Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

Naeyaert Captures Late Model Special at Luxemburg!

Posted under Race Reports on August 10th, 2007

By Joe Verdegan

August 10, 2007; Luxemburg, WI. — Shawano’s Tom Naeyaert took the lead on lap three and carefully scooted through lapped cars and dodged four caution periods to win the 75 lap Seubert Calf Ranches Fastrak late model special at Luxemburg Speedway Friday night.

The win, which was worth $1,200, was Naeyaert’s second here of the season.

A total of 111 cars were on hand, including 18 Fastrak late models, 30 IMCA modifieds, 29 stock cars, 16 hobby stocks and 18 northern sportmods.

Shawano’s Tom Naeyaert passed Dan Wanta for the lead on lap three and began sifting his way through lapped cars seven laps later. A lap 24 yellow flew for a Jay Crichton spin, which tightened the field.

With seven cars on the lead lap racing resumed, with Bartz fighting off a charge from Todd Jensema on the restart. Naeyart picked up where he left off prior to the caution, bolting from the pack and catching up with lapped traffic by lap 35, when another yellow flew. With the same seven cars on the lead lap, Naeyaert continued his torrid pace, surging ahead with a five car length lead over Bartz and company. Naeyaert maintained the top spot through a pair of caution periods to hang on for the win. Bartz took second, followed by Jensema, Wanta and Troy Springborn.

Defending track champion Benji LaCrosse of Luxemburg stormed past RM Van Pay and Dave Fischer on a lap four restart to win his second straight 25 lap IMCA modified feature. A pair of cautions flew during the first four laps, during which time Lacrosse charged through the field from 10th into third. On a lap four restart LaCrosse drove around RM Van Pay and early race leader Dave Fischer to take the lead.

LaCrosse went to work building up a comfortable margin over Van Pay, while the rest of the field scrapped for position from third on back. LaCrosse was never headed and went on to win his second straight main event. Trailing at the checkers were Van Pay, points leader Jared Siefert, Sean Jerovetz and Jason Czarapata, who was forced to qualify through the field into a last chance race.
Points leader Jamie Colwell padded his points lead by winning his third 22 lap IMCA stock car feature of the season. The Greenleaf driver fought off a hard charging Rod Snellenberger and Pat Davister in the waning laps to capture the win. Snellenberger took second, followed by Davister and Jesse Colwell, who earned a starting berth into the main event by winning a semi-feature. Travis Van Straten rounded out the top five.

De Pere’s Tim Jorgenson passed Eric Arneson for the lead with two laps to go to win his fifth, 18 lap IMCA northern sportmod feature of the year while Lomira’s Jesse Kanas won the IMCA hobby stock feature, his third of the season.

Next Friday night, August 17 Mayhem Ink sponsors the race program, which will include Powder Puff races. For more information call 920 863 8446. The track phone is 920 845 2300. The track website is Luxemburg Speedway is located 15 minutes east of Green Bay off highway 54 in Luxemburg.

75 LAP FASTRAK LATE MODEL FEATURE – Tom Naeyaert, Shawano; Craig Bartz, Shawano; Todd Jensema, Oostburg; Dan Wanta, Tigerton; Troy Springborn, Shawano; Dennis Schultz,

10 LAP HEATS 1) Scott Lewis, Waukau; Jeff Curtin, Shawano
2) Bartz; Wanta

25 LAP IMCA MODIFIED FEATURE – Benji LaCrosse, Luxemburg; RM Van Pay, Denmark; Jared Siefert, Green Bay; Sean Jerovetz, Little Suamico; Jason Czarapata, Pulaski; Dan
Ratajczak, Frog Station

10 LAP SEMI-FEATURES 1) Czarapata; Kyle Kudick, Mishicot
2) Scooter Boyea, Abrams; Dan Rataczjak, Frog Station;

10 LAP HEATS 1) Dave Zeitler, Luxemburg; Mike Mullen, Seymour
2) Danny Deau, Little Suamico; Brian Joski, Luxemburg
3) Bill Lemmens, Green Bay; Van Pay
4) Dave Fischer, Green Bay; Shawn Kilgore, Kewaunee

22 LAP IMCA STOCK CAR FEATURE – Jamie Colwell, Greenleaf; Rod Snellenberger, Pulaski; Pat Davister, Luxemburg; Jesse Colwell, Greenleaf; Travis Van Straten, Hortonville; Brian
Bruechert, Kewaunee

12 LAP SEMI-FEATURES 1) Jesse Colwell; Mike Gilson, Greenleaf
2) Greg Gretz, Kewaunee; Kyle Wanner, Suamico

10 LAP HEATS 1) Von Eytchenson, Forestville; Bryan Techmeier, Green Bay
2) Jamie Colwell; Davister
3) Bruechert; Snellenberger

18 LAP IMCA HOBBY STOCK FEATURE – Jesse Kanas, Lomira; Dan Davister, Luxemburg; Mike Mueller, Green Bay; Marcus Moede, Casco; Brandon Peterson, Sturgeon Bay; Scott Boulanger, Luxemburg

10 LAP HEATS 1) Davister; De Grave
2) Dean Ahnalt, Mishicot; Kanas

15 LAP IMCA NORTHERN SPORTMOD FEATURE – Tim Jorgenson, De Pere; Eric Arneson, Coleman; Eugene Gregorich, Kewaunee; Charlie Kroll, Forestville;
Dave Davister, Luxemburg; Dave Budzban, Luxemburg

10 LAP HEATS 1) Adam White, Oconto Falls; Duane Mertens, Casco
2) Davister; Arneson

Previous Post: LaCrosse Lands Second Luxemburg IMCA Mod Feature Win!

Next Post: Deau’s Ford Powered IMCA Mod Captures Second Luxemburg Feature!