Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

Nick Anvelink Captures Luxemburg WDLMA Late Model Main!

Posted under Race Reports on July 16th, 2006

By Joe Verdegan

July 16, 2006; Luxemburg, WI. -Navarino’s Nick Anvelink took the lead on a lap four restart and went on to win the
40 lap Wisconsin Dirt Late Model Association (WDLMA) late model special at Luxemburg Speedway Sunday
night. Anvelink’s victory was worth $1,500.

Polesitter Al Atkinson jumped into the lead at the drop of the green in the 40 lap contest. A lap four spin flew for an MJ Hintz spin. When racing resumed Nick Anvelink leaped into second and passed Atkinson for the lead one lap later. Anvelink stretched his advantage to five car lengths during the next five laps. Anvelink’s surge came to a halt on lap 10 when Cody Grosskruetz and Turk Letizia tangled in turn two.

On the restart Todd Jensema motored around Atkinson to take second, while Anvelink quickly distanced himself from the rest of the pack. Troy Springborn ducked underneath Jensema to take the runnerup spot. By lap 20 Anvelink began sifting through lapped traffic. Springborn was able to close the gap while Anvelink was bottled up but Anvelink carefully weaved his way through lapped traffic to take the victory. Springborn hung on for second, followed by Russ Scheffler, Eric Pember and Pete Parker, who charged through the field from his seventeenth starting spot to claim fifth.

Little Suamico’s Danny Deau passed Sturgeon Bay’s Billy LeMieux for the lead on lap17 and went on to win the 25 lap
IMCA modified feature, his second of the year. Deau’s earlier heat win netted him a sweep of the division.

Oostburg’s Kyle Odekirk paced the opening three circuits of the 25 lap IMCA modified feature when a lap three yellow flew when James Tebon, Todd Dart and Danny Gracyalny tangled in turn one. On the restart Billy LeMieux stormed past Odekirk to take the lead, with Chris Derenne on his tail. The pair diced for the lead the next several laps, with LeMieux keeping the upper hand using the lower groove to his advantage.

By lap 14, Danny Deau caught up with LeMieux and a three way tussle ensued for the lead. Deau manuevered into the lead on lap 17, with Jared Siefert challenging Derenne for second. Siefert took second away from Derenne with five laps to go. His attempts to reel Deau in came up short, as Deau nailed down his second feature flag of the year. Siefert, Benji LaCrosse, Derenne and Sean Jerovetz rounded out the top five finishers. Both LaCrosse and Jerovetz were forced to qualify into the main events through last chance races.

Greenleaf’s Jamie Colwell fought off a late race charge by Jason Czarapata and Rod Snellenberger to win his first

22 lap IMCA stock car feature of the season. Czarapata, Snellenberger, Shawn Wagner and Eugene Gregorich rounded out the top five finishers.

Luxemburg’s Dan Davister took the lead with a restart on lap 16 to secure his second 18 lap IMCA hobby stock feature win of the season. Jesse Kanas, Mike Mueller, Ed Anschutz and Marcus Moede rounded out the top five finishers.

Wagner led flag-to-flag en route to victory in the track’s first ever running of the IMCA northern sportmods. Wagner won the caution free 15 lap contest.

A total of 130 cars were in the pits, including 28 WDLMA late models, 32 IMCA modifieds, 40 IMCA stock cars,
21 IMCA hobby stocks and 9 IMCA northern sportmods.

Green Bay’s Derek Kaye escaped injury when his IMCA stock car snapped it’s rear end, sending the car into a snap roll during a semi-feature event.

There will be no racing next Friday night July 21 due to the Kewaunee County Fair. Weekly Friday night racing will resume on July 28 with Triangle Distributing/Miller Lite sponsoring the races. Street stocks will make their third appearance of the season, along with the track’s four weekly divisions. For more information call 920 863 8446.

The track phone number is 920 845 2300. The track’s website is


40 lap WDLMA late model feature – Nick Anvelink, Navarino; Troy Springborn, Shawano; Russ Scheffler, Waukesha; Eric Pember, Pittsville; Pete Parker, Kaukauna; Todd Jensema, Oostburg; Ron Berna, Green Bay; Jeremie Hedrick, Shawano;
Todd Flannery, Antigo; Al Atkinson, Franklin; MJ Hintz, De Pere; Tom Naeyaert, Shawano; George Scheffler, Waukesha;
Rick Scheffler, Waukesha; Tim Carmen, Sheboygan Falls; Turk Letizia, South Milwaukee; Dan Gracyalny, De Pere;
MJ McBride, Shawano; Scott Sorwheide, Chilton; Cody Grosskruetz, Clintonville
15 lap semi-feature – Hedrick; Parker; Carmen; Rick Scheffler
10 lap heats 1st) Anvelink; Turk Letizia
2nd) Pember; George Scheffler
3rd) Atkinson; Flannery

25 lap IMCA modified feature – Danny Deau, Little Suamico; Jared Siefert, Green Bay; Benji LaCrosse, Luxemburg; Chris Derenne, Luxemburg; Sean Jerovetz, Little Suamico; Tim Van De Hei, Green Bay
10 lap semi features – 1st) LaCrosse; Paul Parker, Kaukauna; Dan Ratajczak, Frog Station
2nd) Jerovetz; Jeremie Hedrick, Shawano; Randy Back, Green Bay
10 lap heats 1st) Derenne; RM Van Pay, Denmark
2nd) Lance Arnenson, Oconto Falls; Bill LeMieux
3rd) Kyle Odekirk, Oostburg; Van De Hei
4th) Deau; Chad Wilcox, Pulaski

22 lap IMCA stock car feature – Jamie Colwell, Greenleaf; Jason Czarapata, Pulaski; Rod Snellenberger, Pulaski;
Shawn Wagner, Pulaski; Eugene Gregorich, Kewaunee; Junior Karcz, Pulaski
10 lap semi features – 1st) Pat Davister, Luxemburg; Shawn Havel, Brussels; Karcz
2nd) Tony Schlei, Zion, IL; Jeff Vlies, Brussels; Mike Pierrard, Green Bay
3rd) Charlie Kroll, Forestville; Derrick Bruechert, Kewaunee; Todd Polster, Baileys Harbor
10 lap heats) 1st) Troy Muench, Brussels; Jesse Colwell, Greenleaf
2nd) Laurel Ettien, Luxemburg; Gregorich
3rd) Snellenberger; BJ Soquet, Luxemburg
4th) Bob Waechter, Ellisville; Dave Bouche, Algoma
5th) Tony Bouche, Algoma; Czarapata

18 lap IMCA hobby stock feature – Dan Davister, Luxemburg; Jesse Kanas, Lomira; Mike Mueller, Green Bay; Ed Anschutz, Algoma; Marcus Moede, Casco; Keith Kickbush, Kewaunee
10 lap heats 1st) Mueller; Chad Kaminski, Luxemburg
2nd) Anschutz; Duane Mertens, Casco
3rd) Adam White, Oconto Falls; Moede

IMCA Northern Sportmods
15 lap feature – Shawn Wagner, Pulaski; Craig Hoffman, New London; Tracy Wassenberg, Shawano; Jamie Diestler, Antigo;
Aaron Holiday, Green Bay; Greg Magsam, Black Creek
10 lap heat 1st) Brad Bricco, Shawano; Hoffman

Previous Post: Van Pay Bests Siefert In Luxemburg IMCA Mod Go!

Next Post: Dart Fends Off LaCrosse to Win Luxemburg IMCA Mod Feature!