Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

LaCrosse Tops Luxemburg Mod Finale!

Posted under Race Reports on October 1st, 2005

By Joe Verdegan

October 1, 2005; Luxemburg, WI. – 2005 IMCA modifed Supernationals champion Benji LaCrosse of Luxemburg returned to his hometrack, winning in convincing fashion. LaCrosse took the lead on lap 25 and went on to win the $1,500 top prize during the second annual Luxemburg Fall Classic Saturday night.

Polesitter Dan Ratajczak sprinted into the early lead at the drop of the green. Siefert, who started fourth, worked the outside line and drove around Ratajczak for the lead on lap six. Siefert immediately built up a comfortable six car length cushion over the rest of the field. LaCrosse, sliced his way through the pack into second by lap nine and began tracking Siefert down. Siefert began sifting through lapped cars by lap 16. On lap 17 the caution flew when Siefert’s father Art Siefert’s machine stalled on the backstretch. With 23 laps remaining Siefert kept the lead on the restart, with Ratajczak regaining the lead with an outside pass of Siefert on lap twenty.

Sean Jerovetz bolted into second two laps later. A caution flew on lap twenty eight when Siefert’s racer stalled on the track. On the restart Matthias passed Ratajczak for second and challenged LaCrosse in the final laps for the lead. With five laps remaining Eddie Muenster charged into second, but came up just short as LaCrosse held on for the win. Eddie Muenster, Jerry Muenster, Matthias, and Ratajczak rounded out the top five finishers.

Pulaski’s Jason Czarapata swept action in the IMCA-style stock car feature, capturing his heat and grabbing the lead with six laps remaining to win the 28 lap stock car feature.

The stock car feature got off to a rough start, when Brian Bruechert spun at the front of the pack on the opening circuit. The wreck eliminated Greg Gretz and Shawn Kilgore. On the second attempted start Laurel Ettien spun on the second lap while battling Troy Muench and Eugene Gregorich Sr. for the lead.

On the restart Muench, Gregorich Sr. and Czarapata ran three wide for the next three laps until Gregorich Sr. finally pulled ahead for the lead on lap five.

By lap eight Rod Snellenberger charged through the field from his eighth starting spot into second. Kyle Frederick also joined the chase by lap 10, with Gregorich Sr. leading the three car tussle for the top spot for the next several laps. On lap 13 Frederick used the outside line to scoot around the pair into the lead. Frederick went to work putting some distance between himself and the rest of the field.

The field was tightened on lap seventeen when Muench and Dave Bouche got together in turn four, sending both drivers to the tail. When racing resumed Frederick picked up where he left off, keeping the lead with Czarapata squeezing the inside line. Czarapata pulled off the pass on Frederick on lap 22 and fought off the field to collect the win. Frederick, Snellenberger, Jeff Vlies and Laurel Ettien rounded out the top five finishers.

Forestville’s Von Eychenson passed Dave Hoerning for the lead on lap 13 and went on to win the 25 lap street stock feature. Oshkosh’ Jerry Kope nipped Dave Hoerning at the line for second. Aaron Thornton and Kyle Kudick rounded out the top five finishers. Green Bay’s Pete Kumbalek passed Greg Thompson of Denmark for the lead on the final lap to win the 18 lap Challenger hobby feature.

Lomira’s Jesse Kanas captured his fourth, 20 lap IMCA style hobby stock feature while track champion Greg Banker won the time shortened, 14 lap sport four feature.

A total of 188 cars took part in the weekend of racing. The field included 45 modifieds, 46 stock cars, 35 street stocks, 22 challenger hobbies, 18 hobby stocks and 22 sport fours.

. The 2005 season awards banquet will be on Saturday, January 28 at the Rendezvous in the town of Nueren. For more information call 920 863 8446. The track phone number is 920 845 2300. The track’s website is


40 lap Modified feature – Benji LaCrosse, Luxemburg; Eddie Muenster, Green Bay; Jerry Muenster, Green Bay; Jay Matthias, Luxemburg; Dan Ratajczak, Frog Station; Brad Rohloff, Pulaski

12 lap semi features – 1st) Lance Arnenson, Krakow; Art Siefert, Green Bay; Scott Mullen, Seymour; Mike Klenz, Sobieski 2nd) Ed Stehula, Reedsville; Ron Figlinski, Nichols; Chris Derenne, Luxemburg; Mike Knapp, New London

10 lap heats 1) Jerry Muenster; Danny Deau, Little Suamico 2) Joe Houpt, Mequon; Mike Mullen, Seymour 3) Eddie Muenster; Rohloff 4) Matt McDermid, Oconto Falls; Todd Dart, Algoma

28 lap Stock Car feature – Jason Czarapata, Pulaski; Kyle Frederick, Gillett; Rod Snellenberger, Pulaski; Jeff Vlies, Casco; Laurel Ettien, Luxemburg; Eugene Gregorich Sr., Kewaunee

12 lap semi features – 1) Nate Michonski, Leopolis; Eugene Gregorich Jr., Kewaunee; Pat Davister, Luxemburg; Don Aregoni, Sturgeon Bay 2) Rick Dix, Green Bay; Steve Kastning, Bonduel; Kraig Gretz, Kewaunee; Gary Reinhardt, Fish Creek

10 lap heats 1) Troy Muench, Green Bay; Mike Weitor, Green Bay 2) Eric Malfroid, Luxemburg; Tony Bouche, Algoma 3) Gregorich Sr.; Ben Kroll, Luxemburg 4) Czarapata; Brandon Mindak, Casco

25 lap Street Stock feature – Von Eychenson, Forestville; Jerry Kope, Oshkosh; Dave Hoerning, Appleton; Aaron Thornton, Sturgeon Bay; Kyle Kudick, Mishicot; Tim Reichenberger, Oshkosh

12 lap semi-feature – Mike Nehmer, Larsen; Paul White, Green Bay; Phil Hiles, Appleton; David Baenen, New Franken

10 lap heats 1) Bill Kelsey, Sobieski; Thom Therrien, Green Bay 2) Brian Koch, Freedom; Jeremy Hiles, Appleton 3) Thornton; Kudick

20 lap Hobby Stock feature – Jesse Kanas, Lomira; Ed Anschutz, Algoma; Dan Davister, Luxemburg; Tony Schlei, Zion, IL; Michael Smith, Marshalltown, Iowa; Marcus Moede, Casco

10 lap heats 1) Derek Moede, Casco; Smith 2) Kanas; Marcus Moede

18 lap Challenger Hobby feature – Pete Kumbalek, Green Bay; Kraig Koehler, Two Rivers; Jeff Saylor, Howards Grove; Greg Thompson, Denmark; Bret Koehler, Two Rivers; Michael Robinson, Denmark

10 lap heats 1) Robinson; Mike Wilde 2) Jason Henrickson, Two Rivers; Thompson

15 lap Sport Four feature – Greg Banker, Bonduel; Tim Jorgenson, De Pere; Tony Everard, Green Bay; Tyler Smith, Luxemburg; Kevin Birr, Dousman; Joe Jaeckels, Kaukauna

8 lap heats 1) Matt Maleport, De Pere; Everard 2) James Vandenboogart, Green Bay; Phil Martzhall,Seymour

Previous Post: Siefert Shades Field In Luxemburg Mod Main!

Next Post: Veteran Van Pay Captures Luxemburg IMCA Mod Lid Lifter!