Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

LaCrosse Shades Brian Mullen in Luxemburg IMCA Mod Go!

Posted under Race Reports on August 11th, 2006

By Joe Verdegan

August 11, 2006; Luxemburg, WI. -Hometown driver Benji LaCrosse started 18th and passed James Tebon for the lead on lap 10 to win his third 25 lap IMCA modified feature at Luxemburg Speedway Friday night. LaCrosse had to qualify into the feature by winning one of two last chance races. The defending track champion regained his division points lead with the victory, his third here of the season. 132 cars were on hand, including 36 IMCA modifieds, 37 IMCA stock cars, 16 EWSC supermodifieds, 19 IMCA hobby stocks and 23 sport fours.

Polesitter Mark Berglund paced the opening four circuits of the 25 lap contest until Dave Werbelow drew a caution when his racer stalled on lap four. When racing resumed James Tebon took the lead with Randy Back and Jerry Muenster trailing. LaCrosse scooted through the field, taking second on lap nine and passing Tebon for the lead on lap ten.

LaCrosse found the wet, heavy track to his liking, as he quickly distanced himself from the field, building a full straightaway lead by lap 15. A lap 21 yellow flew for debris, setting up a four lap dash to the finish. Brian Mullen moved into second and challenged LaCrosse in the final laps. LaCrosse held on for the win. Mullen hung on for second, followed by Sean Jerovetz, Chad Wilcox and Art Siefert.

Waldo’s Billy “The Bear” Hafeman fought off a late race charge by Tim McMullen to collect his first career 23 lap winged supermodified feature for the visiting group from Eastern Wisconsin Stock Car (EWSC). McMullen took second, followed by Paul Pokorski, Steve Bricker and Butch Hafeman.

Kewaunee’s Eugene Gregorich passed Ben Kroll for the lead on the final lap to win his first 22 lap IMCA stock car feature of the season.

Veteran Tony Bouche led the opening four laps of the 22 lap IMCA stock car feature before surrendering the lead to Ben Kroll on lap four. Bob Waechter passed Bouche for second on lap six and began tracking down Kroll. The pair pulled away from the field by the halfway point. Debris on the track on lap 19 set up a three lap dash to the finish. Gregorich moved into second on the restart and pressured Kroll for the lead. As the white flag was displayed Gregorich ducked underneath Kroll for the win. Kroll, Troy Muench, Laurel Ettien and points leader Jason Czarapata rounded out the top five finishers.

Oconto Falls Joe White passed Mike Mueller for the lead on lap 10 and went on to win his second 16 lap IMCA hobby stock feature. Points leader Ed Anschutz nipped Keith Kickbush for the runnerup spot at the line. Mueller and Clint Forstner took fourth and fifth, respectively. Tim Jorgenson of De Pere won the time shortened sport four feature his fifth of the year. The event was marred by Bob Abbet barrel rolling his racer three times off the track in turn three. Abbet was unhurt. Next Friday night, August 18 Prestige Custom Cabinetry sponsors the races. It will be the final street stock race for the season. All four weekly divisions will be in action.

For more information call 920 863 8446. The track phone is 920 845 2300. The track website is

Luxemburg Speedway is located 15 minutes east of Green Bay off highway 54 in Luxemburg.


30 LAP EWSC SUPERMODIFIED FEATURE – Billy Hafeman, Waldo;Tim McMullen, Plymouth; Paul Pokorski, West Bend; Steve Bricker, Cato; Butch Hafeman, Campbellsport; Brad Swendrowski, Milwaukee

10 LAP HEATS 1ST) Swendrowski; Pokorski
2nd) Kris Hansen, Manitowoc; Bricker

25 LAP IMCA MODIFIED FEATURE – Benji LaCrosse, Luxemburg; Brian Mullen, Seymour; Sean Jerovetz, Little Suamico; Chad Wilcox, Pulaski; Art Siefert, Green Bay; Jay Matthias, De Pere

12 LAP SEMI-FEATURES 1st) Shawn Kilgore, Kewaunee; Brian Mullen, Seymour; RM Van Pay, Denmark
2nd) LaCrosse; Danny Gracyalny, De Pere; Dave Werebelow Jr., Shawano

10 LAP HEATS 1st) Art Siefert; Wilcox
2nd) Dave Fischer, Green Bay; Danny Deau, Little Suamico
3rd) Kyle Odekirk, Oostburg; James Tebon, Algoma
4th) Randy LeMieux Jr., Sturgeon Bay; Jerovetz

22 LAP IMCA STOCK CAR FEATURE – Eugene Gregorich, Kewaunee; Ben Kroll, New Franken; Troy Muench, Algoma; Laurel Ettien, Luxemburg; Jason Czarapata, Pulaski; Bob Waechter, Ellisville

12 LAP SEMI-FEATURES 1st) Jason Czarapata, Pulaski; Doug Morgan, Mishicot; Troy Jerovetz, Green Bay
2nd) Shawn Havel, Brussels; Mike Weitor, Green Bay; BJ Soquet, Luxemburg

10 LAP HEATS 1st) Ben Kroll; Eric Malfroid, Luxemburg
2nd) Charlie Kroll; Forestville Kerry Havlovetz, Maribel
3rd) Tony Bouche, Algoma; Matt Junio, Casco
4th) Ettien; Troy De Grave, Green Bay

16 LAP IMCA HOBBY STOCK FEATURE – Joe White, Oconto Falls; Ed Anschutz, Algoma; Keith Kickbush, Kewaunee;
Mike Mueller, Green Bay; Clint Forstner, Shawano; Marty Abshire, Pleasant Prairie

10 LAP HEATS 1st) Duane Mertens, Luxemburg; Tom Brumlic, Denmark
2nd) Mueller; Chad Kaminski, Luxemburg

15 LAP SPORT FOUR FEATURE – Tim Jorgenson, De Pere; Matt Theys, Green Bay; JJ Anderson, Little Suamico;
Rachel Czarapata, Pulaski; Brian Johnson, Oconto Falls

8 LAP HEATS 1st) Phil Martzall, Freedom; Sue Cherney, Mishicot
2nd) Ralph Legois Jr., Spring Valley
3rd) Theys

Previous Post: Terry Anvelink Bests Son Nick in Luxemburg WDLMA Late Model Feature!

Next Post: LaCrosse Posts Fourth IMCA Mod Main at Luxemburg!