Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

Scott Mullen Wins Luxemburg IMCA Mod Feature!

Posted under Race Reports on June 8th, 2006

Joe Verdegan

June 8, 2006; Luxemburg, WI. – Seymour’s Scott Mullen took the lead on a lap seven restart and hung on to win the 25 lap IMCA modified feature at Luxemburg Speedway Friday night. The event was the first of two nights during the first ever Badger State Showdown, presented McCoy’s Harley Davidson and 1st Choice Auto of Green Bay.

The top six finishers in each feature this evening were guaranteed starting spots into tomorrow night’s features.

A total of 106 cars were in the pits, including 40 IMCA modifieds, 45 IMCA stock cars and 21 IMCA hobby stocks.

Hinton, Iowa visitor Reese Coffee jumped from his pole position into the lead in the IMCA modified feature, with hometown driver Jay Matthias roaring on the outside into the lead on lap two. The pair swapped the lead the next few laps when Coffee’s engine expired, drawing a caution for debris on the track on lap seven.

On the restart Scott Mullen darted inside of Matthias to take the lead. Mullen kept all challengers at bay to collect the victory. Jay Matthias outraced Dan Ratajczak to the line for second, with Ratajczak taking third. Brian Mullen took fourth,
followed by Todd Dart and Jeremie Hedrick.

Pulaski’s Rod Snellenberger took the lead from Jason Czarapata on lap four and survived several caution periods to win
the 22 lap IMCA stock car feature.

The contest got off to a rough start when Ben Kroll collided with another car on the backstretch of lap two, sending Kroll’s
racer into a barrel roll. Kroll’s racer landed back right side up. His car was damaged but he was ok. On the restart Pulaski drivers Snellenberger and Jason Czarapata traded the lead, with Snellenberger taking control of the lead on lap four. Snellenberger kept his racer glued to the lower groove. Snellenberger slowly stretched his lead, when caution flew on lap 10 when Greg Gretz’ racer stalled after snapping an axle.

When racing resumed a four car pileup ensued in turn four, involving Cory Cochart, Eric Malfroid, Brian Bruechert and Junior Karcz. The balance of the race went green, with Snellenberger being continually hounded by Matt Junio and Czarapata in the waning laps. Snellenberger was up for the challenge, as the Pulaski driver took the victory. Czarapata took second, followed by Junio, Jesse Colwell, Jeff Vlies and last week’s feature winner Greg Gretz.

Hometown driver Dave De Grave passed Oconto Falls Joe White with two laps remaining to win the 20 lap IMCA hobby stock feature. Joe White, who led all but the final two laps of the race, took second. White’s nephew Adam White took third. Jesse Kanas, Marcus Moede and Iowan Larry Embrey rounded out the top six finishers.

Racing begins at 7 p.m. tomorrow. A full program of heat races, semi-features and main events will be run. The IMCA modified feature winner will pocket $3,0000, while the IMCA stock car feature winner will receive $2,000. IMCA hobby stocks will battle for an $800 top prize. For more information call 920 863 8446. The track phone number is
920 845 2300. The track’s website is


25 lap IMCA modified feature – Scott Mullen, Seymour; Jay Matthias, De Pere; Dan Ratajczak, Frog Station; Brian Mullen, Seymour; Todd Dart, Algoma; Jeremie Hedrick, Shawano

10 lap semi features – 1st) Danny Gracyalny, De Pere; Brian Joski, Green Bay; Jerry Muenster, Green Bay 2nd) Eddie Muenster, Green Bay; Randy LeMieux Jr., Sturgeon Bay; Sean Jerovetz, Little Suamico 3rd) Lance Arnenson, Oconto Falls; Art Siefert, Green Bay; Mike Mullen, Seymour

10 lap heats 1) Dave Zeitler, Luxemburg; Reese Coffee, Hinton, Iowa 2) Dart; Brian Mullen 3) Matthias; Scott Mullen 4) Mike Mashl, De Pere; Ratajczak 5) Jeremy Jacobs, Algoma; Hedrick

22 lap IMCA stock car feature – Rod Snellenberger, Pulaski; Jason Czarapata, Pulaski; Matt Junio, Casco; Jesse Colwell, Greenleaf; Jeff Vlies, Kewaunee; Greg Gretz, Kewaunee

12 lap semi features – 10 lap semi features – 1st) Vlies; Dan Michonski, Leopolis; Eugene Gregorich, Kewaunee 2nd) Bob Waechter, Ellisville; Cory Sohuski, Bolt; Laurel Ettien, Luxemburg 3rd) Jamie Colwell, Greenleaf; Shawn Havel, Brussels; Dave Bouche, Algoma

10 lap heats 1) Derrick Bruechert, Kewaunee; Troy Jerovetz, Green Bay 2) Junior Karcz, Pulaski; Ben Kroll, Luxemburg 3) Cory Cochart, Brussels; Eugene Gregorich, Kewaunee 4) Snellenberger; Brian Bruechert, Kewaunee 5) Junio; Jesse Colwell

20 lap IMCA hobby stock feature – Dave De Grave, Luxemburg; Joe White, Oconto Falls; Adam White, Little Suamico; Jesse Kanas, Lomira; Marcus Moede, Casco; Larry Embrey, Granger, Iowa

10 lap heats 1) Joe White; Embrey 2) Moede; De Grave 3) Ed Anschutz, Algoma; Kanas

Previous Post: Dart Snares IMCA Mod Feature!

Next Post: Matthias Scores $3,000 IMCA Mod Win at Luxemburg!