Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

LaCrosse Comes Out on Top at Luxemburg!

Posted under Race Reports on May 20th, 2005

By Scott Owen

May 20, 2005; Luxemburg, WI. – Mother nature provided plenty of moisture for the racing surface this week in Luxemburg. One hundred eight cars showed up to do battle on the third mile clay oval. The track proved to have lots of bite in it but was once again somewhat rough. Benji LaCrosse picked up the IMCA modified win. He was joined in victory lane by Shawn Kilgore, Dave DeGrave, Tim Jorgenson, and Amanda Johnson.

The beginning of the IMCA modified feature was plagued by multiple cautions. Scott Derenne was the early leader from his pole starting position. He was pressured by Sean Jerovetz until Jerovetz retired to the pit area. Jay Matthias grabbed the lead on lap number three of the event. Heading down the backstretch on the next lap, Matthias blew up his engine causing the rear tires to lock up in front of the entire field. An eight car pileup ocurred bringing out another caution. Rob Waechter and Mike Klenz were done for the night. As the cars circled the track while the lineup was being reset Derenne and second running car Dan Gracyalny pulled into the pits. Derenne was able to continue after changing a right front tire, while Gracyalny was done for the night. When the green flag came back out a four car battle for the lead was shaping up between LaCrosse, Todd Dart, Jeremy Jacobs, and Jared Siefert. On the white flag lap yet another pileup acurred in turn number two. Only four cars were able to take the checkered flag. LaCrosse got the win after starting the race in eightteenth. Todd Dart finished second from his twentieth starting spot. Jeremy Jacobs grabbed third, and Jerry Muenster was able to survive the wrecks to finish in fourth.

Shawn Kilgore put on a dominating performance in the IMCA stock car feature. He was able to win the race by nearly half a track. Charlie Kroll and Brain Bruechert were locked in a side by side battle for second. Kroll prevailed in the end. Bruechert hung on for a strong third, Greg Gretz finished in fourth. After the feature there was a little shopping in the claim area as Rod Snellenberger claimed the engine of Kilgore. The claim was accepted.

Derek Moede lead the first three laps of the IMCA hobby stock feature before giving way to DuWayne Mertens. Mertens lead the next three laps until Dave DeGrave made a pass for the lead. DeGrave was pressured for the lead by Tom Brumlic as the race wore on. DeGrave brought home the win. Brumlic picked up the second spot. Mertens finished a solid third.

The sport four compact feature was once again decided on the last lap. Brad LeClair looked very strong through the early portion of the race. LeClair was pressured by Greg Banker, Ben Daoust, Tyler Smith, and Tim Jorgenson. Smith went for a wild ride in turn four when he rolled his machine over after loosing the right rear tire. Smith was okay. With only a handful of laps left Banker grabbed the lead from LeClair. Jorgenson also snuck by LeClair for second. As Banker went through turn number three for the final time Jorgenson got underneath him. The two cars went side by side through turn four and onto the front stretch. Jorgenson nipped Banker at the finish line to pick up the win. Banker was second, LeClair finished an impressive third.

The lady four feature was once again dominated by Amanda Johnson. Johnson garnered her second win in as many races. Sue Cherney finished in the second spot. Hollie Welch snagged third in front of Tabbie VandeVoort.

Next firday night the limited late models of the EWSC and Shawano Speedway will join in the fun at the Luxemburg Speedway. Start time will be seven o’clock.

IMCA modified
Feature: 1,Benji Lacrosse,Luxemburg: 2,Todd Dart,Algoma; 3,Jeremy Jacobs,Casco: 4,Jerry Muenster,Green Bay; 5,Randie Back,Green Bay
Consolation winners: 1,Doug Maurer,DePere; 2,Benji LaCrosse,Luxemburg
Heat winners: 1,Scott Derenne,Luxemburg; 2,Dave Zeitler,Luxemburg; 3,Jay Matthias,DePere; 4,Sean Jerovetz,Little Suamico

IMCA stock car
Feature: 1,Shawn Kilgore,Kewaunee; 2,Charlie Kroll,Forestville; 3,Brian Bruechert,Kewaunee
Consolation winners: 1,Chris VanIten,Luxemburg; 2,Mike Wietor,Green Bay
Heat winners: 1,Jason Czarapata, Pulaski; 2,Josh Massart,Brussles; 3,Jamie Colwell,Wrightstown; 4,Brian Bruechert,Kewaunee

IMCA hobby stock
Feature: 1,Dave DeGrave,Luxemburg; 2,Tom Brumlic,Denmark; 3,DuWayne Mertens,Luxemburg
Heat winners: 1,Dave DeGrave,Luxemburg; 2,Dave Lane,Green Bay

Sport four compacts
Feature: 1,Tim Jorgenson,DePere; 2,Greg Banker,Bonduel; 3,Brad LeClair,Two Rivers
Heat winners: 1,Tyler Smith,Luxemburg; 2,Ben Daoust,Luxemburg

Lady fours
Feature: 1,Amanda Jonson,Seymour; 2,Sue Cherney,Mishicot; 3,Hollie Welch,Shawano

Previous Post: Anvelink, Anschutz and Kroll Roll!

Next Post: Mullen Beats Mullen, Kroll Bests The Stocks!