Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

Gracyalny Leads Wire-to-Wire In Luxemburg IMCA Mod Main!

Posted under Race Reports on August 6th, 2005

By Joe Verdegan

August 6, 2005; Luxemburg, WI. – Versatile Danny Gracyalny of De Pere led every lap and fought off a hard charging Dan Ratajczak in the final laps to win his first 25 lap caution free IMCA modified feature of the season at Luxemburg Speedway Friday night.

A total of 32 IMCA modifieds were on hand, including 33 IMCA stock cars, 18 IMCA hobby stocks and 16 sport 4’s and 5 Lady 4’s.

Starting outside of the front row, Gracyalny jumped into the lead and began gradually building his adavantage, which spread to nearly a full straightaway by the event’s halfway point. Ratajczak, who started seventh, waged a torrid battle for second with Jared Siefert nearly the entire contest.

By lap 20 Ratajczak caught Gracyalny, and committed to the high side attempting to get by Gracyalny. The pair traded paint as they crossed the stripe but Gracyalny captured the victory. Ratajczak took second in his finest performance of the season. Jay Matthias, Siefert and Benji LaCrosse rounded out the top five finishers.

Kewaunee’s Jeff “PePe” Vlies swept action in the IMCA stock car division, claiming both his heat and the 18 lap feature.
Laurel Ettien jumped into the lead at the drop of the green of the 22 lap contest, which was only one lap old when a five car melee developed in turn one.

The mishap sent points leader Shawn Kilgore down pit lane with a flat tire, which sent him to the tail of the field. when racing resumed Vlies ducked underneath Ettien for the lead on lap four. One circuit later another five car pileup took place in turn four, drawing the second caution of the contest. On the restart Kilgore, who was running 16th, had the hood fly up into his windshield. His racer stalled with the nose of his car edging onto the track.

The caution flew on lap eight, but not after Kilgore was already one lap down. Vlies fended off Greg Gretz and Jamie Colwell during the next several laps, and a pair of cautions which slowed action. Due to the number of yellows the race was shortened to 18 laps. On a lap 13 restart Jamie Colwell moved into second, and began challenging Vlies for the lead using the outside line. Vlies fought off his foes to collect the victory. Trailing at the checkers were Colwell, Gretz, Kyle Frederick and Jason Czarapata. Kilgore wound up 18th, which allowed Colwell to close the gap significantly in the point standings chase.

Lomria’s Jesse Kanas won his second straight 15 lap IMCA hobby stock feature. Derek Moede, Tom Brumlic, Tony Schlei and Ed Anschutz rounded out the top five finishers.

Green Bay’s James Vandenboogart won the 15 lap sport four feature while Amanda Johnson of Seymour won the 10 lap Lady 4 feature.

Next Friday night, August 12 the winged supermodifieds from Eastern Wisconsin Stock Car (EWSC) will make their solo appearance of the 2005 season.

Salmon Meats will be sponsoring the sponsor appreciation night. Racing begins at 7 p.m. For more information call 920 863 8446. The track phone number is 920 845 2300.

The track’s website is


25 lap IMCA modified feature – Dan Gracyalny, De Pere; Dan Ratajczak, Frog Station; Jay Matthias, De Pere; Jared Siefert, Green Bay; Benji LaCrosse, Luxemburg; Chad Wilcox, Pulaski

12 lap semi features – 1st) Sean Jerovetz, Little Suamico; Chris Derenne, Luxemburg; Randy LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay; Tim Van De Hei, Green Bay 2nd) Eddie Muenster, Green Bay; Jerry Muenster, Green Bay; Doug Maurer, De Pere; Mike Klenz, Sobieski

10 lap heats 1) Danny Deau, Little Suamico; Bob Waechter, Ellisville 2) Jared Siefert; Dave Werbelow, Shawano 3) Art Siefert, Green Bay; RM Van Pay, Green Bay 4) Matthias; Chad Wilcox

22 lap IMCA stock car feature – Jeff Vlies, Kewaunee; Jamie Colwell, Greenleaf; Greg Gretz, Kewaunee; Kyle Frederick, Gillett; Jason Czarapata, Pulaski; Charlie Kroll, Forestville

12 lap semi features – 1) Frederick; Tony Bouche, Algoma; Mike Weitor, Green Bay; Gene Johnson, Sobieski 2) Brian Bruechert, Kewaunee; Shawn Havel, Brussels; Brandon Mindak, Luxemburg; Mark Derenne, Luxemburg

10 lap heats 1) Kroll; Kurt Olson, Seymour 2) Vlies; Laurel Ettien, Luxemburg 3) Shawn Kilgore, Kewaunee; Kerry Havlovetz, Maribel; 4) Gretz; Craig Paque, Algoma

15 lap IMCA hobby stock feature – Jesse Kanas, Lomira; Derek Moede, Casco; Tom Brumlic, Denmark; Tony Schlei, Zion, IL; Ed Anschutz, Algoma; Dan Davister, Luxemburg

10 lap heats 1) Mike Mueller, Green Bay; Moede 2) Dan Davister; Keith Kickbush, Kewaunee

15 lap sport four feature – James Vandenboogart, Green Bay; Greg Banker, Bonduel; Tim Peer, Green Bay; Tyler Smith, Luxemburg; Tim Jorgenson, De Pere; Bob Abbet, Maribel

8 lap heats 1) Jorgenson; Vandenboogart 2) Peer; Banker

10 lap Lady 4 feature – Amanda Johnson, Seymour; Sue Cherney, Mishicot; Rachelle Junio, Casco

Old Timers races –

IMCA modifieds 1) Roy Ihlenfeldt, Luxemburg; Randy Theys, Casco; Len Deterville, New Franken 2) Al Snellenberger, Pulaski; Wally Wise, Green Bay; Don Mahlberg, Green Bay

IMCA stock cars – Doug Vickman, Luxemburg; Don Mahlberg, Green Bay; Al Snellenberger, Pulaski

IMCA hobby stocks – Chris DeQuaine, Champion; Augie Derenne, Luxemburg

Previous Post: LaCrosse Nips Siefert in IMCA Modified Thriller!

Next Post: Ostorwski Scores Last Lap EWSC Supermod Win at Luxemburg!