Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

Werbelow Shades Siefert In Luxemburg IMCA Modified Special!

Posted under Race Reports on September 16th, 2006

September 16, 2006; Luxemburg, WI. – Second year driver Dave Werbelow of Shawano passed Green Bay’s Jared Siefert for the lead with two laps to go to win his first ever 35 lap IMCA modified feature at Luxemburg Speedway Saturday night. The win was worth $1,500.

Werbelow earned his first victory the hard way, battling his way into the feature via a second place finish in one of two semi-features. Werbelow started 16th.

190 cars were in attendance over the weekend, including 32 modifieds, 42 stock cars, 23 hobby stocks, 24 street stocks, 11 grand nationals, 21 fusion cars, nine northern sportmods and 29 sport fours.

Track champion Benji LaCrosse swapped the lead with Pulaski’s Chad Wilcox during the first four circuits until Jay Matthias stalled on the track, drawing an amber. On the restart Jared Siefert snuck inside of LaCrosse and took the lead. Siefert was able to keep LaCrosse at bay for the next several laps. LaCrosse’s car encountered problems on lap 17, forcing him to drop out. Jeremie Hedrick, who started 12th, inherited second with Werbelow running third.

Siefert carefully slipped through lapped cars while Werbelow and Hedrick diced for the second spot. The caution Siefert did not want to see occurred on lap 24 when Jeremy Jacobs spun. With 11 laps to go Hedrick went to the high side on the restart, with Siefert protecting the bottom. Hedrick went slid off the track on lap 26, losing several spots and opening the door for Werbelow to challenge Siefert for the lead. The pair ran side-by-side right down to the wire, with Werbelow taking the lead on lap 33. Werbelow fought off Siefert and collected the victory. Siefert took second, followed by Eddie Muenster and Sean Jerovetz, who marched through the field from 15th after winning a semi-feature. Brian Mullen took fifth.

Track champion Jason Czarapata of Pulaski passed Jeff Vlies for the lead on lap 7 and went on to win the 30 lap IMCA style stock car feature.

Forestville’s Von Etychenson led every lap en route to victory in the 25 lap street stock feature while drama ensued in the IMCA hobby stock feature finish. Oconto Falls’ Joe White took the lead at the drop of the green, leading every lap until the final checkers flew, when Keith Kickbush muscled his way inside of White to pass him and cross the line first. Track officials penalized Kickbush for the contact, giving White the win and placing Kickbush second in the finishing order.

Sheboygan Falls’ Brian Genske led every lap en route to victory in the 25 lap grand national sportsman feature.

Shawano’s Tracey Wassenberg captured the 15 lap northern sportmod main event. Green Bay’s Lee Kielpikowski won the Fusion class feature, which featured cars from several area northeastern Wisconsin dirt tracks.

Tim Jorgenson won the sport four feature.

This concludes racing at the Speedway for the 2006 season. The management of Lakeshore Motorsports Promotions would like to thank all the fans, drivers and crew members who made this season it’s best ever. For off season information check the track’s website at or call 920 660 8095.


35 lap Modified feature – Dave Werbelow, Shawano; Jared Siefert, Green Bay; Eddie Muenster, Green Bay; Sean Jerovetz, Little Suamico; Brian Mullen, Seymour; Lance Arnenson, Krakow; Dan Ratajczak, Frog Station;
Brian Joski, Green Bay; Shawn Kilgore, Kewaunee; Jeremie Hedrick, Clintonville
Semi features 1st) Jay Matthias, De Pere; Randy LeMieux Jr., Sturgeon Bay; Jerry Muenster, Green Bay
2nd) Jerovetz; Werbelow; Billy LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay

Stock car Feature – Jason Czarapata, Pulaski; Jeff Vlies, Kewaunee; Troy Muench, New Franken; Brian Bruechert, Kewaunee; Jamie Colwell, Greenleaf; Jesse Colwell, Greenleaf
Semi features 1st) Junior Karcz, Pulaski; Kerry Havlovetz, Maribel; Jon Wolf, Green Bay
2nd) Tony Bouche, Algoma; Greg Gretz, Kewaunee; Eugene Gregorich, Kewaunee
3rd) Troy De Grave, Green Bay; Laurel Ettien, Luxemburg; Kurt Olson, Black Creek
Non qualifiers feature – Jon Wolf, Green Bay; Dave Bouche, Algoma; Jamie Suchoski, Bolt

Grand National feature -Brian Genske, Sheboygan Falls; Brad Mueller, Random Lake; Jeremy Sauter, Random Lake;
Mark Scholten, Oostburg; Dion Wahl, Omro; Terry Van Roy, Darboy

Hobby stock feature – Joe White, Oconto Falls; Keith Kickbush, Kewaunee; Jesse Kanas, Lomira; Tom Brumlic, Denmark; Ed Anschutz, Algoma; Marcus Moede, Casco
Semi-feature – Kanas; Anschutz; Marty Abschire, Pleasant Prairie

Street stock feature – Von Eytchenson, Forestville; Fred Davister, Luxemburg; Darren Otto, Pulaski;Harley Simon, Seymour; Charlie Kroll, Forestville; Dan Solem, Seymour
Semi-features 1st) Simon; Mitch Landvick, Oconto Falls; Todd Everard, Green Bay
2nd) Otto; Larry Ingebretsen, Luxemburg; Eric Arnenson, Oconto Falls

Fusion Car feature – Lee Kielpikowski, Green Bay; Kraig Kohler, Two Rivers; Troy Bartel, Chilton; Crystal Koenig, Mishicot; Joe Hegnet, Sturgeon Bay; Todd Mott, Two Rivers
Semi-feature – Bartel; Dan Merkle, Baileys Harbor; Jesse Kroll, Forestville

Sport 4 feature – Tim Jorgenson, De Pere; Jeremiah Sand, Mishicot; Matt Cherney, Mishicot; Gary Novitski Jr., Mishicot; JJ Anderson, Little Suamico; Matt Theys, Green Bay
Semi-features 1st) Kyle Burmeister, Green Bay; ; Brian Johnson, Oconto Falls; Mark Krause, Hortonville
Oconto Falls 2nd) Patrick King, Appleton; Kevin Birr, Oconto Falls; Matt Maleport, De Pere

15 lap Northern Sportmod feature – Tracey Wassenberg, Shawano; Aaron Holliday, Green Bay; Craig Hoffman, Shawano; Greg Magsam, Gillett; Tom Schmidt, Seymour; Marcus Yarie,
10 lap heat – Brad Bricco, Clintonville; Wassenberg

Previous Post: LaCrosse Wins Dash, Earns Pole in Luxemburg Two Day Special!

Next Post: Joski Nabs First Career IMCA Mod Feature