Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

Terry Anvelink Bests Son Nick in Luxemburg WDLMA Late Model Feature!

Posted under Race Reports on August 4th, 2006

By Joe Verdegan

August 4, 2006; Luxemburg, WI. -Veteran Terry Anvelink of Navarino executed a daring three-wide pass on his son Nick Anvelink and race leader Russ Scheffler on lap 11 to win his first career 40 lap Wisconsin Dirt Late Model Association (WDLMA) feature at Luxemburg Speedway Friday night.

127 cars were on hand including 24 WDLMA late models, 40 IMCA modifieds, 46 IMCA stock cars and 17 IMCA hobby stocks.

Russ Scheffler drew the pole and immediately took the lead at the drop of the green. A lap six caution flew for a Tim Buhler spin. When racing resumed Terry and Nick Anvelink began pressuring Scheffler, with Nick down low and Terry running high. The father-son duo passed Scheffler for the lead on lap 11 with Terry taking the lead. Scheffler kept the leaders within striking distance as the lead duo began encountering lapped cars by lap 18.

The elder Anvelink skillfully weaved his way through a bevy of lapped cars throughout the contest, holding on for his first career win at the track. Nick Anvelink, Scheffler, Todd Jensema and Troy Springborn placed second through fifth, respectively.

Kaukauna’s Paul Parker fought off Jay Matthias and Jared Siefert in the closing laps to win the 25 lap IMCA modified feature, the first of his career at the track. Parker scored a clean sweep with his heat win.

Dave Fischer jumped into the lead at the drop of the green only to be passed by James Tebon for the top spot on lap two. Tebon pulled away from the field only to have his lead erased when RM Van Pay slowed off the track, drawing a caution. On the restart Tebon’s racer broke, handing the lead to Brian Joski. Joski’s lead was short lived when he spun on lap six, collecting the field. Paul Parker inherited the lead on the restart and quickly pulled away from the field.

After starting 20th, Matthias quietly threaded his way through the field, breaking into second on lap 14 and he began chasing down Parker for the lead. A Dan Gracyalny spin on lap 16 tightened the field again. Jared Siefert challenged Matthias for the runnerup spot on the restart. Parker fought off the challengers to collect the win. Matthias took second, gaining 18 spots in the process. Siefert kept third and in doing so gained a one point lead over Benji LaCrosse, who drove Siefert’s father Art’s car to a fourth place finish. LaCrosse had motor problems in his heat. Sean Jerovetz, who was forced to change motors after his heat race, rounded out the top five finishers.

Pulaski’s Jason Czarapata grabbed the lead on lap 13 and went on to win his fourth 22 lap IMCA stock car feature.

Polesitter Ben Kroll jumped into the lead at the drop of the green of the 22 lap contest. He held the spot until a lap eight yellow when Jamie Colwell’s racer stalled off of turn two. On the restart Casco’s Brandon Mindak slipped into second and began battling for the lead. Czarapata joined the mix, making a three car battle for the lead. Czarapata took the lead on lap 13, when a BJ Soquet spin drew another amber.

When racing resumed Brian Bruechert moved into second and began challenging Czarapata for the lead.

Eugene Gregorich stepped up to challenge Bruechert. It wound up being a race for second as Czarapata distanced himself from the field to collect his fourth feature win at Luxemburg. Bruechert, Gregorich, Tony Schlei and Brandon Mindak rounded out the top five.

15-year-old Adam White led from wire-to-wire, holding off Jesse Kanas and his uncle Joe White to win his second 18 lap IMCA hobby stock feature.

Next Friday night, August 11 will be U.S. Concrete Construction Sponsor Appreciation night. In addition to the track’s four weekly divisions the winged supermodifieds from EWSC will be on hand. For more information call 920 863 8446.

The track phone number is 920 845 2300. The track’s website is


40 lap WDLMA late model feature – Terry Anvelink, Navarino; Nick Anvelink, Navarino; Russ Scheffler, Waukesha; Todd Jensema, Oostburg; Troy Springborn, Shawano; Ron Berna, Green Bay; George Scheffler, Waukesha; Doug Blashe, Marion; Gordie Seegert, Oostburg; Justin Hirt, Tigerton; Tom Naeyaert, Shawano; Tim Buhler, Glenbeulah; Jim Letizia, South Milwaukee; Randy Markwardt, Sheboygan; Mike Stangl, Marshfield; Turk Letizia, South Milwaukee; Rick Scheffler, Waukesha; Nate Winkel, Oostburg; Charlie Schmidt, Oostburg; MJ McBride, Shawano

12 lap semi-feature – Stangl; McBride; Rick Scheffler; Schmidt; Turk Letizia

10 lap heats 1) George Scheffler; Blashe 2) Jim Letizia; Hirt 3) Nick Anvelink; Terry Anvelink

25 lap IMCA modified feature – Paul Parker, Kaukauna; Jay Matthias, De Pere; Jared Siefert, Green Bay; Benji LaCrosse, Luxemburg; Sean Jerovetz, Little Suamico; Brian Mullen, Seymour

10 lap semi features – 1st) RM Van Pay, Denmark; Danny Deau, Little Suamico Randy LeMieux Jr., Sturgeon Bay 2nd) Russ Reinwald, Horicon; Matthias; LaCrosse

10 lap heats 1st) Dave Fischer, Green Bay; Jared Siefert; 2nd) Brian Mullen; Dan Gracyalny, De Pere 3rd) Parker; Bill LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay 4th) Chris Derenne, Luxemburg; James Tebon, Algoma

22 lap IMCA stock car feature – Jason Czarapata, Pulaski; Brian Bruechert, Kewaunee; Eugene Gregorich, Kewaunee; Tony Schlei, Zion, IL; Brandon Mindak, Casco; Greg Gretz, Kewaunee

10 lap semi features – 1st) Bob Waechter, Ellisville; Kyle Frederick, Gillett; Tony Bouche, Algoma 2nd) Kerry Havlovetz, Maribel; Rod Snellenberger, Pulaski; BJ Soquet, Luxemburg 3rd) Jeff Vlies, Kewaunee; Troy Muench, Green Bay; Cory Cochart, Brussels

10 lap heats) 1st) Brian Bruechert, Kewaunee; Jason Czarapata, Pulaski 2nd) Pat Davister, Luxemburg; Eugene Gregorich, Kewaunee 3rd) Brandon Mindak, Casco; Charlie Kroll, Forestville 4th) Shawn Havel, Brussels; Tony Schlei, Zion, IL 5th) Jesse Colwell, Greenleaf; Ben Kroll, Luxemburg

18 lap IMCA hobby stock feature – Adam White, Oconto Falls; Jesse Kanas, Lomira; Joe White, Oconto Falls; Dave De Grave, Luxemburg; Tim Peer, Green Bay; Tom Brumlic, Denmark

10 lap heats 1st) Chad Kaminski, Luxemburg; Keith Kickbush, Kewaunee 2nd) De Grave; Adam White

Previous Post: Dart Fends Off LaCrosse to Win Luxemburg IMCA Mod Feature!

Next Post: LaCrosse Shades Brian Mullen in Luxemburg IMCA Mod Go!