Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

Shryock Masters Luxemburg USMTS Mod Main!

Posted under Race Reports on July 19th, 2004

By Joe Verdegan

July 19, 2004; Luxemburg, WI. – Fertile, Iowa’s Kelly Shryock took the lead on lap three and threaded his way through lapped traffic to win the caution-free 40 lap United States Modified Touring Series (USMTS) modified feature at Luxemburg Speedway Monday night.

A total of 37 USMTS modifieds were on hand, along with 32 stock cars and 16 hobby stocks.

Fremont’s Julie McDermid sped from the pole into the lead at the drop of the green during the 40 lap contest. The series points leader checked out quickly after driving around McDermid on lap three, with series regulars Jason Hughes and Brad McEwan in tow. Shryock began encountering lapped cars by the event’s mid-point, with local late model ace Pete Parker and defending track champion Brian Mullen battling with Sean Jerovetz for fourth.

Shryock cruised to victory, dodging the lapped cars with Hughes and McEwan taking second and third, respectively. Parker finished a stout fourth with Mullen rounding out the top five finishers. 24 of the 25 cars that started the event finished the race, which went without a caution.

Kewaunee’s Greg Gretz inherited the lead when Brian Bruechert and Jeremy Christians took each other out while battling for the lead on the final lap and won the 22 lap caution free IMCA stock car feature, his first of the season.

Bruechert jumped into the lead from the front row and quickly drew himself into a battle with Jeremy Christians for the lead by lap five. Christians took the lead on the outisde line by lap seven and the pair battled side-by-side for the next several laps. By lap 14 Gretz, who was running third, took the low line as the trio ran three-wide the next several laps, trading the lead on several occasions.

On the final circuit Bruechert and Christians tangled, handing the lead for good to Gretz, who coasted to victory. Kyle Frederick, Shawn Kilgore, Rod Snellenberger and Dave Bouche placed second through fifth, respectively.

The hobby stock feature was rained out.

There will be no racing Friday, July 23 due to the Kewaunee County Fair. Racing will resume Friday night, July 30 for the Lou’s One Stop/McDonald’s kid’s coin toss. A full program is on tap with the addition of the street stocks, who will be making their fourth appearance of the season. For more information call 920 863 8446. The track phone number is 920 845 2300. The track’s website is


40 lap USMTS modified feature – Kelly Shryock, Fertile, Iowa; Jason Hughes, Colcord, OK; Brad McEwan, Storm Lake, Iowa; Pete Parker, Kaukauna; Brian Mullen, Seymour; Sean Jerovetz, Suamico; Mike Mashl, De Pere; Mike Sandholm, Oconomowoc; Todd Dart, Algoma; Jon Tesch, Watertown, SD; Wade Schutt, Shawano; Benji LaCrosse, Luxemburg; Jared Seifert, Green Bay; Julie McDermid, Fremont; Joe McGrath, Neosho; RM Van Pay, Green Bay; Jay Matthias, De Pere; Mark Noble, Blooming Prairie, MN; Jeremy Jacobs, Kewaunee; Scott Mullen, Seymour; Doug Maurer, De Pere; Tim Van De Hei, Green Bay; Mike Wedelstadt, Fremont; Dan Ratajczak, Frog Station; Jay Schraufnagel, Beaver Dam

12 lap semi features – 1st) McGrath; Van De Hei; Dart; Jacobs; 2nd) Sandholm; Siefert; Ratajczak; Doug Maurer

10 lap heats 1) Julie McDermid, Fremont; Kelly Shryock, Fertile, Iowa 2) Jason Hughes, Colcord, OK; McEwan 3) Schutt; Mashl 4) Tesch; Jerovetz

22 lap stock car feature – Greg Gretz, Kewaunee; Kyle Frederick, Gillett; Shawn Kilgore, Kewaunee; Rod Snellenberger, Pulaski; Dave Bouche, Algoma; Junior Karcz, Pulaski

10 lap semi features – 1) Rick Mahlberg, Denmark; Brandon Czarapata, Horicon; Mike Weitor, Green Bay; Todd Vlies, Brussels 2) Chris Van Iten, Green Bay; Ben Kroll, Luxemburg; Bernie Reinhardt, Fish Creek; Kraig Gretz, Kewaunee

10 lap heats 1) Kilgore; Gretz 2) Pat Davister, Luxemburg; Brian Bruechert, Kewaunee 3) Bouche; Troy DeGrave, Green Bay 4) Snellenberger; Frederick

15 lap hobby stock feature – Rained out

10 lap heats 1) Derek Moede, Casco; John Mahlberg, Denmark 2) Ed Anschutz, Algoma; Dave DeGrave, Luxemburg

Previous Post: Van Iten Sweeps Luxemburg IMCA Mod Action!

Next Post: Billy LeMieux Sweeps Luxemburg IMCA Mod Action!