Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

Parker Leads Wire-to-Wire in Luxemburg Late Models!

Posted under Race Reports on July 10th, 2005

By Joe Verdegan

July 10, 2005; Luxemburg, WI. – Kaukauna veteran Pete Parker survived heavy pressure from Nick Anvelink and Russ Scheffler and led all 40 laps en route to a $1,500 victory in the Seubert Calf Ranches Battle of the Burg IV at Luxemburg Speedway Sunday night.

In IMCA modified action 18-year-old rookie Michael Mullen of Seymour fought off his father, five time track champion Brian Mullen to post his first ever 25 lap IMCA modified feature win.

A total of 26 WDLMA late models were on hand, along with 32 IMCA modifieds, 32 IMCA stock cars and 18 IMCA hobby stocks.

Parker shot into the lead from the pole position with Nick Anvelink bolting into second from his third starting spot. The pair pulled away from the field with Parker low and Anvelink high. A lap 10 spin by Jesse Peebles tightened the field. When racing resumed Parker maintained the lead, with AJ Diemel and Russ Scheffler running third and fourth, respectively. Scheffler wrestled third away from Diemel on lap 16.

By lap 22 the leaders encountered lapped cars, with Scheffler ducking underneath a lapped car to take second from Anvelink. Parker carefully sifted his way through lapped traffic until lap 31 when a Mark Weisnicht spin tightened the field once again. With nine laps remaining and Scheffler glued to his rear bumper, Anvelink used the high line to his advantage, overtaking second from Scheffler when another Peebles spin two laps later slowed action.

On the restart Parker kept his racer stuck on the bottom as Anvelink tried the high line with no success and Parker collected the win. Nick Anvelink, Russ Scheffler, Terry Anvelink and Luke Roffers rounded out the top five finishers.

The first three laps of the IMCA modified feature were plagued by four cautions. The younger Mullen kept his cool throughout the contest. Brian Mullen worked the high side throughout the race while Sean Jerovetz and Benji LaCrosse pressured the younger Mullen through the balance of the contest. Michael Mullen emerged victorious, with his dad Brian finishing in second. LaCrosse, Jerovetz and Jeremy Jacobs placed third through fifth, respectively.

Greenleaf’s Jamie Colwell fought off veteran Rod Snellenberger and went on to win his first 22 lap IMCA stock car feature of the season.

Colwell shot into the lead from his fourth row starting spot at the drop of the green. Snellenberger quickly worked through the pack, from ninth to second in three laps. The lead pair began pulling away from the pack when a Derrick Bruechert spin drew a lap six yellow.

On the restart Kyle Frederick joined the lead duo and a three car tussle ensued for the lead. The trio broke from the pack, with Colwell keeping his racer hugged to the low groove. Meanwhile Shawn Kilgore, who started 12th, drove the high line into fourth by lap 13 and began whittling away at the leaders. Colwell kept his foes at bay to collect the win. Snellenberger, Frederick, Kilgore and Craig Paque rounded out the top five.

Zion, Illinois’ Tony Schlei fought off Dave De Grave in the final laps to win the 18 lap IMCA hobby stock feature. DeGrave, Dan Davister, Ed Anschutz and Dave Lane rounded out the top five finishers. 14-year-old Adam White of Oconto Falls finished sixth in just his fourth race here

of the year. The contest featured five different leaders in the 18 laps.

This Friday, July 15 Pepsi Cola sponsors the Kid’s big wheel races. The Lady 4’s will also be in action along with the

IMCA modifieds, stock cars and hobby stocks and sport fours. For more information call 920 863 8446. The track phone number is 920 845 2300. The track’s website is


40 lap WDLMA late model feature – Pete Parker, Kaukauna; Nick Anvelink, Bonduel; Russ Scheffler, Waukesha; Terry Anvelink, Navarino; Luke Roffers, Oneida; Kerry Hansen, Spencer; Ron Berna, Green Bay; Scott Cramer, Random Lake; Eric Pember, Pittsville; George Scheffler, Waukesha; Chris Carlson, Greenfield; Jim Letizia, Milwaukee; Tom Naeyaert, Shawano; Tim Lemirande, Cross Plains; Troy Springborn, Shawano;Rick Scheffler, Waukesha; Bill Rezutek, Big Bend; Tim Carmen, Sheboygan Falls; Turk Letizia, Milwaukee; Jesse Peebles, Red River; AJ Diemel, Bonduel; Mark Weisnicht, Shawano

12 lap semi-feature – Pember; George Scheffler; Cramer; Carlson

10 lap heats 1) Diemel; Nick Anvelink 2) Russ Scheffler, Waukesha; Berna 3) Hansen; Roffers

25 lap IMCA modified feature – Michael Mullen, Seymour; Brian Mullen, Seymour; Benji LaCrosse, Luxemburg; Sean Jerovetz, Little Suamico; Jeremy Jacobs, Algoma; Jared Siefert, Green Bay

8 lap semi features – 1st) Jay Matthias, De Pere; Bob Waechter, Ellisville; Scooter Boyea, Abrams; Doug Maurer, De Pere 2nd) Randy Back, Green Bay; Eddie Muenster, Green Bay; James Tebon, Algoma; Chris Derenne, Luxemburg

10 lap heats 1) Jerry Muenster, Green Bay; RM Van Pay, Green Bay 2) Siefert; Jacobs 3) Jerovetz; Chad Bartel, Shiocton 4) Brian Mullen; Michael Mullen,

22 lap IMCA stock car feature – Jamie Colwell, Greenleaf; Rod Snellenberger, Pulaski; Kyle Frederick, Gillett; Shawn Kilgore, Kewaunee; Craig Paque, Algoma; Ben Kroll, Luxemburg

12 lap semi features – 1) Greg Gretz, Kewaunee; Jason Czarapata, Pulaski; Rick Dix, Green Bay; Cory Suchoski, Bolt 2) Gene Johnson, Sobieski; Derrick Bruechert, Kewaunee; Laurel Ettien, Luxemburg; Mike Weitor, Green Bay

10 lap heats 1) Kilgore; Chris Hendricks, Green Bay 2) Jamie Colwell; Kraig Gretz, Kewaunee 3) Frederick, Ben Kroll 4) Brian Bruechert, Kewaunee; John Heinz, Green Bay

18 lap IMCA hobby stock feature – Tony Schlei, Zion, IL; Dave De Grave, Luxemburg; Dan Davister, Luxemburg; Ed Anschutz, Algoma; Dave Lane, Green Bay; Adam White, Oconto Falls

10 lap heats 1) Anschutz; Mike Mueller, Green Bay 2) Davister; Ed Danoff, Green Bay

Previous Post: Matthias Rides High to First Career Luxemburg Win!

Next Post: LaCrosse Charges Through Field for Luxemburg IMCA Mod Feature Win!