Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

Diemel Holds off Naeyaert to Win Luxemburg Fastrak Late Model Special!

Posted under Race Reports on May 4th, 2007

By Joe Verdegan

May 4, 2007; Luxemburg, WI. – Navarino’s AJ Diemel passed Shawano’s Tom Naeyaert for the lead on lap 18 and went on to win the 26 lap Fastrak late model special at Luxemburg Speedway Friday night. A total of 120 drivers showed up to race Friday, including 19 Fastrak late models, 36 IMCA modifieds, 34 stock cars, 15 northern sportmods and 16 hobby stocks.

Green Bay’s Jared Siefert came out on top of a race long duel with Shawn Kilgore and captured the 25 lap IMCA modified feature. Brussels Shawn Havel passed Ellisville’s Bob Waechter for the lead on lap five and went on to win his first career 22 lap IMCA stock car feature. Defending track champion Ed Anshutz of Algoma passed Chad Kaminski for the lead on lap five and went on to win the 18 lap IMCA hobby stock feature.

Diemel drew the pole position and quickly shot into the lead at the drop of the green for the 26 lap Fastrak late model feature. Diemel immediately built up a four car length lead until a Jeff Curtin spin on lap four bunched up the field. When racing resumed Diemel maintained the top spot with Cody Grosskruetz and Naeyaert duking it out for the second spot. Naeyaert took the third spot before the race was halted for a Michael Kunschke spin on lap six. On the restart Naeyaert snuck underneath Diemel to take the lead. Diemel kept the veteran driver within striking distance during the balance of the contest, repassing Naeyaert for the lead briefly on lap 13. The pair swapped the lead and began sifting through lapped cars by the halfway point on lap fifteen. A lap seventeen tussle between Joe Reuter and Jay Chrichton drew a yellow. On the restart Diemel whisked by Naeyeart on the high line on lap 18. Diemel checked out and went on to win the contest. Oostburg’s Todd Jensema caught Naeyaert on a restart but Naeyaert rallied back at the line to claim second, followed by Jensema, Craig Bartz and Cody Grosskruetz.

A four car pileup ensued on the opening lap of the 25 lap IMCA feature. The wreck involved Sean Jerovetz, Jay Matthias, Danny Deau and last week’s feature winner Brian Joski. After a complete restart Randy LeMieux Jr. took the lead when the green flag flew, with Kilgore and Siefert in hot pursuit. Kilgore snuck underneath LeMieux for the lead on lap five. Lance Arneson’s racer stalled on lap six drawing a caution. On the restart Kilgore and Siefert pulled away from the field for their own duel. Siefert kept his racer tight to the bottom with Kilgore running the high line. The pair ran door-to-door for the next several laps with Siefert grabbing the lead on lap 19. Kilgore repassed Siefert for the lead on the next circuit only to have Siefert regain the top spot one round later. Siefert wound up crossing the stripe first, followed by Kilgore, Brian Mullen, Benji LaCrosse and Randy LeMieux Jr. rounding out the top five.

Polesitter Waechter jumped into the lead at the drop of the green in the 22 lap contest. He built up a sizeable lead in three short laps but a Brian Bruechert spin on lap three tightened the field. On the restart Havel stepped up to challenge Waechter for the lead, wrestling the lead away from Waechter on lap five. Jamie Colwell and Charlie Kroll sliced their way through the pack to take the second and third spots, respectively by lap eight. The duo began closing in on Havel, with Colwell catching the leader by lap 11. Ben Kroll looped his mount on lap 12 drawing the second amber of the race. With 10 laps remaining Havel kept the top spot, with hard chargers Charlie Kroll and last week’s winner Rod Snellenberger locking horns, causing both to leave the track with mechanical woes.

With five laps remaining Havel built up a comfortable cushion and kept Jamie Colwell and company at bay to claim his first feature win at Luxemburg. Trailing at the checkers were Greg Gretz, Jamie Colwell, Troy Muench and Matt Junio.

