Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

Van Pay Bests Siefert In Luxemburg IMCA Mod Go!

Posted under Race Reports on July 14th, 2006

By Joe Verdegan

July 14, 2006; Luxemburg, WI. – Denmark’s RM Van Pay fought off Green Bay’s Jared Siefert in the final laps to win the 21 lap IMCA modified feature at Luxemburg Speedway Friday night. The win was Van Pay’s second of the season. With the win Van Pay regained the points lead over Luxemburg’s Benji LaCrosse, who missed qualifying for the feature by one spot in his semi-feature.

Green Bay rookie Mike Pierrard fought off Brian Bruechert and Jamie Colwell in the final laps to collect his first career 22 lap IMCA stock car feature. Pierrard also won his heat sweeping the division for the evening. A total of 128 cars were in the pits, including 38 IMCA modifieds, 44 IMCA stock cars, 22 IMCA hobby stocks and 24 sport fours.

Billy LeMieux shot from his front row starting spot into the lead during the 21 lap IMCA modified feature. James Tebon wrestled the lead away from LeMieux on lap three. The pair ran nose-to-tail until a lap nine yellow flew for a Brian Joski spin. When racing resumed Siefert, Van Pay and Brian Mullen muscled their way to the front to challenge Tebon. Their momentum was thwarted for a Randy Back spin on lap 11.

On the restart Van Pay shot into the lead using the high line. Siefert took second and kept Van Pay in his sights.

During the next several laps Van committed to the top while Siefert stuck down low. Chris Derenne and rookie Shawn Kilgore tangled in turn one on lap 18. With laps being trimmed due to the number cautions a three lap shootout to the finish was setup. Van Pay held on to win the race, which ended with the checkered and yellow flags flown together due to a spin. Siefert hung on for runnerup honors while Zeitler posted his best finish here with a third. Brian Mullen and Mike Mashl rounded out the top five.

Rick Dix passed Pierrard for the lead on a lap one restart during the 22 lap IMCA stock car feature. Dix kept the lead using the high line while Pierrard fought back down low, repassing Dix for the lead on lap 10. By lap 12 Brian Bruechert, who started ninth, worked his way into third and pressured the lead duo. Pierrard and Dix continued to swap the lead for the next several laps.

A Laurel Ettien spin on lap 18 set up a four lap dash to the finish. On the restart Pierrard, Bruechert and Dix went three wide, with Pierrard protecting the bottom groove for the win, the first of his career in the division. Bruechert, Jamie Colwell, Dix and Greg Gretz rounded out the top five finishers.

Dylan Heilmann crossed the line first during the 16 lap IMCA hobby stock feature. The win would have been his first of the season, however he refused an engine claim afterwards. That disqualified him, handing the win to second place finisher Jesse Kanas of Lomira.

Matt Oreskovich of Clintonville won both his heat and the sport four feature, sweeping action in the sport four division.

It was his second feature win of the season here.

At intermission Green Bay’s RM Van Pay hot lapped John Ploeckelmann’s GRT WISSOTA late model for the first time
in ten years. Van Pay will be one of more than 30 late models involved in a special event on Sunday, July 16. Seubert Calf
Ranches will host the second appearance of the season by the late models from the Wisconsin Dirt Late Model Association (WDLMA).

IMCA modifieds, stock cars and hobby stocks will compete in a full track and national points program. Racing for this Sunday night special begins at 6:30 p.m. For more information call 920 863 8446. The track phone number is 920 845 2300.

The track’s website is


23 lap IMCA modified feature – RM Van Pay, Denmark; Jared Siefert, Green Bay; Dave Zeitler, Luxemburg; Brian Mullen, Seymour; Mike Mashl, De Pere; Todd Dart, Algoma
10 lap semi features – 1st) Shawn Kilgore, New Franken; Randy Back, Green Bay; Dan Ratajczak, Frog Station; Tim Van De Hei,
Green Bay 2nd) Todd Dart, Algoma; Dean Maurer, De Pere; Sean Jerovetz, Little Suamico; Jarrod Anvelink, Navarino
10 lap heats 1st) Brian Joski, Green Bay; Chris Derenne, Luxemburg
2nd) James Tebon, Algoma; Bill LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay
3rd) Randy LeMieux Jr., Sturgeon Bay; Mashl
4th) Jerry Muenster, Green Bay; Van Pay
5th) Dave Werbelow Jr., Shawano; Kyle Odekirk, Oostburg

22 lap IMCA stock car feature – Mike Pierrard, Green Bay; Brian Bruechert, Kewaunee; Jamie Colwell, Greenleaf; Rick Dix, Green Bay; Greg Gretz, Kewaunee; Jeff Vlies, Kewaunee
10 lap semi features – 1st) Jason Czarapata, Pulaski; Troy Muench, Green Bay; Pat Davister, Luxemburg
2nd) Charlie Kroll, Forestville; Craig Paque, Algoma; Brandon Mindak, Casco
3rd) Cory Cochart, Brussels; Bob Waechter, Ellisville; Tony Schlei, Zion, IL
10 lap heats) 1st) Kerry Havlovetz, Maribel; Jamie Colwell
2nd) Pierrard; Laurel Ettien, Luxemburg
3rd) Mike Weitor, Green Bay; Kraig Gretz, Kewaunee
4th) Vlies; Bruechert
5th) Dix; BJ Soquet, Luxemburg

16 lap IMCA hobby stock feature – Jesse Kanas, Lomira; Keith Kickbush, Kewaunee; Dan Davister, Luxemburg; Ed Anschutz, Algoma
10 lap heats 1st) Mike Mueller, Green Bay; Tom Brumlic, Denmark
2nd) Heilmann; Ed Danoff, Green Bay
3rd) Anschutz; Kanas

15 lap sport four feature – Matt Oreskovich, Clintonville; Bruce Sand, Mishicot; Gary Novitski Jr., Mishicot; Jamie Miller,
Pulaski; Phil Martzahl, Freedom
8 lap heats 1st) Brian Johnson, Oconto Falls; Brian Kleczka, Suamico
2nd) Oreskovich; Sue Cherney, Mishicot
3rd) Kyle Burmeister, Kewaunee; Sand

Previous Post: LaCrosse Scores Second Luxemburg IMCA Mod Feature

Next Post: Nick Anvelink Captures Luxemburg WDLMA Late Model Main!