Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

LaCrosse Nails First Luxemburg IMCA Modified Feature Win!

Posted under Race Reports on June 16th, 2006

Joe Verdegan

June 16, 2006; Luxemburg, WI. – Defending track champion Benji LaCrosse passed Kyle Odekirk with six laps remaining to win the 25 lap IMCA modified feature at Luxemburg Speedway Friday night. The victory was the first of the year for the hometown driver. Kewaunee’s Greg Gretz swept action in the IMCA stock car division, winning his heat and the 22 lap feature. 15 year old Adam White scored a clean sweep in the IMCA hobby stock division, winning both his heat race and the 20 lap feature.

A total of 127 cars were in the pits, including 37 IMCA modifieds, 44 IMCA stock cars, 22 IMCA hobby stocks and
24 sport fours.

Eric Van Iten and Kyle Odekirk traded the lead three times during the first 8 laps of the IMCA modified feature until caution flew for a Randy LeMieux spin in turn four.

On the restart Odekirk repassed Van Iten for the lead. LaCrosse passed Van Iten for second and began working
on Odekirk, who kept his machine on the high line while LaCrosse kept his racer glued to the bottom. LaCrosse passed Odekirk for the lead on lap 19. Brian Mullen scooted into second in the waning laps and began chasing down LaCrosse but it was all for naught as LaCrosse posted his first win of the season at his hometrack. Mullen, Van Iten,RM Van Pay wound up in the claim area while Odekirk posted his best finish of the year finishing fifth.

Bob Waechter outraced fellow front row starter Mike Pierrard at the drop of the green of the IMCA stock car feature.
Waechter broke from the pack in a few short laps, when Tony Schlei raced into second on lap five. Schlei kept Waechter
in his sights until a lap 12 spin flew when Mike Weitor, Dave Bouche and Dave Davister tangled in turn four.

When racing resumed Greg Gretz passed Schlei for second and began dogging Waechter. Gretz slipped underneath
Waechter for the lead on lap 16. Gretz went on to win the main, followed by Waechter, Eugene Gregorich, Schlei,
Charlie Kroll and Jason Czarapata.

White fought off a late race challenge in the IMCA hobby stock main from Ed Anschutz and Tom Brumlic, who
placed second and third, respectively. Luxemburg drivers Dave De Grave and Dan Davister rounded out the top
five finishers.

De Pere’s Tom Jorgenson won the sport four feature, his second feature flag of the season.

Next Friday night, June 23 will be Robinson Metals night at the races. There will be extra cash available to the
winners in all of the divisions. IMCA modifieds will race for $1,000-to-win. IMCA stock cars will battle for a $500.

There will also be a kids coin toss at intermission and a Powder Puff race for the ladies at the end of the regular program.
All four divisions will be in action. Racing begins at 7 p.m. For more information call 920 863 8446. The track phone number is 920 845 2300. The track’s website is


25 lap IMCA modified feature – Benji LaCrosse, Luxemburg; Brian Mullen, Seymour; Eric Van Iten, Green Bay; RM Van Pay,
Denmark; Kyle Odekirk, Oostburg; Todd Dart, Algoma

10 lap semi features – 1st) Shawn Kilgore, Kewaunee; Art Siefert, Green Bay; Mike Mullen, Seymour 2nd) Eddie Muenster, Green Bay; Mike Mashl, De Pere; Jeremy Jacobs, Kewaunee

10 lap heats 1) Danny Gracyalny, De Pere; LaCrosse 2nd) Van Iten; Chad Wilcox, Pulaski 3rd) Dart; Mullen 4th) Dave Zeitler, Luxemburg; Odekirk

22 lap IMCA stock car feature – Greg Gretz, Kewaunee; Bob Waechter, Ellisville; Eugene Gregorich, Kewaunee; Tony Schlei,
Zion, Il.; Charlie Kroll, Forestville; Jason Czarapata, Pulaski

10 lap semi features – 1st) Jeff Vlies, Kewaunee; Cory Cochart, Brussels; Dave Bouche, Algoma 2nd) Troy Muench, Green Bay; Brandon Mindak, Casco; Kyle Frederick, Gillett 3rd) Doug Morgan, Mishicot; Laurel Ettien, Luxemburg; Mark Derenne, Luxemburg

10 lap heats 1st) Kerry Havlovetz, Maribel; Shawn Havel, Brussels 2nd) Mike Pierrard, Green Bay; Mike Weitor, Green Bay 3rd) Waechter; Kroll 4th) Gregorich; Jamie Colwell, Greenleaf 5th) Greg Gretz; Schlei

20 lap IMCA hobby stock feature – Adam White, Little Suamico; Ed Anschutz, Algoma; Tom Brumlic, Denmark; Dave De Grave, Luxemburg; Dan Davister, Luxemburg; Keith Kickbush, Kewaunee

10 lap heats 1st) Mike Mueller, Green Bay; Willie De Grave, Luxemburg 2nd) Adam White; Kickbush 3rd) De Grave; Brandon Peterson, Sturgeon Bay

15 lap sport four feature – Tim Jorgenson, De Pere; James Vandenboogart, Green Bay; Brent Besaw, Green Bay; Jeremy Czarapata, Pulaski; Ben Dauost, Seymour; Jared Smith, Green Bay

8 lap heats 1) Brad Williquette, Green Bay; Jorgenson 2) Tom White, Oconto; Vandenboogart 3) Besaw; Gary Novitski Jr., Mishicot

Previous Post: Matthias Scores $3,000 IMCA Mod Win at Luxemburg!

Next Post: Siefert Sweeps Luxemburg IMCA Modifieds!