Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

Siefert Sweeps Luxemburg IMCA Modified Action!

Posted under Race Reports on May 11th, 2007

By Joe Verdegan

May 11, 2007; Luxemburg, WI. – Green Bay’s Jared Siefert passed Jay Matthias on a lap eight restart to win his second
straight 25 lap IMCA modified feature at Luxemburg Speedway Friday night. Siefert also won his heat, sweeping
the division.

A total of 139 cars attended the races, including 39 IMCA modifieds, 39 stock cars, 15 northern sportmods,
18 hobby stocks and 28 sport fours.

An opening lap tangle occurred between James Tebon and Brian Joski in which both machines needed to be pryed apart by wreckers. With one lap in the books polesitter Matthias led the field on the restart with Todd Dart ducking underneath Eddie Muenster and RM Van Pay on the dry slick, third-mile clay oval for second. Dart kept Matthias in his sights for the next several laps. Tebon and Benji LaCrosse locked horns on lap six, drawing another amber.

After another aborted restart racing resumed with Siefert driving around Matthias to take the lead on lap eight. Siefert was able to build up a sizeable lead over the next several laps with Van Pay wrestling second away from Matthias by the halfway point.

A Kyle Kudick spin on lap 21 tightened the field once more. With a four lap dash to the checkers Siefert was able to hold off all challengers at bay, capturing his second straight win.Trailing at the checkers were Kilgore, who played bridesmaid for the second week in a row. Brian Mullen, Van Pay and Dave Werbelow rounded out the top five. Kewaunee’s Brian Bruechert passed Troy Jerovetz for the lead on lap sixteen and went on to win the 22 lap IMCA stock car feature, an event which went green-to-checkered without a yellow.

Marty Abschire jumped into the lead at the drop of the green in the IMCA stock car feature as he and Troy Jerovetz ran first and second nose-to-tail for the first several laps. By lap six Brian Bruechert broke through traffic into third and began chewing away at the leaders, catching up with them on lap 10. Jerovetz snuck inside of Abschire for the lead on lap 12 with Bruechert driving around Abschire for second three circuits later.

Bruechert committed to the outside as he gained on Jerovetz, pulling alongside of him on lap 14, taking the lead away on lap sixteen. Bruechert was never headed the rest of the way as he collected his first feature flag at Luxemburg in 07′. Jerovetz scored second in his best performance of the year, followed by Abschire, Greg Gretz and Rod Snellenberger.

Lomira’s Jesse Kanas passed Chad Kaminski for the lead on lap seven and went on to win the 14 lap IMCA hobby stock feature. Ed Anschutz, Brandon Peterson, Dave De Grave and Kaminski rounded out the top five.

Rookie Tim Jorgenson of De Pere passed Jeff Dubois for the lad on the final lap to capture his first career 15 lap IMCA northern sportmod feature race. Dubois, Dave Budzban, Adam White and Doug Maurer finished second
through fifth, respectively.

Pulaski’s JJ Anderson swept action in the sport four class, winning both his heat and the 12 lap feature. A pair of rollovers marred action. Bushville’s Tim Czarnecki rolled several times off the banking in turn one after the throttle stuck on his IMCA modified. The rookie driver escaped unhurt while his machine suffered heavy damage. In the sport four main 18 year old rookie Jesse Ness of Oconto Falls escaped injury after her machine rolled four times off the turn four banking.

Next Friday night, May 18 Victory Signs of Little Suamico will sponsor the night’s races. Racing begins at 7 p.m. For more information call 920 863 8446. The track phone number is 920 845 2300. The track’s website is

25 lap IMCA modified feature – Jared Siefert, Green Bay; Shawn Kilgore, Kewaunee; Brian Mullen, Seymour; RM Van Pay, Denmark; Dave Werbelow Jr, Shawano; Eddie Muenster, Green Bay

12 lap semi features – 1st) Scott Boyea, Abrams; James Tebon, Algoma; Jason Czarapata, Pulaski
2nd) Benji LaCrosse, Luxemburg; Kyle Kudick, Mishicot; Brian Joski, Luxemburg

10 lap heats 1) Van Pay; Kilgore
2) Todd Dart, Algoma; Eddie Muenster
3) Sean Jerovetz, Little Suamico; Matthias
4) Siefert; Danny Deau, Little Suamico

22 lap IMCA stock car feature – Brian Bruechert, Kewaunee; Troy Jerovetz, Green Bay; Marty Abschire, North Prairie;
Greg Gretz, Kewaunee; Rod Snellenberger, Pulaski; Von Echenson, Forestville

12 lap semi features – 1) Tony Schlei, Zion, Il.; Matt Junio, Casco; Troy De Grave, Green Bay
2) Charlie Kroll,Forestville; Jamie Colwell, Greenleaf; Mike Gilson, Greenleaf

10 lap heats 1) Jerovetz; Troy Muench, Brussels
2) Abschire; Etchenson
3) Shawn Havel, Algoma; Kyle Wanner, Little Suamico
4) Bruechert; Shawn Wagner, Pulaski

18 lap IMCA northern sportmod feature – Tim Jorgenson, De Pere; Jeff Dubois, Luxemburg; Dave Budzban, Luxemburg;
Adam White, Oconto Falls; Doug Maurer, De Pere; Duane Mertens, Luxemburg

10 lap heats 1) Budzban; Dubois
2) Jorgenson; Eugene Gregorich, Kewaunee

14 lap IMCA hobby stock feature – Jesse Kanas, Lomira; Ed Anschutz, Algoma; Brandon Peterson, Sturgeon Bay;
Dave De Grave, Luxemburg; Chad Kaminski, Luxemburg; Marcus Moede, Casco

10 lap heats 1) Peterson; Kanas 2) Anschutz; De Grave

12 lap sport four feature – JJ Anderson, Pulaski; Brad Matuszak, Pulaski; Gary Novitski, Mishicot; Jeremy Czarapata, Pulaski;
Greg Banker, Bonduel; Tony Everard, Green Bay

10 lap semi-feature – Andy Klezcka, Suamico; Jacob Wilcox, Pulaski; Nick Everard, Green Bay

8 lap heats 1) Anderson; Bruce Sand, Mishicot
2) Tyler Derenne, Luxemburg; Matt Frisch, Oconto
3) Matuszak; Novitski

Previous Post: Diemel Holds off Naeyaert to Win Luxemburg Fastrak Late Model Special!

Next Post: Dart Wins Caution Free Luxemburg IMCA Mod Feature!