Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

Siefert Ends Dry Spell With Thrilling Luxemburg Win!

Posted under Race Reports on June 30th, 2006

by Tom Wagner

June 30, 2006; Luxemburg, WI. – Art Siefert edged R.M. VanPay to win his first feature in over two decades Friday night at the Luxemburg Speedway in Luxemburg.

Following Siefert’s path to victory lane were Charle Kroll in the IMCA Stock Cars, Keith Kickbusch in the IMCA Hobby Stocks, Tim Jorgenson in the Sport 4s and Michael Robinson in the visiting area Hobby Stocks.

Back in the late 70s and early 80s, Siefert was one of the top guns in the Sportsman class at the Shawano Speedway. He had been a track champ in the division that has now evolved into the Limited Late Models. The year was 1982 when he last rolled into victory lane to claim a feature win, a scene that wouldn’t be repeated until Friday night at Luxemburg in the spotlight IMCA Modified headliner.

Siefert used a restart on the 10th lap to shoot to the inside of leader Scott Boyea. He was able to gain a slight cushion as Boyea worked to fend off VanPay and Jared Siefert for the runner-up spot. What little edge the leader enjoyed was wiped away by a caution for debris with ten laps to go.

VanPay was set up on the inside of the second row for the restart. He followed Siefert for a couple laps before swinging to the outside. VanPay closed the gap, eventually pulling even. Over the course of the final five laps, the duo took turns edging ahead of each other – Siefert clinging to the low line and VanPay running the top groove. Each lap, the leader was almost too close to call at the line.

On the final circuit, Siefert cut a flawless lap to offset VanPay’s momentum advantage on the higher line. Out of four, Siefert had the edge with VanPay closing fast down the front stretch. At the stripe, it was Siefert by a matter of inches.

Jared Siefert joined his father in the infield after a solid third place run. Benji LaCrosse rallied from a 7th row starting spot for fourth, followed by Dan Gracyalny and Boyea in the top six.

Kroll never had a huge lead, but it was a safe margin just the same in the IMCA Stock Car finale. He took the lead on the fourth lap from Craig Paque just before caution flew for Tony Schlei’s spin in the second corner.

Kroll was able to take command as Paque and Jason Czarapata locked in a battle for second. The duel ended as Czarapata’s dive to the inside of Paque through one and two ended in a spin. With Czarapata relegated to the back, Paque had to fend off Brian Bruechert and Jesse Colwell as Kroll again pulled slightly away.

With no further cautions, Kroll marched on to his first Luxemburg win of the season. Despite all the pressure, Paque was able to hang on for second followed by Colwell and Bruechert. Rob Waechter stayed up front for the duration to take fifth followed by Shawn Havel.

Adam White appeared to be headed to the trophy in the IMCA Hobby Stock feature until a series of cautions wiped out his advantage with three laps to go. Kickbusch shot by on the inside on the final restart, then held off Ed Anschutz over the course of the final three laps to take the win. It was Kickbusch’s second straight feature triumph.

Anschutz, the division point leader, saw his lead over Kickbusch decrease by only a point as he drove on to second, with White completing the podium finishers. Tom Brumlic took fourth, Jesse Kanas fifth and Jarred VanLaanen matched his season best with a sixth place run.

Jorgenson dominated the Sport 4 feature after passing Michelle Skolaski on the third lap. He extended the lead to nearly half a lap at the time of the checker.

The best contest was for second as James VanDenBoogart won a race-long battle with Phil Martzahl to claim the spot. Brian Besaw was fourth, Gary Novitski fifth and Jeremy Czarapata, who qualified through the semi, sixth.

Three area Hobby Stock classes came together to form a fifth division Friday. Robinson, representing the Eastern 8s from Manitowoc passed Bret Koehler on the sixth lap. Koehler stayed close, and had a couple solid shots at the lead, but Robinson was able to fend him off for the win.

Victory Signs will sponsor the show this Friday night as the Street Stocks will join the regular four divisions for the second time this season. Racing action begins at 7:00 PM.

For more information call 920 863 8446. The track phone number is 920 845 2300. The track’s website is

Luxemburg Speedway Results 6/30/2006

IMCA Modified
25 Lap Feature – Art Siefert, Green Bay – R.M. VanPay, Denmark – Jared Siefert, Green Bay – Benji LaCrosse, Luxemburg – Dan Gracyalny, DePere – Scott Boyea, Abrams
Semi-Feature 1 – Jay Matthias, DePere – Tim VanDeHei, Green Bay – Dan Ratajczak, Frog Station – Shawn Kilgore, Kewaunee
Semi-Feature 2 – Danny Deau, Little Suamico – Sean Jerovetz, Little Suamico – Dave Zeitler, Luxemburg – Todd Dart, Algoma
Heat 1 – Chris Derenne, Luxemburg – Art Siefert
Heat 2 – James Tebon, Algoma – Jeremy Jacobs, Algoma
Heat 3 – Brian Joski, Luxemburg – Gracyalny
Heat 4 – Boyea – Lance Arneson, Oconto Falls

IMCA Stock Car
22 Lap Feature – Charlie Kroll, Forestville – Craig Paque, Algoma – Jesse Colwell, Wrightstown – Brian Bruechert, Kewaunee – Rob Waechter, Ellisville – Shawn Havel, Brussels
Sem-Feature 1 – Cory Cochart, Kewaunee – Troy Muench, Brussels – Laurel Ettien, Luxemburg – Jaime Colwell, Wrightstown
Semi-Feature 2 – Cory Cochart, Kewaunee – Kyle Frederick, Gillett – Matt Junio, Casco – Doug Morgan, Mishicot
Semi-Feature 3 – Jeff Vlies, Kewaunee – Pat Davister, Luxemburg – Derrick Bruechert, Kewaunee – Gene Johnson, Oconto Falls
Heat 1 – Tony Schlei, Zion IL – Kroll
Heat 2 – Kerry Havlovitz, Maribel – Cory Suchocki, Bolt
Heat 3 – Brandon Mindak, Casco – Jesse Colwell
Heat 4 – Jason Czarapata, Pulaski – Waechter
Heat 5 – Brian Bruechert – Paque

IMCA Hobby Stock
18 Lap Feature – Keith Kickbusch, Kewaunee – Ed Anschutz, Algoma – Adam White, Suamico – Tom Brumlic, Denmark – Jesse Kanas, Lomira – Jarred VanLaanen, Green Bay
Heat 1- White – Roger LaViolette, Forestville
Heat 2 – Dan Davister, Sugarbush – Kanas
Heat 3- Brumlic – Marcus Moede, Casco

Area Hobby Stocks
Feature – Michael Robinson, Denmark – Bret Koehler, Two Rivers – Joe Hegnet, Sturgeon Bay – Crystal Koening, Two Rivers – Rob Waechter Jr, Ellisville – Jeff Sayler, Howards Grove
Heat – Robinson – Sayler

Sport 4s
Feature – Tim Jorgenson, DePere – James VanDenBoogart, Green Bay – Phil Martzahl, Freedom – Brent Besaw, Green Bay – Gary Novitski Jr, Two Rivers – Jeremy Czarapata, Pulaski
Semi-Feature – Czarapata – Kurt Moeller – Brian Johnson, Oconto Falls – Nick Everard, Green Bay
Heat 1- Matzahl – Bruce Sand, Two Rivers
Heat 2 – Jorgenson – VanDenBoogart
Heat 3 -Tony Everard, Green Bay – Michelle Skolaski, Oneida

Previous Post: Siefert Sweeps Luxemburg IMCA Modifieds!

Next Post: LaCrosse Scores Second Luxemburg IMCA Mod Feature