Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

Brian Mullen Pads Points Lead With Luxemburg IMCA Mod Win!

Posted under Race Reports on July 25th, 2008


By Jordan Verdegan

July 25, 2008; Luxemburg, WI. — Points leader Brian Mullen of Seymour padded his points lead, passing Shiocton’s
Chad Bartel for the lead on lap six and dodging four cautions to win the IMCA modified feature at Luxemburg
Speedway Friday night.

Points leader Brian Mullen of Seymour padded his points lead, passing Shiocton’s Chad Bartel for the lead on lap six and dodging four cautions to win the IMCA modified feature at Luxemburg Speedway Friday night.

A total of 131 cars were in attendance, including 38 IMCA modifieds, 31 stock cars, 24 northern sportmods,
20 hobby stocks and 18 sport fours.

Polesitter Jamie Schmidt led the opening two laps of the 25 lap IMCA modified feature until Bartel slipped past him for the lead on lap three. Mullen, who started 11th, rocketed into second by lap four and passed Bartel for the lead on lap six.

A Brian Joski spin on lap ten tightened up the field. When racing resumed Mullen maintained the lead with Tim Czarneski and Bartel waging a torrid duel for the runnerup spot. Racing resumed after another caution on lap 16. On the restart Mullen kept the lead and went on to win. Bartel scored his best ever finish here with a second place. Brian’s brother Scott Mullen charged from his 14th starting spot to claim third. Czarneski placed fourth in his best performance of the season as well. Jay Matthias rounded out the top five finishers.

Green Bay’s Rick Dix rocketed from his front row spot to pace the opening three circuits until Kewaunee’s Greg Gretz
slipped underneath to take the lead on lap four. A lap nine yellow flew for a tangle involving Cory Suchoski and Kerry Havlovetz.

When racing resumed Gretz immediately built up his margin, with Green Bay’s John Heinz, slicing his way through
the field from his 17th starting spot into second by lap 13. Heinz began reeling in Gretz, with Jesse Colwell tailing Heinz, passing Heinz for second on lap 14. Tim Czarneski and Marty Abschire tangled in turn one, drawing an amber on lap 15.

On the restart Colwell put the heat on Gretz as the pair broke away from the field to settle the score. Colwell looked high and low on the final lap with Gretz hanging on for the win. Jesse Colwell stayed in second, followed by Heinz, who battled his way into the main by winning a semi feature. Ben Kroll and Troy Muench finished fourth and fifth, respectively.

Green Bay’s Troy Jerovetz passed Seymour’s Rod Solem with three laps remaining to capture the 20 lap IMCA Northern sportmod feature. Trailing at the checkers were points leader Tracy Wassenberg, Greg Wichman and Josh Long.

Luxemburg’s George Paul had a career night, netting a clean sweep en route to winning his first career 18 lap IMCA hobby stock feature. The event went caution free. Clintonville’s Jeff Behm swept action in the sport four division, winning his heat and the 15 lap feature.

Next Friday night August 1, Van Drisse Racing will sponsor the full racing program, which gets underway at 7 p.m. A kid’s coin toss will take place at intermission. A pair of kid’s bicycles will be given away courtesy of Tri County Heating of New Franken. For more information call 920 863 8446. The track phone number is 920 845 2300. The track’s website is

25 lap IMCA modified feature – Brian Mullen, Seymour; Chad Bartel, Shiocton; Scott Mullen, Seymour; Tim Czarneski, Denmark; Jay Matthias, De Pere; Eddie Muenster, Green Bay

12 lap semi features – 1) Sean Jerovetz, Suamico; Jeramy Jacobs, Algoma
2) Shawn Kilgore, Kewaunee; Danny Deau, Little Suamico

10 lap heats 1) Jamie Schmidt, Seymour; Jason Czarapata, Pulaski
2) Brian Joski , Abrams Muenster
3) Bartel, Matthias
4) Kyle Lentz, Oconto Falls; Brian Mullen

22 lap IMCA stock car feature – Greg Gretz, Kewaunee; Jesse Colwell, Greenleaf; John Heinz, Green Bay; Ben Kroll, New Franken; Troy Muench, New Franken; Kraig Gretz, Kewaunee

12 lap semi features – 1) Heinz; Travis Van Straten, Hortonville
2) Jamie Cowell,Greenleaf; Mike Pierrard,Green Bay

10 lap heats 1) Kerry Havolvetz , Maribel; Rob Waechter , Luxemburg
2) Muench; Doug Kropp ,Green Bay
3) Ben Kroll; Dave Bouche, Algoma
4) Rick Dix , Green Bay; Charlie Kroll, Forestville

20 lap IMCA northern sportmod feature – Troy Jerovetz, Green Bay; Rod Solem, Seymour; Tracy Wassenberg, Shawano; Gregg Wichman, Bonduel; Josh Long, Green Bay; Dennis Meisler, Luxemburg

12 lap semi feature – 1) Tim Jorgensen, De Pere; Brad Lautenbach, New Franken

10 lap heats 1) Solem; Long
2) Wassenberg; Wichman
3) Dave Davister, Luxemburg; Jeff DuBois, Luxemburg

18 lap IMCA hobby stock feature – George Paul, Luxemburg; Robby Waechter, Ellisville; Dave De Grave, Luxemburg; Jarred Van Laanen, Green Bay; Scott Boulanger, Luxemburg;Marcus Moede, Casco

10 lap heats 1) DeGrave; Chris Christensen, Sturgeon Bay 2) Paul; Moede

18 lap sport four feature – Jeff Behm, Clintonville; Phil Martzahl, Freedom; Andy Kleczka,
Little Suamico; Jason Cornelius, Oneida, Tony Everard, Green Bay; Kevin Birr, Krakow

8 lap heats 1) Martzahl; Klezcka
2) Behm; Kevin Birr, Krakow

Previous Post: Jared Siefert Scores Luxemburg Mod Main!

Next Post: LaCrosse Collects Fourth Luxemburg IMCA Mod Win!