Defending track champion Ed Anshutz of Algoma passed Chad Kaminski for the lead on lap five and went on to win the 18 lap IMCA hobby stock feature. Anschutz fought off a late race challenge from Marcus Moede to take second, followed by Jarrod Van Lannen, Frank Paul and Clint Forstner. Kewaunee’s Eugene Gregorich won the time shortened, crash filled 12 lap IMCA northern sportmod feature. Eight cautions plauged the event.

Next Friday night, May 11 will be Luxemburg Implement church night at the races. Several area parishes will partake in the
program, which will include all five of the tracks weekly divisions. Racing begins at 7 p.m. For more information call 920 863 8446.
The track phone number is 920 845 2300. The track’s website is


26 lap Fastrak late model feature – AJ Diemel, Navarino; Tom Naeyaert, Shawano; Todd Jensema, Oostburg; Craig Bartz,
Shawano; Cody Grosskruetz, Clintonville; Dave Fieber, Oshkosh; Dan Wanta, Tigerton; Aaron Wickersheim, White Lake; Mike Stangl, Marshfield; Jay Crichton, Lake Villa, IL; Jeff Wickersheim, White Lake; AJ Miller, Bear Creek; Nate Yonker, Tigerton; Michael
Kunschke, Shawano; Joe Reuter, Shawano; Mark Phillips, Bear Creek; Jeff Curtin, Shawano; Justin Hirt, Tigerton

10 lap heats 1) Naeyaert; Hirt, 2) Diemel; Curtin

25 lap IMCA modified feature – Jared Siefert, Green Bay; Shawn Kilgore, Kewaunee; Brian Mullen, Seymour; Benji LaCrosse,
Luxemburg; Randy LeMieux Jr., Sturgeon Bay; Dave Zeitler, Luxemburg

12 lap semi features – 1st) Danny Deau, Little Suamico; RM Van Pay, Denmark; Jay Matthias, De Pere 2nd) Jerry
Muenster, Green Bay; Scott Boyea, Abrams; Kyle Meyer, Oconto Falls

10 lap heats 1) Brian Joski, Luxemburg; LeMieux 2) Sean Jerovetz, Little Suamico; Siefert
3) Lance Arneson, Krakow; Tom Stark, Egg Harbor 4) Zeitler; LaCrosse

22 lap IMCA stock car feature – Shawn Havel, Brussels; Greg Gretz, Kewaunee; Jamie Colwell, Greenleaf; Troy Muench, Green Bay; Matt Junio, Casco; Shawn Wagner, Pulaski

12 lap semi features – 1) Ben Kroll, Luxemburg; Mike Weitor, Green Bay; Troy De Grave, Green Bay 2) Brian Bruechert, Kewaunee; Greg Gretz; Mike Gilson, Greenleaf

10 lap heats 1) Muench; Rod Snellenberger, Pulaski 2) Derek Moede, Casco; Bob Waechter, Ellisville
3) Brandon Mindak, Casco; Havel 4) Charlie Kroll, Forestville; Todd Vlies, Brussels

18 lap IMCA northern sportmod feature – Eugene Gregorich, Kewaunee; Tom Brumlic, Denmark; Mark Christensen, Mishicot;
Tim Jorgenson, De Pere; Aaron Holiday, Green Bay; Adam White, Little Suamico

10 lap heats 1) Jerry Kroll, Forestville; Eric Arneson, Oconto Falls 2) White; Brad Bricco, Clintonville

15 lap IMCA hobby stock feature – Ed Anschutz, Algoma; Marcus Moede, Casco; Jarrod Van Lannen, Green Bay; Frank
Paul, Kewaunee; Clint Forstner, Shawano

10 lap heats 1) Forstner; Anschutz 2) Chad Kaminski, Luxemburg; Jesse Kanas, Lomira

Previous Post: Joski Nabs First Career IMCA Mod Feature

Next Post: Siefert Sweeps Luxemburg IMCA Modified Action!