Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

Brian Mullen Captures Luxemburg Badger State Showdown Night One Main!

Posted under Race Reports on July 3rd, 2008


By Jordan Verdegan

July 3, 2008; Luxemburg, WI. — Current points leader Brian Mullen of Seymour wrestled the lead away from Dan Ratajczak on lap three and went on to capture the 25 lap IMCA modified feature on night one of the Badger State

Showdown presented by CZ’s Bushville Lanes and Sloan and Associate Realtors at Luxemburg Speedway Thursday night.

By winning the show, Mullen earned a spot on IMCA’s All Star ballot for the FastShafts Invitational at the IMCA Supernationals at Boone Speedway in September.

A total of cars 138 showed up, including 40 IMCA modifieds, 42 stock cars, 33 northern sportmods and 23 hobby stocks.

Once Mullen gained the lead he immediately went to work building a sizeable lead over the rest of the field. Mullen began hitting lapped cars by lap 10. Mullen built up a full straightaway lead by lap 17 leaving Russ Reinwald, Benji LaCrosse and Sean Jerovetz to scrap for the runnerup spot.

Mullen hung on for the win, followed by LaCrosse, Reinwald, Jerovetz and defending track champion Jared Siefert.

Gillett’s Kyle Frederick passed Casco’s Matt Junio for the lead on lap 17 and went on to win the 22 lap IMCA stock

car feature, his first here of the season. Junio hung on to collect second, followed by defending track champion Jamie Colwell, Brian Bruechert, and Shawn Havel.

Green Bay’s Troy Jerovetz swept action in the IMCA northern sportmod class, winning his heat and the time shortened,
14 lap feature.

Jerovetz jumped into the lead from his front row starting spot at the drop of the green. His lead was eight laps old when an amber flew on lap eight tightening the field. When racing resumed Brad Lautenbach and Marcus Yarie tailed Jerovetz for the next several laps. After a handful of cautions time expired, resulting in a two lap dash to the checkers. Jerovetz hung on for the win, followed by defending track champion Tim Jorgensen, Lautenbach,

Adam White who battled his way into the main through a semi feature, and Jesse Kroll who posted his best finish of the season with a fifth.

Sturgeon Bay’s Chris Christensen fought off Tom Brumlic and Marcus Moede on the final lap to win the 16 lap IMCA hobby stock feature, the first of his career here.

An opening lap wreck took out points leader Dave De Grave of Luxemburg. After another pair of aborted restarts racing
finally got underway with Christensen holding the early lead. With two laps in Robert Waechter blew a tire, sending his racer into a spin in heavy traffic. On the restart Christensen built up a comfortable three car length lead over Tyler Wilson and company.

Denmark’s Tom Brumlic wrestled second away from Wilson and began whittling away at Christensen’s advantage. Brumlic closed the gap to within two car lengths with three laps remaining, when a caution flew for a Joe Slack spin in turn four. With three laps remaining Brumlic and Marcus Moede applied heavy pressure and as the trio crossed the stripe you could have thrown a blanket across, as Christensen scored the win in a photo finish. Brumlic, Moede, Chad Kaminski and Jarred Van Lannen rounded out the top five.

Racing resumes tomorrow night beginning at 6:30 p.m. For more information call 920 863 8446.

The track phone number is 920 845 2300. The track’s website is


40 lap IMCA modified feature – Brian Mullen, Seymour; Benji LaCrosse, Luxemburg; Russ Reinwald, Juneau; Sean Jerovetz, Little Suamico; Jared Siefert, Green Bay; Dan Ratajczak, Frog Station

12 lap semi features – 1) Todd Dart, Algoma; Jay Matthias,Green Bay
2) Chad Wilcox, Pulaski; Jerry Wilinski, Seymour

10 lap heats 1) LaCrosse; Ratajczak
2) Jerovetz; James Hanson, Oconto
3)Brain Mullen; Julie McDermid, Oconto Falls
4) Mike Wedelstadt, Fremont; Mike Mullen, Seymour

35 lap IMCA stock car feature – Kyle Frederick, Gillett; Matt Junio, Casco; Jamie Colwell, Greenleaf; Brian Bruechert, Kewaunee; Shawn Havel, Brussels; Greg Gretz, Kewaunee

12 lap semi features – 1) Jesse Cowell, Greenleaf; Rick Dix, Green Bay
2) Brian Bruechert,Kewaunee; John Heinz, Green Bay
3) Rod Snellenberger, Pulaski; Troy Muench, Brussels

10 lap heats 1) Havel; Dustin Loberger, Oconto
2) Cory Cochart, Kewaunee ; Ben Kroll, New Franken
3) Marty Abshire, Waukesha; Kevin Charles, Green Bay
4) Cowell; Pat Davister, Luxemburg
5) Junio; Fredrick

25 lap IMCA northern sportmod feature – Troy Jerovetz, Green Bay; Tim Jorgensen, De Pere; Brad Lautenbach, New Franken; Adam White, Suamico; Jesse Kroll, Forestville; Jeff Vlies, Kewaunee

12 lap semi feature – 1) Jeremy Cota, Oconto White 2) J.J Andersen, Pulaski; Bernie Reinhardt, Sturgeon Bay

10 lap heats 1) Lautenbach; Jeff Vlies, Brussels
2) Jerovetz; Jesse Kroll
3) Jason Guyette, Gilliett; Chad Vetting,Valders
4) Marcus Yarie, Wausau; Gregg Wichman, Bonduel
18 lap IMCA hobby stock feature – Chris Christensen, Sturgeon Bay; Tom Brumlic, Denmark; Marcus Moede, Casco; Chad Kaminski, Luxemburg; Jarred Van Lannen, Green Bay; Frank Paul, Kewaunee

10 lap heats 1)Dave DeGrave, Luxemburg; Rob Waechter, Ellsville
2) Tyler Wilson, Sobieski; Dean Anhalt, Mishicot
3) Van Lannen; Kaminski

Previous Post: Point Leader Brian Mullen Wins Luxemburg Speedway IMCA Mod Main!

Next Post: LaCrosse Captures IMCA Modified Badger State Showdown!