Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

Van Pay, Kilgore Sweep Luxemburg IMCA Action!

Posted under Race Reports on May 28th, 2004

By Joe Verdegan

May 28, 2004; Luxemburg, WI. – Former track champion RM Van Pay of Green Bay ducked underneath race leader Chad Wilcox of Pulaski on a lap three restart and survived several caution periods to capture the 25 lap IMCA modified feature at Luxemburg Speedway Friday night. Van Pay also won his heat race, scoring the clean sweep.

Shawn Kilgore of Kewaunee matched Van Pay’s accomplishments, copping his heat and winning the 22 lap IMCA stock car feature by a full straightaway in a race that went green-to-checkered without a caution.

A total of 115 cars registered to do battle, including 39 IMCA modifieds, 39 IMCA stock cars, 18 IMCA hobby stocks and 19 sport fours.

Polesitter Wilcox led the first three laps of the IMCA main until Benji LaCrosse’s racer stalled, drawing an amber on lap three. Van Pay, who started inside of row three, slipped underneath Wilcox for the lead on the restart. Van Pay pulled away to a full straightaway lead until a yellow flew on lap 10 for debris.

Van Pay maintained his lead through three more caution periods within the next 12 laps, one of which involved a tangle involving defending track champion Brian Mullen and Eric Van Iten, who were battling for sixth place at the time. Both were sent to the tail of the field.

On the restart with three laps remaining Van Pay kept his foes at bay and went on to collect his first feature flag of the year.
Trailing Van Pay at the checkers were Randy Back, Mike Cole, Jay Matthias and Dan Ratajczak, who sliced his way through the field from 15th.

Kilgore sprinted from his pole position into the lead and never looked back in the IMCA stock car main, quickly building up a full straightaway lead over the pack that he maintained throughout the event. Hortonville’s Travis Van Straten executed a three wide, last lap pass to take second at the line over Craig Paque and Laurel Ettien. Van Straten marched through the pack from his 16th starting spot. Matt Junio rounded out the top five finishers.

Zion, Illinois’ Tony Schlei passed Ed Anschutz with three laps remaining to win his first 18 lap IMCA hobby stock feature. Anschutz took second, followed by Tom Brumlic, Marcus Moede and Dave Serrahn, who posted his best career finish.

Hometown rookie Tyler Smith drove to victory on the 13 lap sport four feature, which was marred by three separate rollover incidents. Trailing Smith at the line were Greg Gawryleski, Kenny Malcore, and Gary Novitski.

Next Friday night’s program will be sponsored by Triangle Distributing and Miller Beer. The street stocks will also make their second appearance of the season. For more information call 920 863 8446. The track phone number is 920 845 2300. The track’s website is


25 lap IMCA modified feature – RM Van Pay, Green Bay; Randy Back, Green Bay; Mike Cole, Baileys Harbor; Jay Matthias, Luxemburg; Dan Ratajczak, Frog Station; Chad Wilcox, Pulaski

12 lap semi features – 1) Brian Mullen, Seymour; Jared Siefert, Green Bay; Todd Dart, Algoma; Sean Jerovetz, Suamico 2) Jeremy Hodkiewicz, Shawano; Bob Waechter, Ellisville; Bill LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay; Scott Derenne, Luxemburg

10 lap heats 1) Van Pay; Dave Zeitler, Luxemburg 2) Wilcox; Cole 3) Chris Derenne, Luxemburg; Mike Klenz, Sobieski 4) Eric Van Iten, Green Bay; James Tebon, Algoma

22 lap IMCA stock car feature – Shawn Kilgore, Kewaunee; Travis Van Straten, Hortonville; Craig Paque, Algoma; Laurel Ettien, Luxemburg; Matt Junio, Casco; Greg Gretz, Kewaunee

10 lap semi-features 1) George Gerber, Little Suamico; Cory Haen, Carlsville; Mark Reinhardt, Luxemburg; Shawn Havel, Brussels 2) Troy Muench, Green Bay; Jason Czarapata, Pulaski; Dave Davister, Luxemburg; Derrick Bruechert, Kewaunee

10 lap heats 1) Brian Bruechert, Kewaunee; Dave Bouche, Algoma 2) Kyle Frederick, Gillett; Charlie Kroll, Algoma 3) Kilgore; Ettien 4) Rod Snellenberger, Pulaski; Pat Davister, Luxemburg

18 lap IMCA hobby stock feature – Tony Schlei, Zion, IL; Ed Anschutz, Algoma; Tom Brumlic, Denmark; Marcus Moede, Casco; Dave Serrahn, Algoma; Duane Mertens, Luxemburg

10 lap heats 1st) Moede; Brumlic 2nd) Anschutz; Mertens

12 lap sport four feature – Tyler Smith, Luxemburg; Greg Gawryleski, Green Bay; Kenny Malcore, Algoma; Gary Novitski, Mishicot; Ben Daoust, Seymour, D.J. Jorgenson

8 lap heats 1st) Todd Welsing, Denmark; Greg Banker, Bonduel 2nd) Vandenboogart; Daoust

Previous Post: Dart Dails In Luxemburg IMCA Modified Feature!

Next Post: Mullen Masters Luxemburg IMCA Modified Feature!