Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

Joski Nabs First Career IMCA Mod Feature

Posted under Race Reports on April 20th, 2007

By Joe Verdegan

April 20, 2007; Luxemburg, WI. – Former asphalt late model driver Brian Joski of Green Bay held off stiff challenges from brothers Brian and Scott Mullen and went on to win the 20 lap IMCA modified feature during the season opener
at Luxemburg Speedway Friday night.

It was Joski’s first feature win on the dirt, after competing in the IMCA modifieds for his second season. A weekly record 155 cars attended the opening night races, including 48 IMCA modifieds, 42 stock cars,
19 northern sportmods, 20 hobby stocks and 19 sport fours.

Joski took the lead at the drop of the green during the 25 lap IMCA modified feature.

The race was marred by a lap three incident when Pulaski’s Chad Wilcox barrel rolled his machine several times before coming to a halt near the turn three pit exit. Wilcox was shaken but otherwise unhurt. His machine received extensive damage.

On the restart Joski quickly pulled away from the field, with Scott Mullen a distant second. By lap seven Mullen had began closing the gap on Joski. Dave Zeitler snuck underneath Mullen to take second on lap nine. Zeitler began chopping away at Joski’s lead, and whittled Joski’s margin to less than three car lengths by lap13. Two laps later Zeitler’s mount suffered a mechanical failure, ending his night. A Jay Matthias spin on lap 16 tightened
the field.

With a four lap dash to the finish, Mullen regained the second spot, with his brother Brian Mullen moving into third. As the white flag was displayed the Mullens pressured Joski but came up short at the finish. Brian Mullen, Scott Mullen, Lance Arneson and Mike Mashl rounded out the top five finishers.

Pulaski’s Rod Snellenberger fought off a late race charge from Forestville’s Charlie Kroll and led every lap en route
to victory in the 22 lap IMCA stock car feature.

Snellenberger took the lead from at the outset of the 22 lap contest. By lap nine Jamie Colwell and Charlie Kroll closed in on Snellenberger as the pair diced for the runnerup spot. Brian Bruechert’s mount stalled on lap 14, drawing an amber.

With seven laps remaining Snellenberger maintained his lead on the restart with Cory Cochart moving into second. A Ben Kroll spin lap 20 set up a two lap dash to the finish. Charlie Kroll charged into second on the restart, and traded paint with Snellenberger as the checkers flew. Kroll settled for second at the pay window, followed by Jesse Colwell, Matt Junio and Junior Karcz.

Kewaunee’s Eugene Gregorich passed Eric Arneson on lap 13 and went on to win the 18 lap IMCA northern sportmod feature. Arneson finished second, followed by Adam White, Tracy Wassenberg and Matt Oreskovich. Two time track champion Keith Kickbush of Kewaunee passed Dave De Grave on the final lap to win the 16 lap caution free IMCA hobby stock feature. De Grave settled for second at the line, followed by Marcus Moede, Brandon Peterson and Jesse Kanas.

Pulaski’s Brad Matuzsak won the 10 lap sport four feature.

Next Friday racing begins at 7 p.m. For more information call 920 863 8446. The track phone number is 920 845 2300. The track’s website is


25 lap IMCA modified feature – Brian Joski, Green Bay; Brian Mullen, Seymour; Scott Mullen, Seymour; Lance
Arneson, Krakow; Mike Mashl, De Pere; Scooter Boyea, Abrams

12 lap semi features – 1st) Benji LaCrosse, Luxemburg; Sean Jerovetz, Little Suamico; Danny Deau, Little Suamico
2nd) Eric Van Iten, Green Bay; Tim Lemirande, Verona; Dan Ratajczak, Frog Station 3rd) Bill LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay;
Dave Werbelow, Shawano; Kevin Sternard, Sturgeon Bay

10 lap heats 1) Todd Dart, Algoma; RM Van Pay, Denmark 2) Tim Van De Hei, De Pere; Eric Scribner, Kiel
3) Scott Mullen; Joski 4) Mashl; Arneson 5) Dave Zeitler, Luxemburg; Boyea

22 lap IMCA stock car feature – Rod Snellenberger, Pulaski; Charlie Kroll, Forestville; Jamie Colwell, Greenleaf; Matt
Junio, Casco; Junior Karcz, Pulaski; Cory Cochart, Brussels

12 lap semi features – 1) Dave Bouche, Algoma; Mike Gilson, Greenleaf; Troy De Grave, Green Bay
2) Kyle Frederick, Gillett; Scott Pagels, Little Sturgeon; Ben Kroll, Luxemburg 3) Karcz; Von Eytchenson, Forestville;
Tony Schlei, Zion, Il.

10 lap heats 1) Darren Otto, Pulaski; Snellenberger 2) Brian Bruechert, Kewaunee; Mike Weitor,
Green Bay 3) Kerry Havlovetz, Maribel; Greg Gretz, Kewaunee 4) Charlie Kroll; Mark Derenne, Luxemburg
5) Jamie Colwell, Greenleaf; Cochart

18 lap IMCA northern sportmod feature – Eugene Gregorich, Kewaunee; Eric Arneson, Oconto Falls; Adam White, Oconto Falls;
Tracy Wassenberg, Shawano; Matt Oreskovich, Clintonville; Jeff Dubois, Luxemburg

10 lap heats 1) Tom Brumlic, Denmark; Arneson 2) Brad Bricco, Shawano; Oreskovich

15 lap IMCA hobby stock feature – Keith Kickbush, Kewaunee; Dave De Grave, Luxemburg; Marcus Moede, Casco;
Brandon Peterson, Sturgeon Bay; Jesse Kanas, Lomira; Mike Mueller, Green Bay

10 lap heats 1) Peterson; Ed Anschutz, Algoma 2) Kickbush; Kanas 3) Moede; De Grave

10 lap sport four feature – Brad Matuszak, Pulaski; Andy Kleczka, Pulaski; Ralph Legois, Green Valley

8 lap heats 1) Kleczka; Jan Lassanski, Oconto 2) Tyler Derenne, Luxemburg; JJ Anderson, Little Suamico
3) Matuszak; Jamie Miller, Pulaski

Previous Post: Werbelow Shades Siefert In Luxemburg IMCA Modified Special!

Next Post: Diemel Holds off Naeyaert to Win Luxemburg Fastrak Late Model Special!