2004; Luxemburg, WI. – Pulaski’s Jason Czarapata took the lead on lap twenty six and kept the lead through a late race caution to win the 30 lap IMCA stock car feature at Luxemburg Speedway Friday night. The race saw no less than four different leaders within the final thirteen laps of the contest.

A total of 36 IMCA modifieds were on hand, along with 33 IMCA stock cars, 15 IMCA hobby stocks and nine 141 hobby stocks, who were making a guest appearance on the dirt for the first time ever.

The IMCA stock car finale started twenty two machines with front row sitter Pat Davister taking an early lead and keeping that spot with Charlie Kroll keeping the leader within striking distance through lap fifteen. Kroll was glued to Davister’s rear bumper by lap sixteen and muscled his way underneath Davister for the lead on lap 17. Brian Bruechert rode the high line into second one lap later and passed Kroll for the lead on lap 21.

Czarapata, who started seventh, ran fourth through the race’s early going and sprinted into second on lap twenty five, wrestling the lead away from Bruechert on lap 26.

Mike Weitor’s racer stalled on the frontstretch on lap twenty seven, drawing a yellow and setting up a three lap dash to the finish. Czarapata was never headed as he took home the $800 prize. Craig Paque, Bruechert, Brandon Czarapata and Kroll rounded out the top five finishers.

Hometown driver Dave Zeitler of Luxemburg took the lead on lap nine and fought off former track champion RM Van Pay to win his first 25 lap IMCA modified feature of the season. Zeitler became the sixth different winner in as many weeks of racing.

Front row starters Dave Fischer and Paul Thorpe swapped the lead for the first three circuits of the 25 lap contest. On lap four Zeitler joined the pair and the duo went three wide for the next three laps, trading the lead. Zeitler took the lead for good, running the low groove on lap nine. Van Pay had moved from 11th to fourth in the first ten laps. A yellow flew for Dave Fischer, who looped his mount on the frontstretch on lap 13.

On the restart Van Pay motored past Wilcox for second and began chasing down Zeitler. Zeitler kept his racer high while Van Pay hugged the inside line. Zeitler was up for the challenge, capturing the win. Van Pay battled a late race surge from Dan Ratajczak to take second, followed by Ratajczak, Sean Jerovetz and Chad Wilcox.

Algoma’s Ed Anschutz captured the 20 lap IMCA hobby stock feature while Green Bay’s Pete Kumbalek won the special 15 lap race for 141 Speedway hobby stocks.

. Next Friday night Concrete Finishers will sponsor the racing action, which will mark the third appearance of the season for the street stocks. IMCA modifieds, IMCA stock cars, IMCA hobby stocks and sport fours will also compete beginning at 7 p.m.

On Sunday, July 11, the Springborn/Razor 94.7 FM 40 will mark the first appearance of the late models for 2004. A full points night of racing in the IMCA modified, IMCA stock car and IMCA hobby stocks will take place. For more information call 920 863 8446. The track phone number is 920 845 2300. The track’s website is


30 lap IMCA stock car feature – Jason Czarapata, Pulaski; Craig Paque, Algoma; Brian Bruechert, Kewaunee; Brandon Czarapata, Horicon; Charlie Kroll, Forestville; Kyle Frederick, Gillett

12 lap semi features – 1) Travis Van Straten, Hortonville; Dave Davister, Luxemburg; Brett Wenzel, Two Rivers; Dave Bouche, Algoma 2) Laurel Ettien, Luxemburg; Rod Snellenberger, Pulaski; Shawn Wagner, Pulaski; Brandon Mindak, Casco

10 lap heats 1) Pat Davister, Luxemburg; Troy DeGrave, Green Bay 2) Rod Snellenberger, Pulaski; Bruechert 3) Jason Czarapata; Corey Suchoski, Luxemburg 4) Kroll; Brandon Czarapata

25 lap IMCA modified feature – Dave Zeitler, Luxemburg; RM Van Pay, Green Bay; Dan Ratajczak, Frog Station; Sean Jerovetz, Suamico; Chad Wilcox, Pulaski; Scott Mullen, Seymour

10 lap semi features – 1st) Jeremy Jacobs, Algoma; Mike Klenz, Sobieski; Shannon Ninham, Seymour; Mike Cole, Baileys Harbor 2nd) Todd Dart, Algoma; Danny Deau, Little Suamico; Jeremy Hedrick, Keshena; Jay Matthias, Luxemburg

10 lap heats 1) Mullen; Paul Thorpe, New London 2) Wilcox; Zeitler 3) Chris Derenne, Luxemburg; Brad Rohloff, Pulaski 4) Dave Fischer, Green Bay; Van Pay

20 lap IMCA hobby stock feature – Ed Anschutz, Algoma; Keith Kickbush, Kewaunee; Tony Schlei, Zion, Ill; Tom Brumlic, Denmark; Dave DeGrave, Luxemburg; Marcus Moede, Casco

10 lap heats 1) Moede; Brumlic 2) Dave Lane, Green Bay; Dan Davister, Luxemburg

141 hobby stocks 15 lap feature – Pete Kumbalek, Green Bay; Jason Behnke, Brillion; Brett Koehler, Two Rivers; Paul Ray, Kewaunee; Jesse Behnke, Brillion; Greg Thompson, Denmark

10 lap heats 1) Thompson; Koehler

Previous Post: Maurer Scores Luxemburg IMCA Mod Thriller!

Next Post: Springborn Caps Hat Trick Weekend With Luxemburg LM Feature Win!