Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

Dart Snares IMCA Mod Feature!

Posted under Race Reports on June 2nd, 2006

Joe Verdegan

June 2, 2006; Luxemburg, WI. – Algoma’s Todd Dart drove around Brian Mullen of Seymour with two laps to go to win the 25 lap IMCA modified feature at Luxemburg Speedway Friday night. Dart also won his heat, sweeping the division
for the evening.

A total of 149 cars were in the pits, including 41 IMCA modifieds, 46 IMCA stock cars, 21 IMCA hobby stocks, 17 street stocks and 24 sport fours.

After an aborted attempt at a start Mike Plate jumped into the lead from the pole position in the modified feature. Mike Mullen slipped inside Plate for the lead on the next round when a five car pileup involving several mid-pack
cars halted action on the second lap.

On the restart Plate regained the lead while Kyle Odekirk pulled alongside and motored into the lead on lap four. A Brian Joski spin on lap five tightened the field. When racing resumed Mike Mullen and Brian Mullen ran second and
third, respectively.

Following another yellow, Brian Mullen wrestled the lead away from Mike Mullen and quickly distanced himself from the rest of the field. When a lap 21 caution slowed the field Brian Mullen kept the lead, with Dave Werbelow Jr. on his tail. On lap twenty three Brian Mullen and Dave Werbelow made contact, allowing Dart and Benji LaCrosse to drive around the lead duo and assume the top two spots.

Dart maintained the lead to secure his first feature flag of the season. LaCrosse held on to second. Jared Siefert, who qualified his way into the main event through a semi-feature, placed third. Brian Mullen hung on for fourth. Tim Van De Hei rounded out the top five finishers.

Greg Gretz of Kewaunee took the lead on lap 15 and survived three caution periods to collect his first 22 lap IMCA stock car feature win of the season.

Gretz fought off a fierce challenge from points leader Matt Junio of Casco in the waning laps. Junio took second. Jason Czarapata, who crashed in his heat race and qualified into the feature through a semi-feature, charged through the field from 17th to claim third. Kyle Frederick and Brian Bruechert rounded out the top five finishers.

Hometown driver Fred Davister swept action in the street stock division, winning his heat and leading every lap enroute to the 16 lap feature win. Davister was hounded by Von Eychenson of Forestville and Aaron Thornton for the duration of the contest. Thornton, Eychenson, Bob Czarapata and Todd Everard rounded out the top five finishers.

Algoma’s Ed Anschutz fought off a late race charge from Dan Davister and Jesse Kanas to win his first 16 lap IMCA
hobby stock feature of the season. Trailing at the checkers were Davister, Kanas, Dylan Heilman and Dave De Grave,
who recovered from an earlier spin to place fifth.

Tony Everard of Green Bay won the 15 lap sport four feature.

Luxemburg Speedway will host the largest paying IMCA sanctioned event in Wisconsin history next Thursday, June 8 and Friday June 9. The IMCA Badger State Showdown, sponsored by Green Bay business’ McCoy’s Harley Davidson and 1st Choice Auto, boasts nearly a $25,000 payout during the two day event. The IMCA modified main event will pay $3,000 to the winner while the IMCA stock car feature winner will receive $2,000. IMCA hobby stocks will also compete for $600 to win.

Racing begins at 7 p.m. both nights. For more information call 920 863 8446. The track phone number is 920 845 2300. The track’s website is


25 lap IMCA modified feature – Todd Dart, Algoma; Benji LaCrosse, Luxemburg; Jared Siefert, Green Bay; Brian Mullen, Seymour; Tim Van De Hei, Green Bay; Dave Werbelow Jr., Shawano

10 lap semi features – 1st) Sean Jerovetz, Little Suamico; RM Van Pay, Denmark; Jared Siefert; Chad Wilcox, Pulaski
2nd) Van De Hei; Jay Matthias, Luxemburg; Danny Deau, Little Suamico; Lance Arnenson, Oconto Falls

10 lap heats 1) Dave Zeitler, Luxemburg; Kyle Odekirk, Ootsburg 2) Dart; LaCrosse 3) Mike Mullen, Seymour; Randy LeMieux Jr., Sturgeon Bay 4) Mike Plate, Newton; Shawn Kilgore, Kewaunee

22 lap IMCA stock car feature – Greg Gretz, Kewaunee; Matt Junio, Casco; Jason Czarapata, Pulaski; Kyle Frederick, Gillett; Brian Bruechert, Kewaunee; Jesse Colwell, Greenleaf

12 lap semi features – 1) Ben Kroll, Green Bay; Eugene Gregorich, Kewaunee; Mike Pierrard, Green Bay; Pat Davister, Luxemburg 2) Czarapata; Jamie Colwell, Greenleaf; Craig Paque, Algoma; Dave Bouche, Algoma 3) Jeff Vlies, Kewaunee; Troy Muench, Green Bay; Kraig Gretz, Kewaunee; Doug Morgan, Mishicot

10 lap heats 1) Brian Bruechert; Eric Malfroid, Luxemburg 2) Jesse Colwell; Todd Polster, Baileys Harbor 3) Laurel Ettien, Luxemburg; BJ Soquet, Luxemburg 4) Mike Weitor, Green Bay; Greg Gretz 5) Troy Jerovetz, Green Bay; Junio

16 lap street stock feature – Fred Davister, Luxemburg; Aaron Thornton, Sturgeon Bay; Von Eychenson, Forestville; Bob Czarapata, Krakow; Todd Everard, Green Bay; Jeremy Wittala, Green Bay

10 lap heats 1) Davister; Thornton 2) Eychenson; Wittala

16 lap IMCA hobby stock feature – Ed Anschutz, Algoma; Dan Davister, Luxemburg; Jesse Kanas, Lomira; Dylan Heilman, Green Bay; Dave De Grave, Luxemburg; Keith Kickbush, Kewaunee;

10 lap heats 1) Tom Brumlic, Denmark; Anschutz 2) De Grave; Clint Forstner, Oconto Falls

15 lap sport four feature – Tony Everard, Green Bay; Tim Jorgenson, De Pere; Tom White, Oconto; DJ Jorgenson, De Pere; Bruce Sand, Mishicot; Gary Novitski Jr., Mishicot

8 lap heats 1) White; Tim Jorgenson, Oneida 2) James Vandenboogart, Green Bay; Everard

Previous Post: Pokorski Claims EWSC SuperMod Luxemburg Special!

Next Post: Scott Mullen Wins Luxemburg IMCA Mod Feature!