Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

Shryock Leads The Way In Luxemburg USMTS GO!

Posted under Race Reports on June 23rd, 2005

By Joe Verdegan

June 23, 2005; Luxemburg, WI. -Six time series champion Kelly Shryock of Fertile, Iowa took the lead at the drop of the green and survived 10 caution periods to win the 40 lapUSMTS modified feature at Luxemburg Speedway Thursday night.

Kewaunee’s Greg Gretz scored a clean sweep of the stock car division, claiming both the heat and 25 lap feature. Kewaunee’s Keith Kickbush led every lap en route to victory in the 15 lap hobby stock feature.

A total of 52 USMTS modifieds were on hand, along with 25 stock cars and 12 hobby stocks .

Shryock jumped into the lead and held it through three caution periods for various spins in the first five laps. Brian Mullen
worked his way from 13th to fourth in the first five circuits. When racing resumed Shryock kept the lead and quickly closed in on lapped traffic by lap 13. The Iowa hotshoe immediately built up a full straightaway advantage over Jerovetz and company.
Several caution flags flew over the course of the contest, with Shryock disposing of his foes on each restart. Fellow Iowan Ryan Ruter stormed through the field from his 19th starting spot to take second in the closing laps, followed by Tommy Myer, Jon Tesch and Zack Vanderbeek. De Pere’s Mike Mashl fared best of the locals, placing ninth.

Gretz took advantage of Shawn Kilgore’s misfortune to capture the 25 lap stock car feature.

Algoma’s Dave Bouche and Kyle Frederick of Gillett swapped the lead for the first several circuits. Frederick maintained
the lead through a pair of early cautions. By lap 12 a five car battle developed for the lead, with Dave Bouche leading.
Kilgore drove around Bouche for the lead on lap 14. Kilgore kept the lead through two more caution periods and fought off Gretz, Brian Bruechert and Rod Snellenberger in the closing laps until a caution flew with three laps remaining.

On the restart Kilgore cut a tire, forcing him out of the race. Gretz inherited the lead and fought off Snellenberger to score the win. Snellenberger, Frederick, Craig Paque and Ben Kroll rounded out the top five finishers.

Kewaunee’s Keith Kickbush took the lead at the drop of the green and went on to win the caution free 15 lap hobby stock feature.Trailing at the checkers were Dan Davister, Mike Mueller, Tony Kanas and Dave De Grave.

There will be no racing Friday, June 24. Weekly racing will resume at the third-mile, clay oval on Friday, July 1.
US Concrete Construction and Peters Concrete present a $750 to win IMCA stock car special. IMCA modifieds, IMCA hobby stocks and 141 Speedway hobby stocks will run that evening as their own division. A huge fireworks display is also planned. For more information call 920 863 8446. The track phone number is 920 845 2300. The track’s website is


40 lap USMTS modified feature – Kelly Schryock, Fertile, IA; Ryan Ruter, Kanawha, IA; Tommy Myer, Blooming Prairie, MN; Jon Tesch, Watertown, SD; Zack VanderBeek, New Sharon, IA; Jason Krohn,Slayton, MN; Brad McEwen, Storm Lake, IA; Al Hejna, Clear Lake, IA; Mike Mashl, De Pere; Sean Jerovetz, Little Suamico; Nick Anvelink, Bonduel; Jeremy Jacobs, Kewaunee; Brian Mullen, Seymour; Corey Dripps, Waterloo, IA; Brandon Czarapata, Kaukauna; Todd Dart, Algoma; Danny Deau, Little Suamico; John Logue, Boone, Iowa; Jason Hughes, Colcord, OK; Benji LaCrosse, Luxemburg; Dave Zeitler, Luxemburg; Jeremy Hedrick, Shawano; Paul Parker, Kaukauna; Willy Kraft, Lakefield, MN; Tommy Weder Jr., Woodword, OK

15 lap semi features – 1st) Brian Mullen; Kraft; Jacobs; Ruter; Mashl
2nd) Myer; VanderBeek; Tesch; McEwen; Hejna

10 lap heats 1) Krohn; Zeitler
2) Hughes; Jeremy Hedrick, Shawano
3) Dart; LaCrosse
4) Schryock; Mullen
5) Dripps; Jerovetz

25 lap stock car feature – Greg Gretz, Kewaunee; Rod Snellenberger, Pulaski; Kyle Frederick, Gillett; Craig Paque, Algoma; Ben Kroll, Kewaunee; Dave Bouche, Algoma

10 lap heats 1) Gretz; Kroll
2) Paque; Brian Bruechert, Kewaunee
3) Shawn Kilgore, Kewaunee; Junior Karcz, Pulaski

15 lap hobby stock feature – Keith Kickbush, Kewaunee; Dan Davister, Luxemburg; Mike Mueller, Green Bay; Tony Kanas, Lomira; Dave De Grave, Luxemburg

10 lap heats 1) De Grave; Ed Anschutz, Algoma
2) Davister; Kickbush

Previous Post: Brian Mullen Scores Second Straight Luxemburg Mod Main!

Next Post: Dave Bouche Captures Luxemburg IMCA Stock Car Special!