Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

Jerovetz Beats LaCrosse In Luxemburg IMCA Mod Photo Finish!

Posted under Race Reports on August 25th, 2006

By Joe Verdegan

August 25, 2006; Luxemburg, WI. -Little Suamico’s Sean Jerovetz repassed defending track champion Benji LaCrosse
on the final circuit and beat LaCrosse at the line by mere inches to win the 21 lap IMCA modified feature at Luxemburg Speedway Friday night. The win was Jerovetz’s first of the season.

By starting the IMCA stock car feature, Pulaski’s Jason Czarapata garnered enough points to win his first division title here. Algoma’s Eddie Anschutz also chalked up enough points by starting the IMCA hobby stock feature to win that division’s points crown.

After a pair of aborted starts the IMCA feature got underway with Dave Fischer leading the opening circuit. Mike Mullen ducked underneath Fischer to take the lead on lap three and kept the lead until lap seven when a four car pileup ensued in turn three.

When racing resumed Danny Gracyalny challenged Mullen for the lead. Mullen ran the high side and kept his lead with Gracyalny running low. Sean Jerovetz flew by Gracyalny for second on lap 12 and began pressuring Mullen for the lead. Jerovetz took the lead on lap 14. A Shawn Frelich spin on lap 15 tightened the field. On the restart Benji LaCrosse, who started 12th, jumped into second and passed Jerovetz for the lead on lap 19. Jerovetz repassed LaCrosse on the final circuit and held on to nip LaCrosse at the line in a photo finish. Chad Wilcox took third, followed by Shawn Kilgore and Mike Mullen.

Brussels’ Troy Muench swept action in the IMCA stock car division, winning his heat and passing rookie Tony Schlei for the lead on lap 11 and winning his second feature of the season.

The IMCA stock car feature was just two laps old when leader Doug Morgan spun in front of the pack, drawing a caution. On the restart Tony Schlei inherited the lead with Pat Davister and Cory Cochart running second and third, respectively. Troy Muench passed Davister and Cochart to take second on lap six and began chasing down Schlei for the lead.

Muench caught Schlei on lap 10 and the pair began trading paint for the next few laps. Muench drove around Schlei for the lead on lap 11 and began pulling away from the rest of the field.

Cochart went around Schlei for second two laps later. Muench kept his distance and went the distance to record his second feature flag of the year. Cochart, Schlei, Soquet and Matt Junio rounded out the top five finishers.

Denmark’s Tom Brumlic swept action in the IMCA hobby stock class, winning both his heat and the 18 lap feature. The win was Brumlic’s fourth of the season. Rookie Clint Forstner, Jesse Kanas, Mike Mueller and Dan Davister rounded out the top five finishers.

De Pere’s Tim Jorgenson won the 15 lap sport four feature, his sixth of the season here and his 23rd of the season on area ovals.

Green Bay’s Eddie Muenster made his return after recovering from severe burns he received more than two months ago. Muenster qualified into the feature through a last chance race. He finished 13th in the feature.

111 cars were on hand, including 33 IMCA modifieds, 34 IMCA stock cars, 18 IMCA hobby stocks and 16 sport fours.

Next Friday night, August 25 Tri County Heating will sponsor championship night at the races.

Champions will be crowned in al four weekly divisions. For more information call 920 863 8446.

The track phone is 920 845 2300. The track website is Luxemburg Speedway is located 15 minutes east of Green Bay off highway 54 in Luxemburg.


21 LAP IMCA MODIFIED FEATURE – Sean Jerovetz, Little Suamico; Benji LaCrosse, Luxemburg; Chad Wilcox, Pulaski; Shawn Kilgore, Kewaunee; Mike Mullen, Seymour; Jared Siefert, Green Bay
12 LAP SEMI-FEATURES 1st) Dave Werbelow, Shawano; Eddie Muenster, Green Bay; Mike Mashl, De Pere
2nd) Jarrod Anvelink, Navarino; Brian Mullen, Seymour; Brian Joski, Green Bay
10 LAP HEATS 1st) Shawn Frelich, Kaukauna; Jerovetz
2nd) Eric Van Iten, Green Bay Kilgore
3rd) Wilcox; Kyle Odekirk, Oostburg
4th) Dan Gracyalny, Kaukauna; Mike Mullen

20 LAP IMCA STOCK CAR FEATURE – Troy Muench, Brussels; Cory Cochart, Brussels; Tony Schlei, Zion, Il.; BJ Soquet, Luxemburg; Matt Junio, Casco; Greg Gretz, Kewaunee
12 LAP SEMI-FEATURES 1st) Brian Bruechert, Kewaunee; Jeff Vlies, Kewaunee; Rick Dix, Green Bay
2nd) Troy Jerovetz, Green Bay; Brandon Mindak, Casco; Eric Malfroid, Luxemburg
10 LAP HEATS 1st) Doug Morgan, Mishicot; Soquet
2nd) Muench; Jamie Colwell, Greenleaf
3rd) Pat Davister, Luxemburg; Charlie Kroll, Forestville
4th) Jesse Colwell, Greenleaf; Schlei

18 LAP IMCA HOBBY STOCK FEATURE – Tom Brumlic, Denmark; Clint Forstner, Shawano; Jesse Kanas, Lomira; Mike Mueller, Green Bay; Dan Davister, Luxemburg; Chad Kaminski, Luxemburg
10 LAP HEATS 1st) Brumlic; Adam White, Oconto Falls
2nd) Forstner; Kanas

15 LAP SPORT FOUR FEATURE – Tim Jorgenson, De Pere; Bruce Sand, Mishicot; James Vandenboogart, Green Bay;
Michelle Skolaski, Oneida; Gary Novitski Jr., Mishicot; Brian Johnson, Oconto Falls
8 LAP HEATS 1st) Jorgenson; Skolaski
2nd) Kyle Burmeister, Kewaunee; Novitski Jr.

Trailer race winner – Jason Vandenouten, Luxemburg

Previous Post: LaCrosse Posts Fourth IMCA Mod Main at Luxemburg!

Next Post: LaCrosse Claims IMCA Modified Feature Win, Point Title!