Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

Veteran Van Pay Captures Luxemburg IMCA Mod Lid Lifter!

Posted under Race Reports on April 28th, 2006

Joe Verdegan

April 28, 2006; Luxemburg, WI. – Former track champion RM Van Pay of Denmark came out on top of a three-way tussle with Sean Jerovetz and Brian Mullen to win the season opening 25 lap IMCA modified feature at Luxemburg Speedway Friday night.A total of 137 jammed the pit area. The field included 45 IMCA modifieds, 50 IMCA stock cars, 21 IMCA hobby stocks and 21 sport fours.

Van Pay started fifth on the grid in the IMCA mod main, while Tim Van De Hei paced the opening two circuits when a caution flew for a Russ Reinwald spin. Jerovetz motored past Van De Hei when racing resumed, while Van Pay stalked Van De Hei and Jerovetz for the next several laps. The pair swapped the lead twice during the next ten laps when Mike Mashl broke free from traffic to run fourth and close in on the lead trio.

Van Pay was able to duck underneath Jerovetz for the lead with two laps remaining. Jerovetz and Mullen pressured Van Pay on the final lap for second, with Mullen’s mount suffering a breakdown on the final lap as Mullen coasted into the infield at the finish. Van Pay won his first feature since 2004. Jerovetz took second, followed by Mashl, Van De Hei and defending track champion Benji LaCrosse.

Pulaski’s Jason Czarapata topped the 22 lap IMCA stock car feature. Czarapata, who started second, took the lead on a lap three restart and survived late race pressure from Kyle Frederick for the win. Junior Karcz, Brian Bruechert and Rod Snellenberger, who recovered from an earlier spin, rounded out the top five.

Hometown driver Dan Davister dodged three caution periods and fought off a late race charge by Jesse Kanas to win the
21 lap IMCA hobby stock feature. Kanas took second at the line, followed by Ed Anschutz, Adam White and Marcus
Moede rounded out the top five finishers. White was disqualified following a post race inspection.

The race was halted on the second lap when Mike Mueller rolled his mount coming out of turn two. He escaped unhurt.
Mishicot’s Kraig Koehler, guest driving for Gary Novitski Jr., captured the 14 lap sport four feature.

Drivers winning best appearing car awards went to Eddie Muenster (IMCA modified), Doug Morgan (IMCA stock car),
Dave De Grave (IMCA hobby stock), tim Czarneski (street stock), Jamie Miller (sport 4) and Tracey Wassenberg
(sport mod in at large class)..

Next Friday night, May 5 Seubert Calf Ranches will sponsor the first of three Wisconsin Dirt Late Model Association
(WDLMA) late model specials. The track’s regular weekly divisions will also compete. Racing begins at 7 p.m. For more
information call 920 863 8446. The track phone number is 920 845 2300. The track’s website is


25 lap IMCA modified feature – RM Van Pay, Denmark; Sean Jerovetz, Little Suamico; Mike Mashl, De Pere; Tim Van De Hei, Green Bay; Benji LaCrosse, Luxemburg; Dan Ratajczak, Frog Station

10 lap semi features – 1st) Jeremy Jacobs, Kewaunee; Jared Siefert, Green Bay; Shawn Frelich, Kaukauna; Kyle Meyer, Oconto Falls 2nd) Jay Matthias, De Pere; James Tebon, Algoma; Todd Dart, Algoma; Chris Derenne, Luxemburg 3rd) Dave Werbelow Jr., Shawano; Scooter Boyea, Abrams; Mike Mullen, Seymour; Brandon Czarapata, Kaukauna

10 lap heats 1) Mashl; Danny Deau, Little Suamico 2) Brian Mullen; Art Siefert, Green Bay 3) Ratajczak; LaCrosse 4) Jerovetz; Van Pay 5) Van De Hei; Ricky Mott, Larrabee

22 lap IMCA stock car feature – Jason Czarapata, Pulaski; Kyle Frederick, Gillett; Junior Karcz, Pulaski; Brian Bruechert, Kewaunee; Rod Snellenberger, Pulaski; Laurel Ettien, Luxemburg

12 lap semi features – 1) Ettien; Matt Junio, Casco; Pat Davister, Luxemburg; Troy De Grave, Green Bay 2) Charlie Kroll, Forestville; Cory Cochart, Brussels; Jamie Colwell, Greenleaf; BJ Soquet, Luxemburg 3) Troy Muench, Brussels; Jeff Vlies, Kewaunee; Tony Bouche, Algoma

10 lap heats 1) Snellenberger; Ben Kroll, Luxemburg 2) Karcz; Jason Czarapata 3) Frederick; Craig Paque, Algoma 4) Doug Morgan, Mishicot; Tony Schlei, Zion, Il 5) Troy Jerovetz, Green Bay; Brian Bruechert

18 lap IMCA hobby stock feature – Dan Davister, Luxemburg; Jesse Kanas, Lomira; Ed Anschutz, Algoma; Marcus Moede, Casco; Jarrod Van Lannen, Green Bay

10 lap heats 1) Tom Brumlic, Denmark; Anschutz 2) Dave De Grave, Luxemburg; Mike Mueller, Green Bay 3) Keith Kickbush, Kewaunee; Duane Mertens, Casco

15 lap sport four feature – Kraig Koehler, Mishicot; Tom White, Green Bay; Tony Everard, Green Bay; Matt Oreskovich, Clintonville; Tim Jorgenson, Oneida; Brad Williquette, Green Bay

8 lap heats 1) Phil Martzahl, Freedom; Koehler 2) Oreskovich; Tim Jorgenson

Previous Post: LaCrosse Tops Luxemburg Mod Finale!

Next Post: Russ Scheffler Sweeps Luxemburg WDLMA Late Model Show!