Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

LaCrosse Scores Second Luxemburg IMCA Mod Feature

Posted under Race Reports on July 7th, 2006

By Joe Verdegan

July 7, 2006; Luxemburg, WI. – Defending track champion Benji LaCrosse of Luxemburg passed veteran Jerry Muenster of Luxemburg for the lead on lap 20 and went on to win the caution free 25 lap IMCA modified feature at Luxemburg Speedway Friday night.

Defending track champion Benji LaCrosse of Luxemburg passed veteran Jerry Muenster of Luxemburg for the lead on lap 20 and went on to win the caution free 25 lap IMCA modified feature at Luxemburg Speedway Friday night. With the win LaCrosse became the first repeat winner in the division this season A total of 144 cars were in the pits, including 34 IMCA modifieds, 41 IMCA stock cars, 21 IMCA hobby stocks, 21 street stocks and 27 sport fours.

Mike Mullen shot from his pole position into the lead, with Muenster on his tail. The pair quickly pulled away from the pack with Muenster taking the lead on lap 11. LaCrosse, who started 12th, used the tacky, outside groove of the third-mile, clay oval to slice his way through the field, taking second by lap 15. LaCrosse began reeling in Muenster, passing him with five laps remaining. LaCrosse held on for the win while Muenster recorded his best performance of the season taking second. Dan Ratajczak, Mike Mullen and Danny Deau rounded out the top five.

After starting seventeenth Pulaski’s Jason Czarapata battled his way through the field, taking the lead on a lap 14 restart and winning the 22 lap IMCA stock car feature. Czarapata, who had to earn a starting berth into the main by winning a semi-feature, scored his second feature flag of the season.

Green Bay’s Troy DeGrave paced the opening two circuits of the 22 lap IMCA stock car main, with rookie Mike Pierrard wrestling the lead away on lap two. A lap four caution flew when several mid-pack cars tangled in turn four. On the restart Pierrard maintained the lead with BJ Soquet running second. Pierrard slowly stretched his lead to five car lengths by the halfway point.

Jamie Colwell drove around Soquet for second with Czarapata running third. The duo hooked up and slowly began reeling Pierrard in, catching a break when caution flew on lap fourteen for debris on the track. When racing resumed Czarapata took the outside line around both Colwell and Pierrard to take the lead. Pierrard fought back and the pair swapped the lead. With three laps to go Jesse Colwell joined brother Jamie and a four car tussle for the lead ensued. When the white flag was displayed Pierrard and Greg Gretz tangled, drawing a yellow. The race was scored back to the last completed lap, with Czarapata scoring the win.

Trailing at the checkers were Jesse Colwell, Jamie Colwell, Jeff Vlies and BJ Soquet.

Denmark’s Tom Brumlic passed Dylan Heilmann for the lead on lap eight and went on to win his second 18 lap IMCA hobby stock feature of the season. With his heat win Brumlic swept action in the division. Trailing at the checkers were Heilmann, Ed Anschutz, Dan Davister and Mike Mueller.

Forestville’s Von Eychenson won the crash filled, time shortened 12 lap street stock feature. Bill Kelsey, Fred Davister, Joe Johnson and Harley Simon rounded out the top five finishers. Five yellows slowed the contest.

Points leader Tim Jorgenson of Oneida won the time shortened 12 lap sport four feature. It was Jorgenson’s fourth feature flag at Luxemburg this year. Jorgenson was forced the qualify for the feature by winning a semi-feature.

The contest was marred by a pair of seperate rollover incidents involving Green Bay’s Brent Besaw and Oconto’s RJ Legois. Besaw was unhurt while Legois was treated for a knee injury.

Next Friday night, July 14 will feature Big Wheel races sponsored by Pepsi Cola for kids ages 3 through 10 A full program will be run Racing begins at 7 p.m. For more information call 920 863 8446. The track phone number is 920 845 2300. The track’s website is


25 lap IMCA modified feature – Benji LaCrosse, Luxemburg; Jerry Muenster, Green Bay; Dan Ratajczak, Frog Station;Mike Mullen, Seymour; Danny Deau, Little Suamico; Jared Siefert, Green Bay
10 lap semi features – 1st) Dean Maurer, De Pere; Lance Arnenson, Oconto Falls; Chad Wilcox, Pulaski;
2nd) Shawn Kilgore,
Kewaunee; Tim Van De Hei, Green Bay; Dave Werbelow Jr., Shawano
10 lap heats 1st) Ratajczak; Muenster
2nd) Jay Matthias, De Pere; RM Van Pay, Denmark
3rd) Dan Gracyalny, De Pere; Randy LeMieux Jr., Sturgeon Bay
4th) Mike Mullen; Todd Dart, Algoma

22 lap IMCA stock car feature – Jason Czarapata, Pulaski; Jesse Colwell, Greenleaf; Jamie Colwell, Greenleaf; Jeff Vlies,
Kewaunee; BJ Soquet, Luxemburg; Cory Cochart, Brussels
10 lap semi features – 1st) Mike Weitor, Green Bay; Brandon Mindak, Casco; Matt Junio, Casco
2nd) Czarapata; Cochart; Tony Schlei, Zion, IL
3rd) Greg Gretz, Kewaunee; Kyle Frederick, Gillett; Derek Moede, Casco
10 lap heats) 1st) Charlie Kroll, Forestville; Mike Gilson, Greenleaf
2nd) Kerry Havlovetz, Maribel; Troy De Grave, Green Bay
3rd) Bob Waechter, Ellisville; Eric Malfroid, Luxemburg
4th) Mike Pierrard, Green Bay; BJ Soquet
5th) Jamie Colwell; Todd Polster, Baileys Harbor

12 lap street stock feature – Von Eychenson, Forestville; Bill Kelsey, Sobieski; Fred Davister, Luxemburg; Joe Johnson, Oneida; Harley Simon, Black Creek; Kyle Kudick, Mishicot
10 lap heats 1) Aaron Thornton, Sturgeon Bay; Larry Ingebretsen, Luxemburg
2) Eychenson; Kelsey

20 lap IMCA hobby stock feature – Tom Brumlic, Denmark; Dylan Heilmann, Green Bay; Ed Anschutz, Algoma; Dan Davister,
Luxemburg; Mike Mueller, Green Bay; Keith Kickbush, Kewaunee
10 lap heats 1st) Brumlic; Duane Mertens, Casco
2nd) Mike Mueller, Green Bay; Jesse Kanas, Lomira
3rd) Dave De Grave, Luxemburg; Davister

15 lap sport four feature – Tim Jorgenson, Oneida; Bob Abbet, Maribel; Gary Novitski, Mishicot; James Vandenboogart, Green Bay; Jeremy Czarapata, Pulaski; Sue Cherney, Mishicot
8 lap semi-feature – Jorgenson; Phil Martzahl, Freedom; Bruce Sand, Mishicot
8 lap heats 1st) Jared Smith, Green Bay; Bob Abbet, Maribel
2nd) Ben Daoust, Seymour; Brian Johnson, Oconto Falls
3rd) Vandenboogart; Matt Oreskovich, Clintonville

Previous Post: Siefert Ends Dry Spell With Thrilling Luxemburg Win!

Next Post: Van Pay Bests Siefert In Luxemburg IMCA Mod Go!