Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

Deau Captures Luxemburg’s IMCA Mod Badger State Showdown!

Posted under Race Reports on June 7th, 2007

By Joe Verdegan

June 7, 2007; Luxemburg, WI. – Little Suamico’s Danny Deau passed Kaukauna’s Paul Parker for the lead on lap four and survived five caution periods to win the 29 lap IMCA modified feature during the second annual Badger State Showdown presented by CZ’s Bushville Lanes at Luxemburg Speedway Thursday night.

A total of 119 cars turned out to race, including 39 modifieds, 40 stock cars, 17 northern sportmods and 23 hobby stocks.

Polesitter Parker paced the opening four circuits before surrendering the lead to Deau on lap four. Deau began building a lead during the next few laps. An Evan Madden spin on lap nine tightened the field. Racing resumed after an aborted restart.

Eddie Muenster passed Parker for second on lap 11 with Sean Jerovetz on his tail, the pair diced for the runnerup spot for the next several laps with Jerovetz taking the second spot away on lap 14. A Jared Siefert spin one lap later bunched up the field.

When racing resumed Deau maintained his lead, while Parker, Jerovetz, Eddie Muenster and Brian Mullen ran nose-to-tail from second through fifth, respectively.

Muenster and Mullen tangled on lap 16, drawing an amber. When racing resumed Deau checked out and went on to capture his first feature flag of the season. Jerovetz, Jerry Wilinski, Paul Parker and Russ Reinwald rounded out the top five finishers.

Kaukauna’s Jamie Colwell passed Kewaunee’s Greg Gretz on the final lap and went on to win the 30 lap IMCA stock car feature, his first here of the year.

Gretz took the lead on a lap nine restart and kept his lead through another caution at lap 20. With 10 laps remaining Jamie and Jesse Colwell, along with Travis Van Straten, pressured Gretz in the final laps. With three laps remaining, The Colwell brothers were glued to Gretz’ rear bumper. When the white flag was displayed Jamie Colwell pulled alongside of Gretz. Jamie Colwell mustered a strong run off the fourth corner to beat Gretz to the line in a photo finish. Gretz settled for second place money followed by Jesse Colwell and Van Straten. Charlie Kroll, who was forced to qualify into the feature by winning a semi-feature, charged through the field to claim fifth.

De Pere’s Tim Jorgenson passed Eugene Gregorich on lap 12 and survived a pair of late caution periods to capture his third IMCA northern sportmod feature of the season.

Trailing at the checkers were Adam White who nabbed second on the final lap, followed by Gregorich, Aaron Holiday and Doug Maurer rounded out the top five finishers.

Lomira’s Jesse Kanas executed a three wide pass, getting by leader Brandon Peterson and Dave De Grave on a lap 16 to win the 22 lap IMCA hobby stock feature. The win was Kanas’ second of the season.

Kanas started eighth on the field and slowly worked his way through traffic in the early going. Kanas survived a late race caution with two laps to go to hang on for the win. De Grave finished second, followed by Frank Paul, Jarred Van Lannen and Keith Kickbush.

Next Friday night, June 15 De Grave MediaBlasting will sponsor driver autograph night, in which fans will have an opportunity to get driver’s autographs at intermission. For more information call 920 863 8446. The track phone is 920 845 2300. The track website is

Luxemburg Speedway is located 15 minutes east of Green Bay off highway 54 in Luxemburg.


29 LAP IMCA MODIFIED FEATURE – Danny Deau, Little Suamico; Sean Jerovetz, Little Suamico; Jerry Wilinski, Seymour; Paul Parker, Kaukauna; Russ Reinwald, Iron Ridge; Scott Boyea, Abrams; Dave Werbelow, Shawano; Jason Czarapata, Pulaski; Benji LaCrosse, Luxemburg; Lance Arneson, Krakow

12 LAP SEMI-FEATURES 1) Mike Mashl, De Pere; Scott Boyea, Abrams; Todd Dart, Algoma
2) Lance Arneson, Krakow; Shawn Kilgore, Kewaunee; Kyle Kudick, Mishicot
3) Russ Reinwald, Iron Ridge; Kyle Meyer, Oconto Falls; Jay Matthias, De Pere

10 LAP HEATS 1) Jeremy Jacobs, Luxemburg; Jason Czarapata, Pulaski
2) Wilinski; Danny Deau, Little Suamico
3) Parker;Dave Werbelow, Shawano
4) Jeremie Hedrick, Lena; Eddie Muenster, Green Bay
5) Jerovetz; Dan Ratajczak, Frog Station

25 LAP IMCA STOCK CAR FEATURE – Jamie Colwell, Kaukauna; Greg Gretz, Kewaunee; Jesse Colwell, Greenleaf; Travis Van Straten, Hortonville; Charlie Kroll, Forestville; Tony Schlei, Zion, IL

12 LAP SEMI-FEATURES 1) Shawn Wagner, Pulaski; Tony Bouche, Algoma; Todd Viles, Algoma
2) Kyle Wanner, Suamico; Doug Kropp, Luxemburg; Pat Davister, Luxemburg
3) Kroll; Bernie Reinhardt, Sturgeon Bay; Marty Abschire, Pleasant Prairie

10 LAP HEATS 1) Brian Bruechert, Kewaunee; Jesse Colwell
2) Cory Cochart, Brussels; Gretz
3) Schlei; Rod Snellenberger, Pulaski
4) Matt Junio, Casco; Dave Bouche, Algoma
5) Brandon Mindak, Casco; Kerry Havlovetz, Maribel

18 LAP IMCA Northern Sportmod FEATURE – Tim Jorgenson, De Pere; Adam White, Little Suamico; Eugene Gregorich, Kewaunee; Aaron Holiday, Green Bay; Doug Maurer, De Pere; Eric Arneson, Coleman

10 LAP HEATS 1) Arneson; Chad Nelson, Little Suamico
2) Jorgenson; Brad Bricco, Clintonville

18 LAP IMCA HOBBY STOCK FEATURE – Jesse Kanas, Lomira; Dave De Grave, Luxemburg; Frank Paul, Kewaunee; Jarred Van Lannen, Green Bay; Keith Kickbush, Kewaunee; Chris Christenson, Carlsville

10 LAP HEATS 1) Chad Kaminski, Luxemburg; Larry Embery, Granger, Iowa
2) De Grave; Kanas 3) Roger LaViolette, Forestville; Kickbush

Previous Post: Lautenbach and Arneson Win First Career Features at Luxemburg

Next Post: Jerovetz Takes Second Luxemburg IMCA Mod Main!