Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

Mullen Beats Mullen, Kroll Bests The Stocks!

Posted under Race Reports on June 3rd, 2005

By Scott Owen

June 3, 2005; Luxemburg, WI. – One hundred fourty one racers were on hand to do battle on the ultra smooth racing surface of the Luxemburg Speedway. Early this season the track was rather rough after putting down fresh clay in the spring. The track was smooth and fast from the inside groove to the outside line for Victory Sign night at the races. Brian
Mullen, Ben Kroll, Tony Schlei, Aaron Thornton, and Greg Banker picked up the feature wins.

At the start of the IMCA modified feature Tim VanDeHei grabbed the lead.
Scott Mullen took the lead in turn number four of lap one. Brian Mullen quickly began pressuring his brother Scott for the lead. Brian took over the top spot on lap ten. Brian began to pull away while Scott had his hands full for second as Eddie Muenster applied the
pressure. Heavy smoke began to show from Brian Mullen’s machine on lap twenty one. The smoke did not slow Brian down though as he cruised to the checkered flag for the win. Scott Mullen held on for second. Muenster had to settle for third. Jeremy Jacobs had a strong run to round out the top four.

The IMCA stock car feature turned out to be a classic side by shoot out for the win. Eugene Gregorich took the lead on lap one and ran the high side of the track. Meanwhile Jason Czarapata was working his way to the front by running the inside line. Gregorich lead until lap thirteen when Czarapata was finally able to make a pass for the lead. Ben Kroll had joined in the battle for the top spot as well. Kroll, Gregorich, and Czarapata went three wide through the turns a number of
times. On lap number fifteen Kroll took the lead from Czarapata. Czarapata stayed right with Kroll as the laps wound down. Czarapata continued to run down low and Kroll up high. Czarapata had the lead as the white flag flew. Kroll drove his car deeper into turn three and was able to keep the momentum coming out of turn four. Kroll beat Czarapata
to the line by a fender. Shawn Kilgore who started deep in the field battled his way up to finish in third. Craig Paque took fourth in front of Gregorich.

The “Casco Kid” Derek Moede took the lead from his pole starting position at the start of the IMCA hobby stock feature. Derek’s brother Marcus was running in the second spot. Tony Schlei worked his way up to third by lap seven. Caution came out on lap eight to bunch up the field behind Derek Moede. Schlei used his outside row two starting spot on the next lap to take the lead. Schlei was unchallenged for the duration of the event to grab the win. Ed Anschutz worked through
traffic to place in second. Marcus Moede finished in third.

Troy Wilson was the early leader in the street stock feature. He lead until lap eight when Aaron Thornton took over the lead. Von Eytcheson was running a distant second to Thornton when the caution flag flew on lap sixteen. The green flag came back out with only two laps remaining. Eytcheson tried to find a way around Thornton for the lead, but Thornton held on for the win. Eytcheson was second, Wilson finished in third.

Ben Carew lead the first two laps of the sport four compact feature before Brad LeClair took over the top spot on lap three. LeClair held the lead for five laps. Greg Banker became the new leader on lap eight. Banker never looked back while working through lapped traffic. Banker got the win. Marty VanDeHei finished second in the car normally driven by Tim Jorgenson. LeClair finished in third.

Next week June the tenth will be the fourth annual Suebert Calf Ranches “Battle of the Burg”. The WDLMA sanctioned late models will join the IMCA modifieds, stock cars, and hobby stocks. Racing will begin at seven o’clock.

IMCA modified
Feature: 1,Brian Mullen,Seymour; 2,Scott Mullen,Seymour; 3,Eddie Muenster,Green Bay; 4,Jeremy Jacobs,Casco; 5,Mike Klenz,Sobieski
Consolation winners: 1,Todd Dart,Algoma; 2,Danny Deau,Little Suamico
Heat winners: 1,Brian Mullen,Seymour; 2,Dean Maurer,DePere; 3,Scott Mullen,Seymour; 4,Bill LeMieux,Sturgeon Bay

IMCA stock car
Feature: 1,Ben Kroll,New Franken; 2,Jason Czarapata,Pulaski; 3,Shawn Kilgore;Kewaunee; 4,Craig Paque,Algoma; 5,Eugene Gregorich,Kewaunee
Consolation winners: 1,Greg Gretz,Kewaunee; 2,Eric Malfroid,Luxemburg
Heat winners: 1,Todd Vlies,Luxemburg; 2,Jamie Colwell,Wrightstown; 3,Charlie Kroll,Forestville; 4,Eugene Gregorich,Kewaunee

IMCA hobby stock
Feature: 1,Tony Schlei,Zion IL; 2,Ed Anschutz,ALgoma; 3,Marcus Moede,Casco; 4,Jesse Kanas,Lomira; 5,Dan Davister,Luxemburg
Heat winners: 1,Jesse Kanas,Lomira; 2,Marcus Moede,Casco

Street stock
Feature: 1,Aaron Thornton,Sturgeon Bay; 2,Von Eytcheson,Forestville; 3,Troy Wilson,Green Bay; 4,Jamie VanOoyen,Appleton; 5,Mike Pierrard,Green Bay
Consolation winner: 1,Shawn VanOooyen,Appleton
Heat winners: 1,Dave Hoerning,Appleton; 2,Joe Johnson,Oneida; 3,Fred Davister,Luxemburg

Sport four compact
Feature: 1,Greg Banker,Bonduel; 2,Marty VanDeHei,Seymour; 3,Brad LeClair,Two Rivers; 4,Adam Ambrosius,Pulaski; 5,Greg Gawryleski,Green Bay
Heat winners: 1,Brad LeCLair,Two Rivers; 2,Greg Banker,Bonduel; 3,Tyler Smith,Luxemburg

Previous Post: LaCrosse Comes Out on Top at Luxemburg!

Next Post: Brian Mullen Scores Second Straight Luxemburg Mod Main!