Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

Rookie Van De Hei Sweeps Luxemburg IMCA Mod Action!

Posted under Race Reports on August 13th, 2004

By Joe Verdegan

August 13, 2004; Luxemburg, WI. – Green Bay rookie Tim Van De Hei took the lead on a lap five restart and survived several caution periods to win his first 25 lap IMCA modified feature at Luxemburg Speedway Friday night. Van De Hei’s heat win also netted him a sweep for the evening.

A total of 38 IMCA modifieds were on hand, along with 29 IMCA stock cars, 17 IMCA hobby stocks and 19 sport fours.

Rookie James Tebon paced the opening two circuits of the IMCA modified main when Scott Mullen and Brad Rohloff tangled in turn one, drawing a lap two yellow. When racing resumed Tebon kept the lead, with the points leader Mullen rejoining the field at the tail. Van De Hei muscled his way into second when a three car tangle involving Chad Wilcox, Jeremy Hodkiewicz and Doug Maurer occurred on lap five, tightening the field again.

On the restart Van De Hei snuck underneath Tebon for the lead, and quickly went to work building a comfortable lead over the rest of the field. A Brian Drexler spin on lap 11 bunched the field again, with Randy LeMieux Jr. passing Tebon for second on the restart. Van De Hei kept his nose clean the rest of the way to record his first feature flag of 2004. LeMieux held off Todd Dart for second. Tebon posted his best finish of the year with a fourth while Dan Ratajczak placed fifth, coming from deep in the field after winning one of two semi-features. Mullen battled back to an eighth place finish, padding his points lead.

Rod Snellenberger of Pulaski came out on top of a race-long dogfight with Greg Gretz and Shawn Kilgore to win his second 22 lap IMCA stock car feature of the season.

Rookie Shawn Havel grabbed the early lead from the pole and kept the lead until Snellenberger ducked underneath for the top spot on lap 10. Gretz and Kilgore methodically sliced their way through the field, catching Snellenberger by lap 15. The three waged a fierce challenge for the lead. As the white flag was displayed Gretz car clipped an infield tire, sending his car into a spin on the frontstretch. The caution was thrown after the white had already been displayed. Per IMCA rules, the race was called complete with Snellenberger winning. Points leader Kilgore took second, followed by Laurel Ettien, Pat Davister and Havel.

Zion, Illinois’ Tony Schlei fended off a fast-closing Tom Brumlic to win his third 18 lap IMCA hobby stock feature. Brumlic, Keith Kickbush, Ed Anschutz and Derek Moede followed in the caution free contest.

Algoma’s Kenny Malcore survived a race-long battle with Todd Welsing to capture his second 18 lap , caution-free sport four feature of the season.

. Next Friday night, August 20 the races will be sponsored by the Rendezvous of Luxemburg. The street stocks will make their fifth and final appearance of the season. Powder Puff races will also be held. For more information call 920 863 8446. The track phone number is 920 845 2300. The track’s website is


25 lap IMCA modified feature – Tim Van De Hei, Green Bay; Randy LeMieux, Jr., Sturgeon Bay; Todd Dart, Algoma; James Tebon, Algoma; Dan Ratajczak, Frog Station; RM Van Pay, Green Bay

12 lap semi features – 1st) Danny Deau, Little Suamico; Chad Wilcox, Pulaski; Brad Rohloff, Pulaski; Lance Arnenson, Krakow 2nd) Ratajczak; Jeremy Hodkiewicz, Green Bay; Brian Drexler, Oshkosh; Dave Maurer, De Pere

10 lap heats 1) Dave Zeitler, Luxemburg; Jared Siefert, Green Bay 2) Scott Derenne, Luxemburg; Scott Mullen, Seymour 3) Billy LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay; Joe White, Oconto Falls 4) Van De Hei; Tebon

22 lap IMCA stock car feature – Rod Snellenberger, Pulaski; Shawn Kilgore, Kewaunee; Laurel Ettien, Luxemburg; Pat Davister, Luxemburg; Shawn Havel, Brussels; Travis Van Straten, Hortonville

12 lap semi features – 1) Craig Paque, Algoma; Dave Davister, Luxemburg; Kyle Frederick, Gillett; Troy DeGrave, Green Bay 2) Jeff Vlies, Kewaunee; Corey Suchoski, Bolt; Derrick Bruechert, Kewaunee; Charlie Kroll, Algoma

10 lap heats 1) Kilgore; Dave Bouche, Algoma 2) Ettien; Jamie Colwell, Greenleaf 3) Larry Ingebretsen, Luxemburg; Mike Weitor, Green Bay 4) Greg Gretz, Kewaunee; Havel

20 lap IMCA hobby stock feature – Tony Schlei, Zion, IL; Tom Brumlic, Denmark; Keith Kickbush, Kewaunee; Ed Anschutz, Algoma; Derek Moede, Casco; Evan Madden, Algoma

10 lap heats 1) Moede; Madden 2) Duane Mertens, Luxemburg; Mike Mueller, Green Bay

15 lap sport four feature – Kenny Malcore, Algoma; Todd Welsing, Denmark; Greg Banker, Bonduel; Tim Jorgenson, Oneida; Ben Daoust, Seymour; DJ Jorgenson, Oneida

8 lap heats 1) Bruce Sand, Two Rivers; Jim Roffers, De Pere 2) Tim Jorgenson; Daoust

Previous Post: Hometown Ace LaCrosse Sweeps Luxemburg IMCA Mods!

Next Post: LaCrosse Sweeps Luxemburg IMCA Modified Action!